We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”
Review of Malaga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malaga Lodge
Ranked #11 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing value for money, good location - a small walk to the centre of town and the sea front- with good transport links.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with very close bathrooms. There was even complemetary breakfast foods available. Felt incredibly safe and secure.

Would definatly stay again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 147 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed here with my husband for 11 days and which was very comfertable because the Malaga lodge is incredibly clean and comfortable. It has to be one of the cleanest hostels there are. The staff is also very friendly and help you in whatever way they can. it is also easy to cook there and the bus stops nearby RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lidia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The owners are very friendly, the service is excellent. Everything is neat and clean. Being able to use the kitchen, you safe a lot of money preparing your own meals. A good choice for small budgets. I warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Malaga Lodge. Great location, only a few minutes walk from downtown Malaga. The place is cozy, and rooms, bathrooms, and kitchen were spotless. Thanks for your attention to detail, we had a wonderful time in Malaga. We can´t wait to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary_Morell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Malaga lodge is a great place to stay for a great price! The rooms and bathrooms are clean and cute,and the kitchen and living area are clean as well. There is free wifi, and plenty of space to unload your belongings if you are planning to stay for an extended period of time.The lady who cleans and does the laundry is very nice and attentive, and we enjoyed meeting her. It is in a quiet area, and close to a square where you can readily find great restaurants and shopping. There is no doubt that I would stay here again!

Room Tip: A great room for the price- clean and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear guest,
It has been a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your friendly review and your estimable time. Hopefully I will see you back in the future. Kind regards!
Best regards,
Mayte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Welcoming with lots of maps and suggestions of things to do in Malaga. Feels more like a guest house than a classic property, it is relatively small too which adds to the quiet. it is also located in a quiet location about 10 min walk to town centre. the rooms are very, very clean and well equipped. The house keeper is fabulous and extremely kind and helpful. I would definitely stay here again eventhough it is not a classic "party hostel" and is a bit hot in summer, but this is Málaga:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico1971858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Gerente at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear guest!
Even I was no lucky to meet you personally after all I wanted to thank you for your lovely and detailed review. I wanted to let you know that I really appreciate it. I'm sure I will meet you next time that you came back to Málaga. Kind regards!
Mayte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Undoubtedly the lodge is cheep and if cost is your main priority then no doubt this will be perfectly fine; it is clean, has a reasonable kitchen (albeit we didn't use), an internet (very slow) computer which is free to use and good bathrooms with excellent showers. That said it is good 15 minute walk from the main town and nearer 25 minutes from the beech. You'd might expect this to balance out and the lodge be in peaceful surroundings; it isn't and frankly it sounded like a riot was going on outside the lodge on Saturday night it was that noisy. Also and the main drawback is that there is no air con and the ceiling fan is very noisy and ineffective, to the point that I simply couldn't sleep; Malaga in summer is c. 40 degrees and humid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest,
I’m sorry to hear that something did not go as you expected. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences but let me clarify that we do have “staff”: a house keeper that also do the job of a cleaner. She has a time table and she works 7 hours per day. As I explain in the web site, this is a self catering Lodge and has no reception desk service. Also let you know that you can find quite a lot information about facilities nearby,

Dear Guest,
I’m sorry to hear that something did not go as you expected. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences, you can be sure that anything that is in my hand and possibilities, I will sort it out and if I am able I will improve it.
I will take "cheap" as a compliment as the price is very good any time of the year, (I would say inexpensive). As you mention, yes it is clean and it has a very nice kitchen although some of our guest does not need to use it. For free, the house provides all guest with the following: coffee, tea, drinking hot chocolate, powdered milk, breakfast cereals, fruit marmalade, apples, honey, margarine and sugar (bread and juice are not available), as well as salt, pepper, seasoning, olive oil and vinegar.

Regarding the internet, I must say that it was a bit slow but you may be interested to know that we have started another WIFI receptor in the second floor and we are changing the computer to a new and fast one that of course will be still free to use.

Is good to know that you think there are good bathrooms with excellent showers :)

There are 10 minute walk to the main town center and nearer 20 minutes to the beach but also you have available a very good bus service that for a very little money will take you to the beach in 10 minute.
Main guests would say that the Lodge it is located in a very peaceful surroundings but maybe that Saturday summer night there was something going on nearby and that could be the reason of so much noise. I can assure you that it was something exceptional.

Sorry we have NO Air-Conditioning. As is explained in the web site, A/C is not included in our facilities.
Anyone would understand that the investment is way too expensive for a need of only 2'5 months, and then not to be reflected in the price. So alternately we have supplied every room with an extra table fan.
Again sorry for the inconveniences, as you said Malaga in summer can get 40 degrees, which still is very hot even if one have decided to pay less for no A/C facility.

I'm sure that if you travel to Malaga again any time during the year except July or August, I'm sure your perception of Málaga and even the Lodge will change a lot.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Málaga was most enjoyable.
Best regards,
Mayte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#22 of 87 in Malaga
518 reviews
Hostal Moscatel
#58 of 87 in Malaga
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Dulces Dreams Boutique Hostel
Centro
Picnic Dreams Boutique Hostel
Centro
The Lights Hostel
The Lights Hostel
#5 of 156 in Malaga
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Lodge

Address: Calle Hospital Militar 14, 29013 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: $41 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malaga Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaga Lodge offers excellent accommodation in a unique setting in the very heart of Malaga's old Town, only a short walk from the city centre very close to the main attractions such as Picasso Museum, beaches, etcA bright and charming town house, Malaga Lodge was originally built in 1902. It is situated next to the famous Santuario de la Victoria, in the very heart of historic Malaga.In Malaga Lodge, guest house, We want you to feel at home, which is why a stay with us includes a range of extras to ensure your complete comfort. Enjoy our cosy, welcoming bedrooms, spotlessly clean bathrooms, laundry service, high-speed ADSL internet, WIFI network, satellite TV in over 10 languages, and self-serve breakfast facilities in our open-plan kitchen and dining area for self-catering. A stay with us will help make your Malaga experience a truly memorable one.Check in from 15:00 hrs to 22:00 hrs previous confirmation of arrival time into Málaga airport, bus or train station. The owner does not personally live in the Guest House, and as a self catering guest house, there is no reception desk serviceCheck out 11:00 hrs.As a complimentary breakfast (not included) we offer in our self catering kitchen:cereals,marmalade,apples,honey,margarine,sugar and hot drinks. Smoking is not permitted.There is no A/C Malaga Lodge is located in the city's old quarter of La Victoria, within easy walking distance of key tourist attractions as are the Pablo Picasso Museum, the Alcazaba, Gibralfaro castles, the Roman Theatre and Plaza de la Merced, You can walk to the beach in 20 minutes.La Victoria contains a wide variety of eateries to suit all budgets, a range of supermarkets and grocery stores, and many smaller shops specializing in fresh fruit, bread, meat or fish, bus stops and a taxi station very nearby.How to get thereIt will take you approximately 1/2 hour by car from the airport to the Guest House. (In total you need 1’30 hrs. from your flight arrival time to the Lodge)There is a train (1’35–1’45€) from the airport to the city centre as well as a bus (2’20€) nº 19 and A express and a taxi service (the latter charge around 20-25€).*If you take the train or bus (nº 19) from the airport to the main train or bus station of Málaga you need to change to bus nº 1 to get to the Guest House. Ask the bus driver to stop at “Calle Fernando el Católico” next to “Iglesia de la Victoria”. Walk up towards the church then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar”. It is house number 14, a blue house on the right hand side. *If you take a Taxi please ask the driver to take you to the first bus stop at “Calle Fernando el Católico” next to “Iglesia de la Victoria” and then turn the very first right towards the church (only a few meters), get off from the Taxi and then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar, 14”.*If you drive your own car with a navi system, please write the name of the street “Calle Fernando el Católico, 1”. At the very beginning of the street there is a bus stop, turn the very first right, up towards the church (only a few meters), get off the car and then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar”. After you locate the Lodge you can look for a parking spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Malaga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Lodge Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing