We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend and Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malaga Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Malaga Lodge
Ranked #4 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend and Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent 4 days in Malaga lodge and we enjoyed everything.
The manager, Maria, was extremely helpful and hospitable. We felt at home from the beginning.
The room was new and very clean. Bright and fully furnished.
The kitchen and the toilet were very clean and well organised.
I extremely recommend this place, that is located in a quiet area 5-10 minutes walk from the centre and the beach.
We will definetly come back here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
74
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The guest house is located on a lovely quiet street just around the corner from the Santa Maria de la Victoria church. It's a 5-10 minute walk down to the Plaza de la Merced which represents the start of the tourist centre - sights, bars and restaurants - of old Malaga. There are buses but I didn't find the walk too much hassle, although it's quite a trek from the airport bus or metro station.
My [double] room was spacious and comfortable and the shared bathroom facilities were pretty good as these go - separate toilet and shower rooms to relieve any potential morning bottlenecks.
The owner, Senora Maria is nice and helpful which is just as well since there is no reception so coordination is required to check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The location was perfect for exploring the city and the manager was very friendly and hospitable. It would be hard to beat for good value. Place was spotless and very accommodating. I had my laundry done here very cheaply. I would definitely recommend it to people wanting to stay in Malaga. wonderful.

Room Tip: Probably a room facing the street with a balcony is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kembo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Malaga lodge was absolutely perfect for our needs. As a couple travelling on a budget Malaga lodge was perfect. We had a double size bed and private room, shared bathroom for each floor - separate toilet and shower room. Not too many people per floor so we never had to wait to use them. The kitchen was well equipped and cozy. We really felt at home here and loved the opportunity to socialize with other guests.

ALSO-I left a precious family necklace in my room and the ladies were great to arrange to have it mailed back to me. We really appreciated their kind help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable visit at the Malaga Lodge, just before Christmas.
Maria was great in providing directions prior to the visit and made arrangements to ensure I could get into the house due to a late arrival. The accommodation itself is basic but very traditional and well presented. Did notice a couple of areas which had been missed during cleaning and decorating but nothing major or offputting. While I was there, fruit was not provided as is specified but this wasn't an issue. I spent a little bit of time in the lovely kitchen area and swapped travel tips with other guests which was lovely.
I really liked Malaga Lodge and would consider staying again but it's perhaps a little too far from the centre for a longer stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank eegski22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Beautiful, cosy house with a couple of very clean and comfortable bathrooms, electric heaters very helpful during spanish "winter" nights.
very friendly and helppful staff. Perfectly clean shared bathrooms.
Perfect kitchen for self catering.
location about 12 minutes walk from historic city centre of malaga.

Book this one, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123kalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#20 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Lodge

Property: Malaga Lodge
Address: Calle Hospital Militar 14, 29013 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaga Lodge offers excellent accommodation in a unique setting in the very heart of Malaga's old Town, only a short walk from the city centre very close to the main attractions such as Picasso Museum, beaches, etcA bright and charming town house, Malaga Lodge was originally built in 1902. It is situated next to the famous Santuario de la Victoria, in the very heart of historic Malaga.In Malaga Lodge, guest house, We want you to feel at home, which is why a stay with us includes a range of extras to ensure your complete comfort. Enjoy our cosy, welcoming bedrooms, spotlessly clean bathrooms, laundry service, high-speed ADSL internet, WIFI network, satellite TV in over 10 languages, and self-serve breakfast facilities in our open-plan kitchen and dining area for self-catering. A stay with us will help make your Malaga experience a truly memorable one.Check in from 15:00 hrs to 22:00 hrs previous confirmation of arrival time into Málaga airport, bus or train station. The owner does not personally live in the Guest House, and as a self catering guest house, there is no reception desk serviceCheck out 11:00 hrs.As a complimentary breakfast (not included) we offer in our self catering kitchen:cereals,marmalade,apples,honey,margarine,sugar and hot drinks. Smoking is not permitted.There is no A/C Malaga Lodge is located in the city's old quarter of La Victoria, within easy walking distance of key tourist attractions as are the Pablo Picasso Museum, the Alcazaba, Gibralfaro castles, the Roman Theatre and Plaza de la Merced, You can walk to the beach in 20 minutes.La Victoria contains a wide variety of eateries to suit all budgets, a range of supermarkets and grocery stores, and many smaller shops specializing in fresh fruit, bread, meat or fish, bus stops and a taxi station very nearby.How to get thereIt will take you approximately 1/2 hour by car from the airport to the Guest House. (In total you need 1’30 hrs. from your flight arrival time to the Lodge)There is a train (1’35–1’45€) from the airport to the city centre as well as a bus (2’20€) nº 19 and A express and a taxi service (the latter charge around 20-25€).*If you take the train or bus (nº 19) from the airport to the main train or bus station of Málaga you need to change to bus nº 1 to get to the Guest House. Ask the bus driver to stop at “Calle Fernando el Católico” next to “Iglesia de la Victoria”. Walk up towards the church then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar”. It is house number 14, a blue house on the right hand side. *If you take a Taxi please ask the driver to take you to the first bus stop at “Calle Fernando el Católico” next to “Iglesia de la Victoria” and then turn the very first right towards the church (only a few meters), get off from the Taxi and then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar, 14”.*If you drive your own car with a navi system, please write the name of the street “Calle Fernando el Católico, 1”. At the very beginning of the street there is a bus stop, turn the very first right, up towards the church (only a few meters), get off the car and then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar”. After you locate the Lodge you can look for a parking spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Malaga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Lodge Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing