We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise in the middle of Málaga”

Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga
Ranked #3 of 210 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum is located in a crefully restored 18th century house, where we can browse through the history of humanity by means of the glass. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday, from 11am to 7pm. Closed on Mondays, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, 6th January and for the whole of the month of August.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise in the middle of Málaga”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not the easiest place to find, but persist as you will be well rewarded. Situated at the top end of the 'Larios' area this private museum has very little in the way of government support or funding, but the enthusiasm and knowledge shown by the three owners put it into a class of its own.
A nominal €5, €3 if you are a pensioner, entitles you to a guided tour of the museum by one of the owners, in English or Spanish. The first delight is to appreciate the work and care that has gone into the property housing the museum. It is one of the old 'Palacios' of a wealthy merchant, or aristocrat of Málaga that was derelict and had to be totally restored. Its main feature is a delightful 2 storey inner courtyard/atrium. Around this are the various rooms housing the collections that the owners have acquired over many years, some of the displays are in the form of room settings. There is even a first floor level garden that had formed part of the original palacio.
Everything from coloured glass Church windows to domestic glassware and glass art objects that go back to Roman times are on display. Much of the furniture and carpets are from their collections too.
Do take the time out to visit this delightful museum, you will not be disappointed.

A note: this museum is usually closed during the month of August, but open Monday to Sunday 11:00am to 7:00pm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    229
    33
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but well worth it”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

You are escorted through this museum by one of the owners' and his love for fine things is obvious.

It is not easy to find. We had a map and still got lost 3 times trying to find it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RITA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy traveller”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the moment you walk through the imposing doors of the museum you are treated to the personal touch! For a nominal fee you are given the opportunity of viewing beautiful and very individual artefacts brought to life in the medium of their beautiful surroundings of the owner’s home.
As you go through the Museum you pass through time and are given an insight into the wonders of not just times gone by but also the family to which the items on display belong.
It is clear that the collection has been lovingly and painstakingly put together.
All tours are guided and the personalised tour is a delight. In our case we were lucky enough to have one of the owners as our guide, even though there was only my husband and I in our group. The tour was excellent and we had plenty of opportunity to ask questions on the wonderful furniture, paintings and of course the crystal and glass and the fantastic stained glass on display.
We visited the museum on 1 May and it brought a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of a busy May Day holiday in Malaga. It was well worth the visit. We will definitely go there again and would definitely recommend visiting the Museum to anyone spending time in Malaga.
We were informed that during the Christmas period there is a spectacular nativity display; hopefully a short break to enjoy some winter sunshine will include a return to Malaga and another visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveller186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum in Malaga”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We didn't realise what a fabulous museum this was, tucked away, slightly off the beaten track. We paid our five euros and expected to just wander round, but five euros bought us a unique guided tour by one of the three directors/ owners Ian Phillips, a medical doctor who has a passion for glass. He and his co-directors bought and renovated this beautiful town house, which would be worth visiting even without the wonderful collection of glass, furniture and portraits. Ian spent nearly two hours taking us round, giving us in-depth and knowledgeable history of production techniques, uses and history of the glass and crystal in his care, while also peppering the tour with ancedotes, for example, how he came to buy some of the pieces. This made the whole experience very personal and intimate. If you like bits of glass, stained glass windows, the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, Arts and Crafts, history of design, history, arts, crafts, contemporary glass, or just enjoy looking at beautiful objects in someone's very special house - this is for you. Thank you Ian. We won't forget our visit in a hurry. And I am looking up 'Matilda Lewis'. Saira and Paul, Somerset

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Saira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly brilliant museum”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is an absolutely brilliant museum. Guided tours are given be the owner in Spanish or English. I every realised glass could be that interesting. It is a wonderfully set out building with glass craft work from all over the world. Each piece seems to have a fascinating story attached.
5 euros very well spent. Well worth a visit, allow a couple of hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaFishcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing