We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better second time!”
Review of Tapeo de Cervantes

Tapeo de Cervantes
Ranked #7 of 2,013 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Schedule:18:00 to 24:00 Closed on Mondays. Horarios:18:00 a 24.00 Cerrado los lunes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Even better second time!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went back the next day and enjoyed medias raciones of some of the best of the tapas we'd had the first time - and enjoyed it even more! As well as the superb food, the local red wine is very good value, and the the friendly service and the great atmosphere made for a memorable evening. Go early (opens 7.30pm) and the very small room quickly fills up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,298
    484
    137
    65
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best tapas in Andalucia”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Truly the best tapas I had on my 9 day trip in Andalucia!! It's a mix of modern and traditional tapas - I suggest trying as many as you can. I particularly liked the fish and prawn tapas, but everything I tried was delicious!
The restaurant is very small, traditional looking with lovely atmosphere and situated on a quiet street away from the touristy restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Devices and desires.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We searched Tripadvisor and we fetched up at Tapeo de Cervantes #1restaurant in Malaga according to the reviews. We arrived at 7.29 without booking and the steel doors were only just being opened. There were two people in front of us and a small queue quickly formed behind. Luckily they took a sympathetic line and let us in, but thereafter he spent much of his time turning people away. As many others have noted, it’s tiny, in fact it resembles a rather exotic railway carriage but the atmosphere is so lively and friendly it’s impossible not to fall in love with the place! Mercifully, Gabriel speaks really good English, 'though none of the others appeared to. We ordered ten tapas on his advice as we really didn’t have a clue what things were; but later increased that to 11, and by the third dish we'd already booked a table for the next day so this review is based on two consecutive visits. The food was impeccable and without listing it all, the highlights included the deep fried prawns - not because they're so hard to do, but because the oil was fresh and unobtrusive, a small difference that made the world of difference. The slow cooked pig's cheek similarly came sliced and with the tougher connective bits removed. White beans and a touch of fresh chilli lifted the dish above the competition, which turns out the same dish across the city. Once again attention to detail made the experience. My personal favourite was a dish of grilled ceps with asparagus ( fresh from the local market) and shreds of local ham.

For hardcore afficionados of traditional tapas I imagine some of the food here would be off-piste; but we loved the daring flavour combinations. It’s hard to imagine a better introduction to tapas and, like all the best meals it made me want to cook. Loved it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a gem”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This cozy, family run restaurant was a highlight of our trip to Spain. The four of us were having a celebratory dinner, and it turned out to be a great spot for it. We let the owner/server pick our wines (4 bottles!) and our tapas, and he scored a hit with them all. Bullseye!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
279 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Cervantes is a must visit to try excellent tapas”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been to this small family restaurant many times.Due to its tripadvisor status it is even more busy.You would be wise to book a table,as the bar only holds 20 people.If you go after 10pm they can usually seat you.On our last visit too many tourists wanted photographs of the staff and this could become a problem.The apple tart to finish is recommended !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IJDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapeo de Cervantes also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Tapeo de Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing