We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic B&B ...without the Breakfast!”
Review of Malaga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malaga Lodge
Ranked #9 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights. We expected a warm welcome and breakfast in the morning, but we didn't receive either. The location was a fair distance from the beach, but close to a great square with lots of restaurants. The is no internet (other than the old computer next to the front door) and no breakfast other than so old cereal and bits and pieces left by other guests. The rooms were nice enough and there was a laundry service for 10euros approx.

Room Tip: You only get a room for what you pay and it's nowhere near the beach hot spots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that something did not go as you expected. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience, you can be sure I will sort it out and if I am able I will improve it.

Being a self-catering guest house, we provides all guest with the following: coffee, tea, drinking hot chocolate, powdered milk, breakfast cereals, fruit marmalade, apples, honey, margarine and sugar (bread and juice are not available), as well as salt, pepper, seasoning, olive oil and vinegar, but all is self service.

There are 10 minute walk to the main town center and nearer 20 minutes to the beach but also you have available a very good bus service that for a very little money will take you to the beach in 10 minute.

Regarding the internet, I must say that it was a bit slow but you may be interested to know that we have started another WIFI receptor in the second floor and we are changing the computer to a new and fast one that of course will be still free to use.

Is good to know that you think the rooms were nice enough and there was a laundry service.
Thanks again and best regards,
Mayte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Malaga lodge is clean, calm and well situated.
Cheap for what it is

The only thing to keep in mind os this is not a regular party hostel, its more of a quiet mini hotel.
its a great place for people who wants a quiet place, great if you are traveling by 2 because rooms are for two.
Perfect for girls!

he kitchen is nice and has everything you need.
no AC, but has a ceiling fan.

The owners are not there, but this is not an inconvenient, all the info you need is there,

Wifi woks in the living room. Internet cables in all rooms
No balcony or terrasse or place to hang out. Just a mini living room with a standing up computer station.

again nice if you want a quiet and clam place!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank anais123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
I'm very glad to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Malaga Lodge.
It is very cheering up to know you were very pleased with the good cleanliness, tranquility and location.
Thank you again and best regards,
Mayte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed in a double room at the beginning of June and was very pleasantly surprised by Malaga Lodge.

It was great to have the use of a kitchen during our stay, as we were able to prepare picnics for the beach and dinners for the nights we didn't want to eat out. The bathrooms were very clean, and each one had hooks and shelves corresponding to our room. The room itself was basic, but perfect for a few nights good sleep. It was nice to have a proper double bed, rather than two singles pushed together as is so common in Spain!

The location is about a 15 minute walk from Plaza de la Merced (where there are some great restaurants incl. La Lechuga and Cafe y Libros), but there is also a really good bus service that can take you to the bus/train station and into the centre as well.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Malaga Lodge for a basic and quiet place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
I'm very glad to know that you have been very pleasantly surprised by us! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Malaga Lodge.
It is very cheering up to know you were very pleased with the cleanliness, good sleep, the kitchen facilities, the location but also the good bus service.
Thank you again for recommending us. Best regards!
Mayte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

In September and October 2011 I have stayed in the Málaga Lodge for several weeks and it is still a real pleasure for me thinking back to that nice time!

I have been in Málaga to take part in a Spanish language course at the University. Looking for an accomodation I first was really unsure where to stay as I didn't like to be in a shared flat with other students or a host family but not either in a hotel or an apartment. Then I have discovered the Málaga Lodge – my perfect place to be! On the one hand you are having the chance to meet nice people from all over the world but on the other hand you can also enjoy the privacy of your comfy temporary home.

The guest house is perfectly located in the nort-eastern part of the city centre and it just takes a 10 minutes walk to the historic centre. It is situated in a very small side street near Victoria church and it is a really quiet and safe place!

All parts of the house are well maintained and very clean. The interior shows in every detail that the owner has paid a lot of attention to create a cosy and warm atmosphere. Travellers can really feel at home at this guest house!

I particularly enjoyed the excellent cooking facilities! You will find everything you need to create a delicious meal with ingredients from the wonderful Málaga central market, which I recommend too!

Mayte, the owner, and Mariángeles, the housekeeper, are really amiable and helpful. Thank you very much indeed for your hospitality!

"Guest house" does not really characterise what the Málaga Lodge offers. A new category should be invented for this fantastic place of feeling comfortable!

I would highly recommend this wonderful guest house to everyone who attach great importance to stay in an individual and comfortable ambience in the heart of Málaga!

One day, when I will come back to Málaga I will definitely stay again at the Málaga Lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayte M, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
I'm very happy to read that still is a pleasure for you to think back your time at Malaga Lodge and that it was your perfect place to be! Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback.
It is very encouraging to know you were so pleased with the cleanliness, the excellent cooking facilities, the safe location and quietness.
Thank you for letting me know that you felt like home, feeling so comfortable in a cozy and warm atmosphere :)
Thank you again for recommending us, was a really pleasure for both of us to meet you!
All the best!
Mayte & Mariángeles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

A very nice place to stay close to the center of the city.The decoration is charming and the lady owner speaks native English.Most of all I would like to point out the fact that although the owner does not live in the hostel and the lady who does the cleaning is for certain hours there,you do not need them.There has been a thorough consideration about everything that one may need and therefore you feel like being at home.Nevertheless the owner is available on phone, friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athina985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagaccomodation, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you so much for such a nice review and taking the time for it! Thank you for your kindness, it has been a great help. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Malaga Lodge is by far the cosiest place I've stayed at. The rooms are very stylish. The kitchen is a lovely meeting place. The lodge is situated near the city centre. It makes for less than a 10-minute walk to the heart of the city. Right next to the lodge is a beautiful church - a nice starting place for your visit of the city. There is no need to panic if the weather should turn out to be dreary, as the lodge has a WIFI-environment, TV sets, a DVD-player and a great collection of novels in various languages. A classy place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagaccomodation, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

It has been a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your friendliness review and your estimable time. Hopefully I will see you back in the future. Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I spent a week here, earlier this month. One of the nicest guest houses we have ever stayed in! We had a double room with small balcony - a simple room but with everything we needed. We shared shower and toilet facilities with 2 other rooms but these were always very clean. One of the nicest things for us was the use of the kitchen and the supply of essentials - tea, sugar, breakfast cereals, jams, etc. Each room had their own shelf in the fridge and cupboard space. We also met some other travellers from Europe and South America and there was opportunity to chat in the kitchen or the small lounge. Internet facilities (although a bit slow) were available and were very useful to have.
We were lucky enough to hire a car for our stay and, although parking could be tight in such narrow streets, we always found a space within a 5 minute walk.
The pedestrianised city centre with restaurants, shops and cafes plus the Roman theatre and Alcazabar is a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KChristou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagaccomodation, Propietario at Malaga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Hi!
Even I was no lucky to meet you personally after all I wanted to thank you for your lovely and detailed review. I wanted to let you know that I really appreciate it. I'm sure I will meet you next time that you came back to Málaga. Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,169 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#23 of 89 in Malaga
465 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,117 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
The Lights Hostel
The Lights Hostel
#6 of 148 in Malaga
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Lodge

Address: Calle Hospital Militar 14, 29013 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: $41 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaga Lodge offers excellent accommodation in a unique setting in the very heart of Malaga's old Town, only a short walk from the city centre very close to the main attractions such as Picasso Museum, beaches, etcA bright and charming town house, Malaga Lodge was originally built in 1902. It is situated next to the famous Santuario de la Victoria, in the very heart of historic Malaga.In Malaga Lodge, guest house, We want you to feel at home, which is why a stay with us includes a range of extras to ensure your complete comfort. Enjoy our cosy, welcoming bedrooms, spotlessly clean bathrooms, laundry service, high-speed ADSL internet, WIFI network, satellite TV in over 10 languages, and self-serve breakfast facilities in our open-plan kitchen and dining area for self-catering. A stay with us will help make your Malaga experience a truly memorable one.Check in from 15:00 hrs to 22:00 hrs previous confirmation of arrival time into Málaga airport, bus or train station. The owner does not personally live in the Guest House, and as a self catering guest house, there is no reception desk serviceCheck out 11:00 hrs.As a complimentary breakfast (not included) we offer in our self catering kitchen:cereals,marmalade,apples,honey,margarine,sugar and hot drinks. Smoking is not permitted.There is no A/C Malaga Lodge is located in the city's old quarter of La Victoria, within easy walking distance of key tourist attractions as are the Pablo Picasso Museum, the Alcazaba, Gibralfaro castles, the Roman Theatre and Plaza de la Merced, You can walk to the beach in 20 minutes.La Victoria contains a wide variety of eateries to suit all budgets, a range of supermarkets and grocery stores, and many smaller shops specializing in fresh fruit, bread, meat or fish, bus stops and a taxi station very nearby.How to get thereIt will take you approximately 1/2 hour by car from the airport to the Guest House. (In total you need 1’30 hrs. from your flight arrival time to the Lodge)There is a train (1’35–1’45€) from the airport to the city centre as well as a bus (2’20€) nº 19 and A express and a taxi service (the latter charge around 20-25€).*If you take the train or bus (nº 19) from the airport to the main train or bus station of Málaga you need to change to bus nº 1 to get to the Guest House. Ask the bus driver to stop at “Calle Fernando el Católico” next to “Iglesia de la Victoria”. Walk up towards the church then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar”. It is house number 14, a blue house on the right hand side. *If you take a Taxi please ask the driver to take you to the first bus stop at “Calle Fernando el Católico” next to “Iglesia de la Victoria” and then turn the very first right towards the church (only a few meters), get off from the Taxi and then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar, 14”.*If you drive your own car with a navi system, please write the name of the street “Calle Fernando el Católico, 1”. At the very beginning of the street there is a bus stop, turn the very first right, up towards the church (only a few meters), get off the car and then look left for the street name ”Calle Hospital Militar”. After you locate the Lodge you can look for a parking spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Malaga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Lodge Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing