We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun.”
Review of La Casa Mata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa Mata
Ranked #32 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hostel is perfect for holiday-makers looking for a low-budget, but high-quality experience. Very easy to get to, it fulfilled everything we needed for our short break. From the minute we arrived, the staff were friendly and polite, and recommended some fabulous places to eat that were not too 'touristy', which made for a fabulous experience. Whatever questions we had, they were happy to answer, and though my partner was able to talk to them in perfect Spanish, they made the effort to talk to me in English since I'm not as linguistically gifted! The room itself was spacious, and the en-suite was more than we had expected! Free wifi was a good bonus, too, as was the fan provided for us in the bedroom. There was some unexpected noise on our first morning there - music at 6am! - but this was the fault of other guests, not the hostel itself. The hostel is well located, and a very good choice for people who want something cheap, but not lacking in quality. A thoroughly enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Awesome hostel.
Massimo greeted us on arrival and checked us in and gave us a map and ran us through all the sights and the beaches! Also helped us book bus tickets and recommended a great place for tapas! Was very happy and helpful man.
Very clean. Had a safety deposit box in the room. was a very hot night and only had a fan- this was the only downfall =)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobeball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for one night in June. We had an early flight the next morning and did not worry too much about the hotel.

Good: Air conditioning in rooms. This is untypical for a hostel and yes, you did have to empty the water but it lasted us about six hours at night and kept the room cool. Free wifi was also nice and the front staff was helpful and arranged us a taxi for our early flight. Safe in all rooms to store your valuables.

Not so good: Shared bathroom was decent but a decent way from the room. Also, the hotel is "centrally located" but is a pretty long walk from the beach where we liked to spend most of our time. Also, I did not notice an elevator but I may be mistaken. This could be an issue if you have a large bag.

All in all, not a bad choice for a hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottieWP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The room was fine, with trezor, own PIN code. Shared bathroom was not that nice, but I didnt care. Free wifi, desktop downstairs. Kitchen, free breakfast-very simple, but ok. Ive met very nice people there. Location was fine, few min from old city

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

First of all - NOTHING like it looks in the pictures!! It's a backpackers hostel, so of course you have to have certain expectations when you stay there, but this place is WAAAAAYYYYY over-priced for what you get.

Also, they have so many people passing through that the staff really don't seem to give two hoots about you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our ship was delayed to Spain from Morocco and we arrived at our hotel about 23:30. We politely apologised and tried to explain to the owner why we were so late when he rudely interrupted and said, 'I dont care!'

When I confronted him about what he had just said, he made as if he didnt know what I was talking about it. It seemed as if he was drinking and was clearly in another state of mind.

What more can I say?

The shower was terribly small and no breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

La Casa Mata is situated in what looks like an old house in a quiet street not too far away from the historic district. Upon arrival you are given your room key and a key for the front door which you can use any time of day or night. This in my opinion gives it a 'home' feel. There is a communal bathroom and kitchen and although it was quiet when I was there, it is very likely that the place livens up during summer months. It is probably a hotel more suited to backpackers and young people. Within 5 mins walking distance are shops, historic sights and a wide selection of restaurants and bars. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#25 of 151 in Malaga
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#38 of 151 in Malaga
104 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Mata

Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 8 | Malaga center, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: $35 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa Mata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "La Casa Mata", a new concept of low-cost pension in Malaga. It is a safe, warm and clean place in a wonderful location, right in the historic centre of Malaga. You can socialize with the other guests or just relax in the common areas within the house that are a fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a lounge with TV and DVD player and a sunny patio. It is a perfect option for modern people that wants to stay in private or shared rooms, but enjoy the common areas advantages as the 24 hours computer with internet access and WIFI.La Casa Mata is close to both train and bus stations at about 15 minutes walk. It is at a stone throw from all the sites of cultural interest such as Picasso museum, the cathedral, Alcazaba castle as well as all the best clubs in town for your wild nights out. Malagueta beach is at 10 minutes walk to enjoy the amazing sunny days of ´La Costa del Sol´. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Mata Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing