We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous surprise”

Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga
Ranked #3 of 203 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum is located in a crefully restored 18th century house, where we can browse through the history of humanity by means of the glass. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday, from 11am to 7pm. Closed on Mondays, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, 6th January and for the whole of the month of August.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Glasgow
Level Contributor
223 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fabulous surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I can't say we expected a great deal when we found this museum, but what a delightful surprise it turned out to be.
I'm not a great fan of guided tours as a rule, but here we were so lucky to be shown around by the owner and collector of this wonderful display of glass from all periods of history. Another pleasant surprise was that the museum, while focussing on glass, is really one of decorative arts and material culture. It's in a beautifully-restored house, with glass displayed in appropriate room settings with furniture and paintings of the relevant period.
A special treat was that many of these are family pieces, and we learned the stories behind them. Our guide was immensely knowledgeable and very witty: it was a real pleasure to spend over an hour in his company (we were given the English tour, fortunately).
Seek out the location, don't be put off by the length of the tour, which passes in a flash, and go! Oh, and it's also a bargain!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    223
    32
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Deserves Its Number One Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The owner deserves all the praise and publicity we can give him, and for that reason I submit this review. I can add nothing to what has been said by so many others, and endorse their comments.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Guided tour of a treasure house by the owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The museum is in a beautifully restored traditional Spanish house with internal courtyards open to the sky and period furniture and artwork which is worth the admission price alone. The guided tour of his personal glass collection by the owner is an absolute privilege. He is very knowledgeable and conveys his passion for glass at great pace and with humour. The tour starts with some stained glass panels from English churches that were made in the late 19th century. You are then taken through the house on a chronological history of glass making and shown very rare examples of glass makers' products from over 2000 years ago until the present day. It is astounding how many glasses, vases and other glass products are on display. The tour ends with a master class on investing in more recently produced glass that is affordable but is expected to increase in value. If you're staying anywhere near Malaga this is a "must see" museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited this amzing museum today and I can say we loved the place the owner gave us a guided tour and it was like I say FANTASTIC very interesting well worth the entry fee at only 5€ was well worth it like I say a must see thank you for opening your house up to us

Helpful?
1 Thank Damo2008uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stopped in to this museum. based on reviews I had read on Tripadvisor and we assumed it would be a somewhat short visit, as often is the case with a smaller museum. Needless to say, we were wrong, as it is a guided visit. And I have to tell you, we did not want it to end. We were lucky enough to be shown around by the owner of the museum, who owns both the beautiful house where it is housed and the entire incredible collection. We were totally engrossed in his stories and learned so much about glass, how its made and its history.

I highly recommend a visit to this special museum. Just make sure you have about an hour and a half to spare. But you will not be sorry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing