We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Central but shockingly poor service in 4 important respects!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Trebol
Ranked #3 of 32 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Clean & Central but shockingly poor service in 4 important respects!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel has some great reviews and it is a nice place to stay in terms of the location, cleanliness and price. For me it had a few big downsides and I will not be going back. Firstly the guy on reception, Edgar, was rude and unpleasant. Secondly I booked & paid for a double room but was given a small one only suitable for a single or two midgets when they discovered I was travelling alone. Thirdly at 9.30am the chambermaid unlocked my room while I was in the lobby using the WiFi, she left the door wide open even though I plainly had not checked out and my passport and packing were in full view on the bed! She, meanwhile was on another floor!
Fourthly, they refused to look after my luggage while I explored Malaga on foot even though I had checked that this was possible on the previous evening. The reception is manned 24/7 with the door locked so this should have been possible.
My recommendation is "find somewhere else to stay that takes better care of its guests".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lilypad_hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    102
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
136
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruse, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location within the city center, only 5 minutes from Malaga Cathedral.
The room was clean. The only disadvantage was that it had a really small window looking to inner courtyard.
The bathroom was also clean, a bit small shower cabin but was good for a couple of days.
The price was also excellent for low-budget travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntsonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in Trebol Hotel in Malaga in early October for one night, and it is clean and affordable. The best is that it is close to most of the historical sites in the old city within walking distance. We liked it and will go back if we will be back to the city in the future.

Cementchef

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cementchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here twice now and paid about £35 for a one night stay without breakfast. If I was staying in Malaga for more than say 3 days I would perhaps want somewhere with larger rooms. However for a short stay over for perhaps a long weekend (mine was a pre flight stay next day) - it's perfect.
The rooms, whilst on the small side, have everything a traveller needs - even fre wi-fi. The rooms look like they have just been built - they are so clean too!
Location wise you are smack bang in the heart of the tourist part of the city - but at teh same tiem the room is very quiet indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rialto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent budget option... Very well located in the old town so within walking distance to a beautiful district of Malaga including the Picasso Museum and Alcazaba... Nice and clean. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This little hotel was a little difficult to find because the hotel next door was undergoing construction and blocked their sign and since it hadn't been open that long a lot of people didn't know about it. It was very nice, the A/C worked great and although the room was small all we did there was sleep. My room was very very quiet since it faced the inside patio so it didn't have a nice little balcony but that ended up being a good thing since Spain won a soccer game and the people were out partying all night long and my friend who's room did face the street slept very little.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilia1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pros:
-Very friendly and helpful staff. Gave us a room with balcony as we requested.
-Fast & free internet connection.
-Extremely good location. cannot over exaggerate this. It is in the city centre/shopping district. We hardly had to use public transport. Shopping 2 mins walk. Beach 20 mins walk. Alcazba/Picasso museum 10-15 mins walk.

Cons:
Very small rooms and bathroom.
LAN connection and not WiFi. So you will be able to use it only on your laptops and not phones/ tablets.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IshanShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Property: Hotel Trebol
Address: Calle Moreno Carbonero 3, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Trebol 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trebol Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing