We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strike it from the Bucket List”
Review of Casa Aranda

Casa Aranda
Ranked #1 of 43 Dessert in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Strike it from the Bucket List”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Aranda has the reputation for the best chocolate and churros in Malaga. I am not into anything sweet but felt that I had to visit Aranda just to tick the box. My wife and I called in mid morning and all parts of the establishment located in along the length of the shortish C/Herreria Del Rey were busy. Thick sweet chocolate and nice churros, very good and a fun experience. Chocolate and churros are a bit of a staple in Malaga and Aranda, as I have said, has built up a reputation. Lets not get carried away however and I am sure a previous reviewer put it very nicely when he said that when in Malaga visiting Aranda is 'part of the game'.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    321
    62
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Institution?”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been to Aranda several times before and always for churros and chocolate. Judging by some of the previous posts this makes me a bit of a prol. Who cares?

Churros are basically batter and are simpy like doughnuts in a string rather than a blob. They are excellent with the thick chocolate and also simply with sugar..... The similarity with fish and chips is tenuous at best.

The Aranda has spread over the years and as well as the narrow alley they have a wider mini-square as well.

Service attentive but no overly so and not that expensive. Perfect after a walk around the market.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InvictaMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must go”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very typical and their churros chocolate are uber good.
Service is hectic but it is part of the game

Go there

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“To be visited if not enjoyed.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Casa Aranda is something of an institution in Malaga, having been established over 75 years, serving churros (a kind of long, deep-fried batter pastry). The restaurant has pretty much taken over Calle Herreria del Rey, a few blocks away from the market.

We went for an early breakfast and had no difficulty getting a table, although it gets crowded later.
Service was good – a platoon of white-shirted waiters circled the outdoor tables.

We ordered four churros for two of us to share, with one hot chocolate and one coffee.

The coffee was great - a strong, dark roast. The hot chocolate had the consistency of custard - ideal for dipping the churros but more of a dessert than a drink.

If dipped in hot chocolate, the churros don't taste too bad, however, on their own they taste like the batter that surrounds fish you but at a traditional British fish and chip shop – salty and greasy. We both thought the churros were pretty disgusting but your mileage may vary.

This is one of those places that defines a city, helping it retain its local character and distinctiveness. I'd recommend visiting it for the experience, but I'm not going to be dishonest by pretending I liked the food. I liked the restaurant and hated their food – we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Best Churros & Hot Chocolate in Town!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This churros bar has been open for many many years we believe, and is very popular. They are really famous for hot chocolate and churros. Also their staff is really friendly and efficient, they are open in the early morning and again early evening. So, we are always go to them at least once when we are visiting Malaga Centre and we recommend anyone to try it. ^ ^

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Narathip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Aranda also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Casa Aranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing