We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special”

Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga
Ranked #3 of 210 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum is located in a crefully restored 18th century house, where we can browse through the history of humanity by means of the glass. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday, from 11am to 7pm. Closed on Mondays, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, 6th January and for the whole of the month of August.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very special”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Inside a beautiful house we got a guided tour on the history of glass by an English professor, living in the house. Objects come to live with the stories you here. Lots of interaction with the children 10 and 13, but many surprises for the parents too. You actually learn something.Go here before it gets too touristic.The taxi driver did not know the museum, so make sure you know the address. The area outside is also very interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,111
    230
    33
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guided tour gives this glass gloss”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

A wonderfully engaging guided tour by owner/collector brings an array of beautiful and interesting items to life.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“diamond in the rough”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I absolutely loved the tour of this museum. Our tour guide was so nice and the history was interesting on so many levels. This was one of my favorite things to do while i was visiting Malaga and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting in the future. The glass and ceramics are so beautiful; I would go back if I could!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special experience, much more than a museum”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The collection is great, being guided by one of the owners makes the visit really special – see beautiful pieces of glass, but also hear the stories behind (development of glass manufacturing techniques, factories, history snapshots). And there is much more than glass: the house is wonderfully decorated, paintings and furniture have also their stories, a room is dedicated to a collection of books in special editions. One of the few museums I would go back to.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnaMaria_Bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimbolton, Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An abosolute gem!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having visited the Picasso Museum (rather disappointing) my friends and I walked through the fasinating back streets to the Museum of Glass and Crystal. We spent two hours + enthralled by the owner's enthusiasim and knowledge of his wonderful collection of paintings, glass, furniture and crystal displayed simpathetically in his beautiful house. I cannot recommend this museum highly enough - make the time to visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing