We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stand, more than enough”
Review of Campanile Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Malaga
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One night stand, more than enough”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a Med cruise. One night was enough.
Although it is listed as an airport hotel, due to its location, it is a good 15-20 mins from the airport. The taxi driver we had from the airport had to ask another driver directions.
The room was clean an fairly comfortable, hence the two stars, but the air conditioning was ineffective.
There was no plug for the hand basin and if you like to use a face flannel take your own because they do not supply one.
The shower is over the bath tub and being elderly we found getting into and out of the bath tub awkward.
The charge for a buffet breakfast was 8€, it's not worth 2€. There are signs for MacDonalds and Burger King nearby but I don't know if they are walkable from the hotel, the breakfast would almost certainly have been better.
We did find the reception staff very helpful and they called a taxi for our transfer to the cruise terminal.
I would certainly look elsewhere if I ever need a hotel near Malaga Airport again but if you are on a tight budget and don't need breakfast it might be ideal for a stopover.
As a guide the taxi fares when we traveled (June 2012), were airport to hotel 15€ and from the hotel to the druise terminal 17.95€, plus tips of course.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    156
    120
    35
    29
See reviews for
47
213
36
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

After booking this hotel 5 months in advance we arrived to find that they didn't have any rooms left. After a pathetic service at the front desk and a 45 minute wait we were shown to a stinking smokers room. We refused to take this and, after another 30 minutes waiting around, were shown a tiny smelly room behind reception next to the staff entrance. It was extremely noisy, matresses were a joke (creaky and super cheap) and sleeping there was almost impossible. I know its a value choice but even then, there are better options out there! The only positive I can give them is cleanliness.

Room Tip: if you must go, state clearly that you want a non smoker room if you are a non smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionessQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hotel & Restaurant Campanile Malaga was the sour note that ended an otherwise exciting adventure to Andalucia, Gibraltar and Tangier. Besides being very difficult to find (it's in the opposite direction of any place you'd want to be on Avenida Velazquez), it's buried in an isolated, industrial sector.

My travel companion found this hotel online and it was comparable in price and location to the Holiday Inn Express. From the pictures, it certainly appeared to be a much better choice. It appeared stylish and hip with its modern decor. However, the overwhelming impression this hotel left in my memory was disgusting smell of rot and mold in its public spaces and later on, in our room.

Because we arrived late and had to immediately return our rental, we had few dining options available without the cost of an additional cab ride. The hotel was offering a "1/2 board" buffet deal, with dinner and breakfast for 17.50 Euros. Don't be fooled: this is no deal. The buffet is terribly limited and doesn't include beverages for the dinner. It was also advertised as opening at 6 am but we had to wait on staff until about 6:30 to actually get our food.

The Wi-Fi is free but only accessible in the lobby.

I cannot give this place a positive review for these reasons and I will remember to stay away from this hotel brand in other travels to the region.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn Express instead. You'll have a better overall experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you are driving this is very hard to find, however by taxi it would be a snap. Very clean, efficient, spacious, and very modern. Coffee makers in the room, with tea and coffee with a restaurant on site, which we did not use. Close to the airport however we did not find it noisy and the bus stop is not far. It does have plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a night stopover here as it was close to the airport for an early flight. We found it to be very clean and not bad for the price. Unfortunately because it was a Sunday the restaurant wasn't open so you would need to go out if you wanted a meal. The hotel doesn't t offer a shuttle service to the airport either which is a shame as taxis are quite pricey.We found the staf to be very pleasant and spoke English. It is obviously a fairly new hotel and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I booked the Campanile based on good reviews, as we were looking for somewhere close to the airport for a one night stop over. We booked this based on its location on the map (although, unwisely, we ignored comment which said it was hard to get to).
We arrived at the airport late (1030pm) and were advised by the information desk we couldn't walk because you had to cross a free way. We decided to get a taxi, but found out the minimum fare was 19Euros! Considering that was almost the same price as the room, we decided to get the bus. This didn't arrive for another 1.5 hours (but I refuse to pay 19euros for a 1k journey). The bus stop is only a short walk, but all in all, it was not quite as convenient as it should be. Ideally the hotel should offer a (cheap shuttle).

Travel issues aside, the hotel, was ok. Pretty basic and soulless, but clean, with a big bathroom and a decent bed. Only complaints were that the breakfast was quite expensive, and there were no English language TV channels.

If you have a car, I would recommend for somewhere cheap to get your head down. If not, I would just pay the cab fare to stay somewhere of a similar price (and with more character) in central Malaga

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Wonderful staff. Good basic hotel for the price- Good to use bus system from airport- much cheaper than a taxi if you are willing to cross the pedway and backtrack a bit- worth it we found. Hotel nearly makes it but there is a bad smell which was helped by opening the window- then you can hear the traffic noise. This is a useful stop if you are passing through Malaga and need a reassonably priced hotel. If they could fix the smell it would get a higher rating from me

Room Tip: try and get a room on the side away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 87 in Malaga
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
0.7 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
6.8 mi away
Hotel Humaina
Hotel Humaina
#61 of 87 in Malaga
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Malaga

Property: Campanile Malaga
Address: Avenida Velazquez 212, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Malaga 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Campanile Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Malaga Hotel Malaga
Campanile Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing