We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a baroque hotel within walking distance to all attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de las Mercedes
Ranked #5 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the family suite of this hotel for one night on a visit to the costa del sol. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the continental breakfast was very good with a variety of fruits, breads, croissants, cake, and cheese and hams with coffee. The staff were friendly and most helpful and spoke English.the shopping district of Malaga was just a street away and the tourist and cultural attractions werne all within the same area. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to those who like to have a cultural experience as opposed to one offered by a hotel chain.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear marieCork_ireland,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel. And we loved to read you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay and thanks for your kind words!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Even though it's located directly into the center of the city,the only advantage of it,and was easy to find,the disadvantages were more..as..utterly discomfort bed,little space to move and store your luggage,disgusting odors coming from everywhere,and definately not worth the price..forgot to mention the average breakfast,and the cuteness of interiors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthakiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear MarthakiR,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us.

As you know, our Hotel is an old house from Malaga adapted into a hospitality in the baroque classic style and our Rooms are the biggest posible, but we do not agree that you can´t even leave your luggage or that rooms are not cute o comfortable enough as of course they are!

Regarding our Breakfast, as we are a small hotel and do not have industry kitchens, we serve the best breakfast possible: Milk, coffee, fresh orange juice, different types of bread and cereals, cheese, ham, olive oil, biscuits, fresh croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit...

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel set in a quiet street. It is in the heart of the city and has a charming courtyard The staff are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is as expected. They were happy to provide an extra towel.

The room I had was not ideal. Wifi reception was either very slow or usually not present. The safe deposit box did not work. The drying machine outside the window was set to come on at 12.30 in the morning and would repeat every hour or so. I had soap and shampoo for two days after that it never got replenished.

I would stay here again if the wifi was working in the room and away from the dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hywel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenu Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Hywel H,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel. And we loved to read you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

We are sorry about the wifi reception and the deposit box didn´t work. By the moment everything is working perfectly. But regarding soap and shampoo we do replace it everyday when cleaning.

We would be really happy to receive you once more and try to make your stay the happiest.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here one night when the hotel a few doors down could not have us as he had problems with a leaking soil pipe. It's in a good location, on a passageway in old Malaga near all the historic areas and we could park in the local multistorey carpark round the corner for an extra 15 Euros for 24 hours.

Receptionist was unfriendly, seemed uninterested in us and enjoyed smoking right by the front door which doesn't look nice nor professional. This was despite us being able to speak near-fluent Spanish.

The room, however, was tiny. Now, we're Brits, so we're not demanding of room space unlike our cousins from the US (!) and we like being out as much as possible...but you could barely walk around the double bed. There was only enough room to have the suitcase on the floor behind the door. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of the corridor on the left side.

The TV did not work as the satellite box only let us watch 2 channels. The other channels were scrambled.

We'd also been told that we'd have a double bed, but it was 2 single beds pushed together. A pretty sad way of ending an otherwise lovely 1 week stay in Andalucia.

The receptionist kindly switched on the wall heater when we arrived as it was cool and felt damp and infrequently used. However, we could not control it at 4am when the room was roasting hot and had to fight to pull out the plug from behind the wardrobe! The bedroom was generally quiet but on the friday night there were really loud bass sounds from a nearby club or venue making the windows rattle, luckily this finished before midnight.

The bathroom (shower room) was a reasonable size but old hairs were still visible on the tiled walls and floors - not a nice sight.

We had to leave at 0730 the next morning so we didn't have a chance to see anyone to tell them what a disappointing stay we'd had. Bizarrely perhaps, there was a sign on the back of the main door requesting that guests write Tripadvisor reviews. I cannot believe their naiivety and total lack of insight, that they actually want people to moan about this place. I'm generally very positive and generous with my reviews, but this place is outrageous.

Positive: good location, 24h car park nearby for an extra 15 Euros.
Negative: room was unfeasibly small, non-functioning TV, receptionist unfriendly. Cannot believe we paid 65 Euros for this dump, no breakfast, broken TV, plus another 15 Euros to park the car. What a rip-off....avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonito74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director General at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

First of all we are very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel although we are really surprised comparing the opinions of our clients in general either in trip advisor, booking.com or other distribution channels.
It is true that our double rooms are quite small due to the fact that the construction of the building dates back to the 18th century and is classified as an historical monument what makes it impossible to change the seize of the rooms and make them bigger. We hope you understand that our hotel is not a conventional hotel which was built and designed as a hotel with specific seizes of the rooms but it is more a special project and our clients like the originality of it. Nevertheless, we like to mention that the triple rooms have a normal standard seize as in any other hotel and the seize of the suite goes beyond of the expectations of any client who stayed with us.
Referring to your comment that the bathroom was not cleaned well we have to disagree in this point yet cleanness is one of our priorities, as well as the friendly service to our guests.
Breakfast is always included in our hotel, it is not an optional choice but in your case as you were sent from another hotel which does not include breakfast you already booked their rate + conditions. Anyway, we think 65 EUR is not a reasonable price for a double room in the center of Málaga. If our clients have to leave early, before breakfast time we normally give them a breakfast to go on their way.
The parking does not belong to us, it is just a service which we offer to our clients and with 15 EUR we are 7-8 EUR cheaper than the normal price of the public parking in the center of Málaga.
As we are a really small hotel and a family business our opening hours cannot be 24hours but in fact they are 16 hours (from 08:00 – 24:00h).
For your next visit to Málaga we recommend you to book in a modern, big and conventional hotel of the city, there are lots of them and it might be more of your style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a gem...was relunctant to write a review as we want to keep this property a secret.
We received a warm and friendly welcome (even at midnight!)
The room we stayed in was simply magnificent.
Breakfast was more than adequate.
Location is central but enough to be off the beaten track so a good night sleep is guaranteed.
Can't wait to return! We fell in love with Malaga with a lot of help from this great property.

Room Tip: Book the suite, it will take your breath away.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianbennett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director General at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear clients, thank you so much for this excellent opinion, we are very pleased that you felt so at home at Casa de las Mercedes and that you also appreciate its qualities like the location, atmosphere and its service. It is a real pleasure for us to accommodate such positive guests as you are. We hope to see you soon again!
Kind regards,
Ignacio Benítez. Owner and Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Garko S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is small, friendly and relatively easy to find.

I have two criticisms, both of which were raised at the hotel itself.

First, all beds are twins. On Lastminute,com I booked a double room. Twin was not mentioned anywhere. I am always careful to check. I even wrote in the special comments box that I wanted a double bed. Our room had twin beds. I pointed out that I had requested a double and the receptionist told me that all there is in Malaga/Andalucia is twins, even in five star establishments. This is simply not true as this was our fifth Andalucian hotel in two weeks and the first to have twin beds. The standard advise is just to push them together, but someone always ends up falling down the gap. I think that if I am paying a decent sum, it is reasonable to receive what I requested. If they're unable to fulfil this request, then it should be made clear to I can consider possibly rebooking elsewhere. I feel a bit like I have been tricked and once you're being shown the room by a member of staff it's just a little bit too late to start arguing and trying to rebook - so genuinely not pleased about this.

Secondly, the free WIFI which is used as a selling point was too weak to work in our room. I am using iPad 3 and iPhone 4 so no issues with my equipment. Only option is to sit in breakfast room, which is not ideal.

Other than this, the hotel is small and friendly. Breakfast is fine.

I probably would not stay again, as I really hate the twin bed thing, but if you and your partner don't really get on and don't like to be close to one another then it'll be fine.

Overall would be 4 stars with a double bed
Service would have been 4 stars if we'd been served up a double bed.
Value would be four stars with a double bed.
Sleep quality would be 4 stars with a double bed.

I hate to write a poor review, but I did raise these things at the time and nothing was done so I feel I am able to mention these things here. Clearly a bed is critical in the hotel rating. Had I had a double bed it would have been a four star review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agoentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Agoentis,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely

Following spanish hospitality law, and as we are just a 7 rooms Hotel, all rooms need to have twin beds but whe double bed is required, we dress them as double.

We are sorry about the wifi reception, but we can confirm the by the moment it is working ADSL all around our Hotel.

We are so happy to read that you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

Thank you very much for your review,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,232 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,129 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#25 of 89 in Malaga
475 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Mercedes

Address: Calle Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decor of the rooms as the rest of the house is especially careful and elegant, emulating the original construction of the building and personalizing each one with different wallpaper, paint, curtains and design headboards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Mercedes Hotel Malaga
Casa De Las Mercedes Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing