We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in pleasant part of Malaga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de las Mercedes
Ranked #4 of 35 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in pleasant part of Malaga”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is small, friendly and relatively easy to find.

I have two criticisms, both of which were raised at the hotel itself.

First, all beds are twins. On Lastminute,com I booked a double room. Twin was not mentioned anywhere. I am always careful to check. I even wrote in the special comments box that I wanted a double bed. Our room had twin beds. I pointed out that I had requested a double and the receptionist told me that all there is in Malaga/Andalucia is twins, even in five star establishments. This is simply not true as this was our fifth Andalucian hotel in two weeks and the first to have twin beds. The standard advise is just to push them together, but someone always ends up falling down the gap. I think that if I am paying a decent sum, it is reasonable to receive what I requested. If they're unable to fulfil this request, then it should be made clear to I can consider possibly rebooking elsewhere. I feel a bit like I have been tricked and once you're being shown the room by a member of staff it's just a little bit too late to start arguing and trying to rebook - so genuinely not pleased about this.

Secondly, the free WIFI which is used as a selling point was too weak to work in our room. I am using iPad 3 and iPhone 4 so no issues with my equipment. Only option is to sit in breakfast room, which is not ideal.

Other than this, the hotel is small and friendly. Breakfast is fine.

I probably would not stay again, as I really hate the twin bed thing, but if you and your partner don't really get on and don't like to be close to one another then it'll be fine.

Overall would be 4 stars with a double bed
Service would have been 4 stars if we'd been served up a double bed.
Value would be four stars with a double bed.
Sleep quality would be 4 stars with a double bed.

I hate to write a poor review, but I did raise these things at the time and nothing was done so I feel I am able to mention these things here. Clearly a bed is critical in the hotel rating. Had I had a double bed it would have been a four star review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Agoentis,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely

Following spanish hospitality law, and as we are just a 7 rooms Hotel, all rooms need to have twin beds but whe double bed is required, we dress them as double.

We are sorry about the wifi reception, but we can confirm the by the moment it is working ADSL all around our Hotel.

We are so happy to read that you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

Thank you very much for your review,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
129
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were greeted by a nonchalent member of staff who lead us to a poorly decorated and dark room that had room for one double bed. The wall paper was peeling off one side of the room and dust was everywhere. There was barely enough room for my partner and I to move around and in truth we spent two days avoiding the room. Futhermore, the room was on the ground floor and its windows opened up onto the corridor (so no opening the windows at night then...) So a tiny room, terrible decoration, poor lightening and bad service
Breakfast was in the compact hotel reception area and consisted of nasty pastries and toast. You had to ask the member of staff for coffee and it felt like you were asking them for a limb... Just poor poor poor. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: You pay for the location and don't expect anything else. Really don't....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catdovetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and we do apologize we have not exceeded your expectations. Our hotel is small but charming, it was built in the XIX c. as a house and it was refurbished into a hotel. It is decorated as a typical Andalucía house. There is no doubt; this is the first time we have review like yours. Although we take note and we will try to improve in every aspect that we can. We will do our best to change.
Sincerely, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This special place is located a couple of meters near Teatro Cervantes, on a quiet street, very close to the main streets and sights in Malaga. Beware of the fact that if you look for a location near the beach, this is not for you, since the center historic of Malaga is rather far from the beach (20-25 minutes walking).
We found the hotel quite easy with the help of a GPS (the street is very narrow) and the host were very helpful to direct us to a very close and convenient public parking.
The room was pretty small but ok, and looked into an inside small iluminator (patio). However, since we saw other rooms looked into the inside corridor, ours was better. When biiking, do ask for a room with a street view, to get natural light.
We suggest the hotel a small improvement to the bathroom, respectively a shower cabin, instead of the current shower curtain.
The breakfast was not memorable but good.
We noticed that not all the hosts in the reception were customer oriented. We were offered a map when we arrived and some basic orientation tips but, for example, at breakfast time, there was no interaction between the people in the reception and the guests, since we all were in the same room.
The hotel provides extremelly good value for money, and it is beautiful; we especially liked its interior patio (tipical for andaluzian style).

Room Tip: As for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry we had not exceeded your expectation. We take note and we will do our best to improve our services and installations. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

For people who just go to Spain for the beautiful weather, cheap "plonk" and complain that nobody speaks English, then this tucked away Hotel is definitely not for them. A wonderful small hotel on a lovely quiet street in the heart of what is Malaga.
The Casa de la Mercedes is a find. The hotel is welcoming, and so so clean and fresh, within easy walking distance of any sights you wish to take in. I have seen in other reviews that the size of the bedrooms are complained about, they are not massive, but cosy and so very Spanish, quiet, well appointed and with the comfiest beds we've every slept in everything anyone could need and to top it all a great breakfast. Well done to all of you, you deserve to succeed.

Rohais and Alan Brook 8th-10th September 2012.

Room Tip: Any but Room No 6 upper floor overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much indeed. This is one of our greatest goal, we are pleased to hear such beautiful and nice words, full of kindness that we will never forget about it. It was lovely to have you in our house and you are welcome anytime. Hope to see you soon. This is your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loja, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Casa de las Mercedes is a real little gem of a hotel. Its location was perfect, with many of the historic sights close by as well as the many bars and restaurants. The hotel staff were extremely efficient and very friendly and helpful. Finding out bus timings etc and making ticket bookings was no problem for them. Breakfast was Continental and more than adequate. The hotel and the room itself was very clean with fresh towels as required. Our two night stay there was lovely and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Recepción at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your opinion. Hope to see you again!!
Casa de las Mercedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We planned to stay 4 nights but the room we were allocated was airless and had no external windows; the windows instead opened on to a corridor. Not at all what we were expecting. We were helpfully offered an apartment nearby instead so I have no other experience of the hotel. Be aware of this when booking.

Room Tip: Avoid internal rooms with no outside windows
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are really sorry we have not exceeded your expectations in our hotel. We work very hard to give our guests the best service we can.
Our rooms are serviced every day, aired and clean towels are provided to them each day. Unfortunately you stayed in a room whose windows open to a corridor, but this is the first time we heard about it, because all room have plenty of light and air.
This is due to type of construction of the building.
Sincerely, we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow/Poznan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have spent in this hotel 3 nights in May 2010 and until now we remember this short-break as one of the most beautiful short-breaks we ever had. We stayed from Saturday until Tuesday and we loved this little hotel! It was easy to get here, we took a bus from the airport and got off in the city centre and then walked to the hotel. It is tucked away in a small street, but this is why we loved it so much in the first place! We read on Trip Advisor about it being so hidden and relied on the nice reviews we read and we weren't disappointed! I remember at the time they newly opened (if I recall well) and for booking directly with the hotel they had an offer and I think we got some free tapas in a local tapas bar, which was the best tapas we have ever had and we also bought some lovely wine which was very cheap (something about EUR 6 per bottle). It was quality of haute cuisine, we thought it deserved Michellin star, this is how good it was! If only I could remember this tapas bar name, but it was quite close to the hotel, I'm sure they would recommend it, if you ask at the hotel. So having had that dinner, it was amazing first impression of the place.
The hotel itself was amazing , typical Spanish hotel, with a gorgeous courtyard and the rooms were superb... We had a beautiful big room with a lovely bathroom. We didn't have any window (apart from the internal window), but it didn't bother us much as the decor and the hotel itself were amazing. Some other rooms do have windows, so if you need one, better ask for it. The location was wonderful as Picasso's house was very close and a walking distance everywhere in town. Breakfast was superb with some fresh pastries and a good choice for everyone... very tasty!
I also need to say that the staff was extremely nice and helpful and they always offered help to us with anything we needed for example with car hire. We have chosen a local company and the car was cheap, so it wasn't the best one, but we didn't want anything expensive and we were happy with it. Truly Spanish welcome, so we felt like at home!
On Sunday we spent the whole day exploring Malaga on the bikes with Malaga Bike Tours by Kay Farrell, which was great way to see the city in one day. It was truly amazing experience and would recommend anyone to do it, even to those who are not strong bikers. I also recommend trying for breakfast chocolata con chiurros which is very nice and typical breakfast of Malaga. We also went to see a local market.
On Monday we hired a car and went to Granada and spent the whole day there, which was also a truly amazing day and visiting Alhambra is a must! We were lucky to be present during some local celebrations so we could see many Spanish men on their horses and ladies dressed in Flamenco dresses and at night they were all dancing so we could get to know real Spain and its genuine tradition as this was something we were looking for on this trip.
I cannot more recommend this hotel and looking at it again, I feel we might be soon coming back to Malaga and if we do, we will definitely come back to this hotel without looking at any other options.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a window, ask for one when booking. We had an internal one with an internal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
To be honest, your review has left us without words, thank you very much indeed. There‘s no doubt you had a great time here. We are pleased to hear about it and we will love to welcome you anytime. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
440 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,059 reviews
Hotel Del Pintor
#10 of 88 in Malaga
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,915 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Mercedes

Property: Casa de las Mercedes
Address: Calle Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decor of the rooms as the rest of the house is especially careful and elegant, emulating the original construction of the building and personalizing each one with different wallpaper, paint, curtains and design headboards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Casa de las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Mercedes Hotel Malaga
Casa De Las Mercedes Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing