We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a pleasure ....”
Review of La Consula

La Consula
Ranked #172 of 2,641 Restaurants in Malaga
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 15, 2015

It was a pleasure to be waited on and looked after by these young people embarking on a career in high-end catering. Our experience was certainly high-end regarding the standard of service, aperitif, menu, food and wine. We would have liked to be able to meet and to congratulate the young chefs because they deserved high praise. Seven courses (including) a couple of amuse bouche and coffee with petit fours...... the cost (including wine appropriate for the dishes) was 35 euros per head.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank VisitorfromBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2015

We have been visiting this restaurant for many years. Set in a cookery school in Ernest Hemingway's old house at Churriana, outside Malaga, it has become a favourite. The dining room is in an impressive modern structure by the house with views over the lovely gardens. The cooking and service is always to a high standard. It is very good value. It is fun to talk to the students embarking on their careers, and walk in the gardens after lunch.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidP497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

Return taxi 40euros from Larios to La Consula (15 mins.) Arrived 1.30pm for 2pm table. Offered an aperitif of our choice from wide range as we sat at the bar. Then a fabulous degustation menu including white and red Spanish wines. Cost 69euros for 2. One of finest meals we've had ~ anywhere. Wonderful service from young staff. Will be back on our return to Malaga.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gtkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We booked this following trip advisor reviews. We ordered the 4 course meal with the 2 appetisers. 50% was very good, especially prawns with mango and coconut and meat and fish, also the wine & service was excellent. However a salmon starter was too full of chives, the sweet was slightly overdone, the veg with the meat wasn't great.
Beautiful location, we arrived a bit early so sat on the terrace.
In summary, yes I'd go again but with slightly lower expectations.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

A group of us went for lunch, had the set /tasting menu. 7 dishes including cava, white and red wine. Beautifully presented, imaginative combinations, excellent service, and every dish was superb. Well worth a visit. Fine dining without the €€€€€€€€€

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Consula also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Consula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing