We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place to stay before/after a flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Malaga
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK place to stay before/after a flight”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel to consider after or before a flight. We arrived to Malaga airport at 2100 hours, received our rental car and arrived to a hotel after just a 5 minute drive. OK service for a 3-star hotel, WLAN worked as promised with a good speed and the breakfast (not included in our room price but just 8 EUR/person) was comprehensive and gave us a a good start for our drive towards Seville. Not a hotel that you remember 10 years after, but good price/service ratio. Would book again for similar transfers in Malaga region.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Travel_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    151
    111
    32
    27
See reviews for
43
205
36
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have my doubts about the need of an airport hotel near Malaga, since the city itself is closeby. Do not use it if you use a taxi since you are likely to pay the airport taxi surplus twice. Once for going to the hotel in the airport area and next morning for going to the airport itself. Hard to find ? Yes indeed, since our taxidriver had to ask his base to know where it was located. Besides that i liked this hotel and its excellent service a lot .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misseghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is fairly basic, but clean and fairly spacious rooms. We would stay there again for a city break, theoretically. Staff friendly and helpful.

Only real problem is finding the place! It's only a few minutes from the airport, but in the dark of the wee small hours it took us an hour to find it! The receptionist's first comment when we got there was 'did you have problems finding us?', so it isn't just us! He also said that it is easier with SATNAV, so if you have access to this or want to hire one, it's got to be worth it - at one point we thought we would have to sleep in the car. No signage from the main road, we had to stop three times to ask the way, and even the locals weren't all aware of the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlywarlyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Hotel is on the way to the airport, on the right side, actually pretty easily accessible once you passed by. Reception was ok, good even, the room looked nice and i first didn't bother to check everything. So we started to unpack, and when i wanted to lay down my Swissnes caught up so i checked the sheets not realy expecting something...bam...plenty of hair and body hair...the bed was probably just "made" with the same sheets... i approached the sheets with my nose on a few places...mmmmhhhhh not so fresh. For proof we passed on the sheets with a sticky clothes roll (see pictures). I called reception and asked for new sheets, no maids in the evening available, so i asked for new sheets willing to change the bed myself (not wanting to pack up all our stuff again), not possible, we then had to change room...which looked and was better...tired we accepted it an moved our stuff...the check with the clothing sticky roll thing showed less hair but still some...so probably lazy maid again, or house politics ?

Anyway, at checkout the manager is there, he answers : we changed the room, you got what you paid for... i still asked for partial refund, he says i have to write, i say i'll email, he says not valid, i say yes legally valid....

At home, i write an email to the company holding the hotel and the hotel in cc....never got an answer, so here's my review and photos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstourist81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was difficult to find. Somehow you had to find a gas station and go behind it to get in. Signs were sparse. It was located near the airport and also within close proximity of a shopping center (with several restaurants and movies). The room had what it needed, beds, bathroom, etc. The couch was a bit dingy but since we were only there for one night, we didn't use it. One of the rooms had a bad smell but once we opened the windows, it seemed to be better. The staff was okay, not overly helpful but did their job. We were able to get an adjoining room as we were traveling with children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a Med cruise. One night was enough.
Although it is listed as an airport hotel, due to its location, it is a good 15-20 mins from the airport. The taxi driver we had from the airport had to ask another driver directions.
The room was clean an fairly comfortable, hence the two stars, but the air conditioning was ineffective.
There was no plug for the hand basin and if you like to use a face flannel take your own because they do not supply one.
The shower is over the bath tub and being elderly we found getting into and out of the bath tub awkward.
The charge for a buffet breakfast was 8€, it's not worth 2€. There are signs for MacDonalds and Burger King nearby but I don't know if they are walkable from the hotel, the breakfast would almost certainly have been better.
We did find the reception staff very helpful and they called a taxi for our transfer to the cruise terminal.
I would certainly look elsewhere if I ever need a hotel near Malaga Airport again but if you are on a tight budget and don't need breakfast it might be ideal for a stopover.
As a guide the taxi fares when we traveled (June 2012), were airport to hotel 15€ and from the hotel to the druise terminal 17.95€, plus tips of course.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

After booking this hotel 5 months in advance we arrived to find that they didn't have any rooms left. After a pathetic service at the front desk and a 45 minute wait we were shown to a stinking smokers room. We refused to take this and, after another 30 minutes waiting around, were shown a tiny smelly room behind reception next to the staff entrance. It was extremely noisy, matresses were a joke (creaky and super cheap) and sleeping there was almost impossible. I know its a value choice but even then, there are better options out there! The only positive I can give them is cleanliness.

Room Tip: if you must go, state clearly that you want a non smoker room if you are a non smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionessQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#41 of 90 in Malaga
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
0.7 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
4.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit Malaga
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#20 of 90 in Malaga
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#57 of 90 in Malaga
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Malaga

Property: Campanile Malaga
Address: Avenida Velazquez 212, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Malaga 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Louvre hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Malaga Hotel Malaga
Campanile Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing