We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, no frills..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #72 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent value, no frills..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in this little hotel the night of 22nd May. it was comfortable and spotlessly clean with en suite bathroom. The air conditioning worked very effectively. The hotel is staffed all night so it felt very safe.There is a machine in the lobby which dispenses bottled water,some snacks,and hot drinks.The staff were pleasant, well informed and very helpful with all the necessary maps etc. Although there is no breakfast provided about 50 yards from the hotel there are a number of cafes serving breakfast to mainly Spanish customers.
The hotel is very near the waterfront and some nice fish restaurants. It is about a 40 minute walk along the front past the docks to the Cathedral area of town. Probably best to get a bus in the heat of the day.
The bus stop for the airport is about 5 minutes away. The buses run half hourly and cost 2 euros (20 euros for a taxi.) Excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
17
31
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice and cosy hotel - very clean - excellent value for money - friendly staff - very close to the seaside - definitely we recommend it for budget seekers who are after a clean comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: all room are comfortable - rooms facing the north sides are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmygreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I spent in Solymar one night. It was really nice. I booked a single room some time before my trip. I found it online, and actually in real it's even better than it described.
The room was comfortable, with TV, mirror, wardrobe, big bed. Also there was an air conditioning, that was really good, because I needed it.
Bathroom was in the room. Very good shower. Towels, hairdryer, soap, shampoo, everything.
It was very clean everywhere!
Simple but nice interior, especially I liked the reception hall.
There is also an elevator.
The staff is very kind and helpful. I met there a man who could speak English very well.
On my point the staff is kinda appearance of a hotel. If people who work there are really nice and helpful, that can even cover some imperfections and troubles that can happen in any hotel.
In Solymar people are great! As for me, it was my last night in Spain, I had a flight in the morning and somehow I was about to miss my plane. My fault I didn't ask on reception to wake me up. That happens! But the man from reception was so fast, he called to taxi, explained them situation that I need to be in airport as soon as possible, then he helped me with all my suitcases, and really I appreciate his help alot. I arrived to airport in time and everything was good. Actually the hotel is on the way to airport, that helps!
I really can recommend this hotel to travellers. It's not in the center, but if you need to go there, you can use public transport. And the beach is just near.
Good value for money.
I would go there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nicki_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I got stranded at the airport and found this little gem. Its a hostel type hotel in a side street near the dockside of Malaga. Clean rooms with ensuite for 40E a night. Downside is no breakfast (or kettle in rooms but machine downstairs) but plenty of local supercheap cafes close by. Location was good as its quiet and residential near main road to the airport (15 mins), however its entirely Spanish residential area, and is rather like a step back in time to the people looking for Tourist beach type area. Speaking Spanish helps! bus or Taxi (5E!!! bargain) to Malaga town center very easy and therefore no car parking drama. Basic, but clean, tidy and good Wifi in rooms. Recommend.

Room Tip: rooms inside have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slite, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel was very clean and had comfortable beds. It took approx 20 minutes to walk along the sea to the historical center of Malaga, but it's no problem to go by bus if you don't want to walk. WiFi in the room costs €3/day. The only cons are that they don't offer breakfast (or minibar and electric kettle in room to store your own breakfast) and that the sound insulation between the rooms is quite simple. You can easily hear what your neighbours are talking about. I do really recommend this hotel if you get a good price offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank menhirkultur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotel Solymar (solymarmalaga@gmail.com) is a very clean, very cozy, well situated, fair priced, excellent hotel for families.
All staff members are extremely kind and helpful.
(Unfortunately only one staff-member - Antonio Moro - speaks English,
but his extreme kindness and helpfulness more than compensate for the
lack of language abilities of the rest of the crew.)
The Solymar Hotel is peaceful and silent at night.
Wireless Internet at the rooms (3 € / day). Free parking in the surrounding streets if you can find an empty parking space.
It is close to the beach (only about 5 min. walk), shops (2 min. walk to big local market with lots of tempting food shops), local department store, several local restaurants (and among them a fantastic Chinese one), cheap and easy bus access to Malaga center by several bussed. Effective and free air-condition. Nice and clean lift.
Only minuses: No breakfast at the hotel, but automate with cold and warm drinks available at ground floor. No swimming pool. No interesting view from room-windows.
Overall assessment: Best value for your money spend on lodging in Malaga. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TelAvivvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I wasn't expecting much as had booked a budget double room for my son and I in a part of town away from the centre, but we were impressed from the start with lift, wi-fi (1euro p.h.), very clean room, hairdryer in bathroom, mini fridge, aircon, tv with extra channels, helpful staff, soft ironed sheets, overlooking a quiet street. I am a poor sleeper but slept very well. We were able to leave our luggage secure there for hours the next day after checking out.

However, on the down side, although the hostal/hotel is very near the beach, when we went out for a night stroll the stench wafting over from the sea was that of raw sewage, we surmised that the town's sewage system was pumped out to sea (and not very far!) There were bars along the front that had coals burning and the smoke momentarily masked the smell, but we could not see how anyone would want to consume there! The next day the smell was almost gone, so it's possible they only pump it out at night, but who'd want to swim in it?!! Actually there were only a few people on the whole beach! Thus the whole area of this downtown part of Malaga on the other side of the port, day or evening, has a forlorn quality as it is not very frequented. It is a pretty long walk into town and the buses are awkward due to being on a one way system. The little side streets have poor people's dwellings, not without a cosy charm to watch whole families enjoying the cool of the evening while watching tv, seen through their open doorways.

We didn't like the unbelievably nasty smell, but liked the rest because it was almost like a ghost town and we like that sort of thing, shunning crowds! So if you're a bit weird like us, then I recommend a one night stay at least, if your nose and stomach are easily queasy, then don't!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Pedregalejo
Hotel Elcano
Hotel Elcano
#54 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Pedregalejo
Hostal El  Nogal
Hostal El Nogal
#70 of 90 in Malaga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pedregalejo
Hotel Domus
Hotel Domus
#60 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Centro
Zeus Hotel Malaga
Zeus Hotel Malaga
#55 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Property: Hotel Solymar
Address: Calle Ferraz, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solymar 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solymar Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing