We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Interesting and unique experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga

Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga
Book In Advance
$30.57*
and up
Málaga Pass
Ranked #2 of 198 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum is located in a crefully restored 18th century house, where we can browse through the history of humanity by means of the glass. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday, from 11am to 7pm. Closed on Mondays, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, 6th January and for the whole of the month of August.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The musuem is about a 10 minute walk from Picasso Museum or from the underground parking at Calle Sta Ana. The route to the area is clear but the enterance itself is somewhat hidden. This is not a standard museum but more of a tour in an estate. The tour is guided and you should reserve at least an hour for the tour. The guide is the estate owner who is also the collector of the exhibits and a scholar in the field of glass history. The exhibts include glass and crystal artifacts from various geographical places and from different times, from far past to these days. Other exhibits are antique furniture and paintings, mostly portraits. Some of the exhibits are facsinating and much flavor is added by the guide - combining historical comments as well as industrial manufacturing and chemistry related information. Definitely recommended for the general public and especially for those interested in glass history. Price was 4 Euro per person - quite reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jomo018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    205
    29
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best tourist attraction in Malaga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a fabulous place, not at all like a "museum", taken around in a small group (4 of us) by a gentleman who has a great love of crystal and glass. It was his own home so the objects were on view in a personal setting. It was amazing and I will never forget the beauty of the crystal chandelier as the light caught it. I had read that it was hard to find so I asked at tourist information at the railway station, he gave me a street map and we walked straight to it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heigh light of the trip to Malaga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

THE place to visit.The private museum at the private residential house of the collector.The owner / collector/tour leader is a acharming Cambridge educated gentelman.The house is absolutely fantastic,the collection is fasinating and he makes you appreciate the art and beauty of glass .You will not pass another vase,glass window or anything without thinking about him ever. A 5 star .pLeas go and support you will agree.The ticket is too cheap 4 Euro?!

Elham

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect at this museum, but as other reviewers have said it was a lovely surprise and well worth the visit. If you have any interest in glass it is unmissable; but there is so much else as well, including furniture, paintings and sculptures displayed throughout the proprietor's beautiful home. The owner / guide was passionate about his collection and we couldn't help getting swept up by his enthusiasm. I'm not sure that it deserves its rating as the number one attraction in Malaga, but I will say the museum was one of the best things we did while there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aus_in_Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A personal tour by one of the owners. Very reasonable entry charge. A little off the beaten tourist track but worth the effort to find it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Campbell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing