We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of La Casa Mata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa Mata
Ranked #28 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good things: Very well located 5 minutes walk to the center, good price, advantage of a equipped kitchen for all the rooms where you can have tea/coffee free.
Bad things: Don't go there extra season as there isn't any heating device. Small room, basically equiped, extremely noisy. Nobody at reception between 7 p.m. and 11 p.m.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    28
    12
    14
See reviews for
6
66
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the hostel for one night and I have never slept worse...the bed was tiny - the room was cold and damp - the shower room was tiny, impossible to take a shower without bumping your head or knee but the worst of all was, THE NOISE! We were given the room next to reception and there was so much noise! Noise from reception who stayed open until 11.00 pm and was speaking loudly to everyone coming in even though he knew we were in bed, noise from people coming in from a night out a noise from the street! We literally did not get ANY sleep...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flipke19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hostel is perfect for holiday-makers looking for a low-budget, but high-quality experience. Very easy to get to, it fulfilled everything we needed for our short break. From the minute we arrived, the staff were friendly and polite, and recommended some fabulous places to eat that were not too 'touristy', which made for a fabulous experience. Whatever questions we had, they were happy to answer, and though my partner was able to talk to them in perfect Spanish, they made the effort to talk to me in English since I'm not as linguistically gifted! The room itself was spacious, and the en-suite was more than we had expected! Free wifi was a good bonus, too, as was the fan provided for us in the bedroom. There was some unexpected noise on our first morning there - music at 6am! - but this was the fault of other guests, not the hostel itself. The hostel is well located, and a very good choice for people who want something cheap, but not lacking in quality. A thoroughly enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Awesome hostel.
Massimo greeted us on arrival and checked us in and gave us a map and ran us through all the sights and the beaches! Also helped us book bus tickets and recommended a great place for tapas! Was very happy and helpful man.
Very clean. Had a safety deposit box in the room. was a very hot night and only had a fan- this was the only downfall =)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobeball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for one night in June. We had an early flight the next morning and did not worry too much about the hotel.

Good: Air conditioning in rooms. This is untypical for a hostel and yes, you did have to empty the water but it lasted us about six hours at night and kept the room cool. Free wifi was also nice and the front staff was helpful and arranged us a taxi for our early flight. Safe in all rooms to store your valuables.

Not so good: Shared bathroom was decent but a decent way from the room. Also, the hotel is "centrally located" but is a pretty long walk from the beach where we liked to spend most of our time. Also, I did not notice an elevator but I may be mistaken. This could be an issue if you have a large bag.

All in all, not a bad choice for a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottieWP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The room was fine, with trezor, own PIN code. Shared bathroom was not that nice, but I didnt care. Free wifi, desktop downstairs. Kitchen, free breakfast-very simple, but ok. Ive met very nice people there. Location was fine, few min from old city

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

First of all - NOTHING like it looks in the pictures!! It's a backpackers hostel, so of course you have to have certain expectations when you stay there, but this place is WAAAAAYYYYY over-priced for what you get.

Also, they have so many people passing through that the staff really don't seem to give two hoots about you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Casa Al Sur
#19 of 145 in Malaga
150 reviews
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#22 of 145 in Malaga
85 reviews
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#33 of 145 in Malaga
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinitas Urban Hostel
#23 of 145 in Malaga
80 reviews
Centro
Picnic Dreams Boutique Hostel
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#4 of 145 in Malaga
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Mata

Property: La Casa Mata
Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 8 | Malaga center, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Mata 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "La Casa Mata", a new concept of low-cost pension in Malaga. It is a safe, warm and clean place in a wonderful location, right in the historic centre of Malaga. You can socialize with the other guests or just relax in the common areas within the house that are a fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a lounge with TV and DVD player and a sunny patio. It is a perfect option for modern people that wants to stay in private or shared rooms, but enjoy the common areas advantages as the 24 hours computer with internet access and WIFI.La Casa Mata is close to both train and bus stations at about 15 minutes walk. It is at a stone throw from all the sites of cultural interest such as Picasso museum, the cathedral, Alcazaba castle as well as all the best clubs in town for your wild nights out. Malagueta beach is at 10 minutes walk to enjoy the amazing sunny days of ´La Costa del Sol´. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your La Casa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Mata Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing