We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood!”
Review of El Caleno

El Caleno
Ranked #385 of 2,709 Restaurants in Malaga
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Had a real nice meal tonight with friends. Starter i had the coquilles and as a main course the red gamba’s. It was good.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank pvdelst1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely great place with super fresh fish, cooked in front of you the andalucian way "espeto". Got great advice from The very kind waitress and we enjoyed it through and through. Sardines and squid cooked on the espeto, octopus a la gallega, fried small fish. And then finish with a local digestive based on orojo ( no idea what it is but delicious!)
We will come back!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Franco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

While spending a few days in Malaga, we decided to spent a good part of our Sunday at one of the Chiringuitos just outside Malaga. El Caleno is located about 5,5 kms east of Malaga town. We decided to walk to enjoy the views on the way. Well worth it! We had a wonderful lunch with fresh seafood and a good bottle of white wine. What else does one need on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Good Service. Make sure to reserve in advance or have hotel make reservation. Tables are continuously occupied!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Biancofreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Our first port of call on visiting Malaga Town is to go to El Caleno with our Spanish friends. This quietly stated family restaurant is virtually on the beach at Pedregalejo (10 minutes drive from the Town Centre) and serves the finest fresh fish I have eaten anywhere.
Difficult to recommend a specific dish as it is all top quality, however we enjoy Concha Fina ,in between a Scallop and an Oyster , local to these waters.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Caleno also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Caleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing