We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal La Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Palma
Ranked #13 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

I went to the Hostal La Palma for a solo trip, 7 nights. This is a great place for backpackers or low-budget travellers, even with children or in couple! A safe and clean place, excellent location to enjoy the city (tourism attractions and beaches), not expensive and really nice, helpful multilangual staff! I enjoy my stay very much, and I would definitly recommend this quiet and humble hotel for people looking for a good quality-price range. You'll be in the middle of everything you need, from buses to restaurants and grocerie stores! As a solo-woman-traveller, I was to the right place! Thanks a lot :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabellelheureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    33
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
34
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

The place did need a bit of a clean in my opinion. We only stayed a night before we flew back home so didnt mind too much. Good location, helpful owner (kept our luggage safe and met us to when we needed to collect it to go to the airport).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Everything is great about this place :
- the location (30 sec to main street, 1 min from buses and taxis station, 2 min to the supermarket and 10 min to the beach -- although it's a nice and quiet street)
- the rooms that are spacious and super clean
- very good value for the price
- and the owner is so nice and helpful.
It's the second time we come to this place and will certainly come again !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugray75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I absolutely recommend this place. Prices are low and rooms are very clean and nice. Clima at night. :D
Great location! (Watch out for adresses when looking for accomodation in Malaga, cause it's a BIG City!)
It was always FULL while our staying, so book it much earlier :)
Thank You Caroline for being so helpful! You're the best!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed here for one night 1st June. Lovely old appartment block with character in the centre. Rooms are basic but clean. The lady who owns the place is very hospitable - she even showed me to the bus stop!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights and can recommend it if you are looking for a central and clean budget hostal in Malaga. Close to public transport to all destinations, quiet but in the city center, relatively close to the beach. Very clean. Very friendly and helpful owner who give great advice where to go and where not. Cafes and Bars are just in front of the door for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mucki1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

This place was fine, no frills but nothing wrong. There is not too much atmosphere, they had a school staying the day before and it is just such a place that caters to school classes (super basic, but rooms spacey enough, beds a little prickly and not too comfy but fine). The owner is very friendly and communication was fine (she says most in Spanish, but that was no big problem). It has one shared balcony with views over the city, and was good for our overnight stay in Malaga.
Location wise it is perfect, you are right in the old centre, shops, market, cafes and ruins all around the corner. Would recommend the stay if you just need a place to crash after walking around all day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Palma

Property: Hostal La Palma
Address: Calle Martinez 7, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Palma Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing