We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“taxis from airport are a ripoff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“taxis from airport are a ripoff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

We arrived at Malaga airport after missing our flight back to Britain (our fault) asked at the airport for local hotels and was given information by their helpful staff. Went to Taxi rank just outside the exit door. We were told that the taxi would cost 30 euros as there was 5 of us (albeit 1 x 5months old) We heard that the Hotel was only a short stroll from the airport so asked directions (again from the helpful staff who stated "not safe") they were right judging by the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were told to get the number 19 bus! which we did, not bad 1.20 euros each, we waited for 10 mins and it was on time! We asked the bus driver to put us off at the Holiday Inn, and he said he would. However, he "got chatting" to a colleague and "forgot us". After a while my son went to the driver and asked him if we were far from the Holiday Inn," ooooohhhh he had forgotten us and we were miles away". He pointed us to another hotel in the main city centre, pointed us to another hotel "down the road" and said it was a fabulous hotel, took his word and off we got!!! Big mistake, it was shut and no other hotels available! Thanks bus driver! Waved down a taxi and was told they would take us all for 15 euros. What else could we do we were shattered and it was late now. So we got in. Arrived at the hotel, though, so hard to find!!! However, the hotel itself was clean, once you found it, food ok and the rooms immaculate. nice staff. We would stay there again now that we know where it is. But DONT be ripped off by the transfer from airport to hotel. It is a shame that this nice hotel is losing out because of Rip-Off taxis/buses

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friendsofthealikies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    422
    393
    107
    60
See reviews for
310
431
70
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed at the hotel because we had an early morning flight. The check-in was easy and the receptionist who served us was excellent. The bedroom was very clean with pleasant decor. Good size bathroom. The TV is located off centre to the bed which was a bit strange as you couldn't watch it whilst lying on the bed. The restaurant was adequate but like alot of places in Spain - doesn't understand Vegetarianism. Afterwards we found a much better room service menu with greater variety. Breakfast is continental buffet and sufficient. The downside as mentioned in other reviews is that it is so difficult to find. You can see the hotel but can't see how to get to it. Tip - pull off right as if you were going into the TAMOIL petrol station, carry on through the petrol station along a bumpy road and you will get to the hotel. Even though it is only a 5 minute maximum ride to the airport it cost us 15 euros!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzieExplorerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Good Points:
Very good price on Roomex (40e including breakfast).
Very close to airport, but see below on bad points
New hotel, clean comfortable room. Bathrooms include a bath, but, strangely, you have to ask for a bath plug, as they are kept behind the reception desk.
Comfortable beds.
Basic breakfast, includes ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereal, fruit and good coffee.
Bus stop into town just outside hotel. Cost 1.25 euros

Bad points:
Yes, the hotel is impossible to find in a car.
Agree with previous reviewer about misleading information on the website about the bus. Coming from the airport, the bus stops on the far side of the main road and it is necessary to use a foot bridge.
Although the hotel is only 1 km from airport, the cost of a taxi is 20 euros.
Due to the one-way system, the driving route from the airport to the hotel is very bizarre and confusing. However, it is easy to get to the airport from the hotel, in fact, as pointed out by other reviewers, it can be walked if only hand luggage.
Hotel is in a sort of inhospitable 'no man's land' with only a petrol station and enormous Makro cash and carry for company.

The hotel is only useful as an arrival or departure point for the airport and, as such, now I know the set up, I would use it again.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank irishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, since we had an early flight to catch.
one of the worst things about this hotel was that it was impossible to find it! We rented a car for our trip, and were driving for 1 hour before finally finding it. It is close t othe airport if you have a car, and you stay at the hotel BEFORE your flight. Driving FROM the airport t othe hotel must be a nightmare as its on the other side of the highway, hidden somewhere.
the staff at the hotel was average, not friendly, just indifferent. The room we got was not bad, however we cou;dn't watch the TV from the bed (trust me, there is nothing else to do in that area). The TV was glued to the wall, and wasn't possible to rotate it. It dodn't face the bed, it faced an old couch that we had in our room. We had to move the bed ourselves so we could watch something.
The bathroom was probably the only part that was fine.
Another problem we had was breakfast. Since our flight was too early and we had to leave around 6am, we asked for a couple of packed sandwiches (at least thats how they do it in big hotels elsewhere). The staff said that they don't do that. On top, when we did our check-out, there was noone at the reception, so we just left the key and left.
Definitely not coming back to this hotel, and woudn't reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alinochka20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Granada, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel states on their website that bus number 19 (coming from Malaga Airport) stops 100 meters from the hotel gatel and is a two minute walk. What they dont tell you is that it is NOT 100 meters and it is NOT a two minute walk and that it is the SCARIEST, DARKEST, most HORRIBLE up-hill walk of your life. I have traveled all over the world and this by far was the most scared I have ever been. The streets are dark and like a maze which makes it a HORRIFYING walk with luggage. I would NOT recommend this to ANYONE that values their life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank spaintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

The front desk staff (in particular Julya) was very accomodating (we checked in early) and professional. The room was clean, the breakfast very good and it is less than 1 km from the airport. It was easy to find with a GPS. Note that the parking is free and there are security cameras around the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay near the Malaga airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekidfromcagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

This hotel is very close to the airport (you can even walk if you dont have much luggage), but it is very hard to find the entrance to if you are travelling from Malaga town centre. The entrance is off a very busy road, we missed the entrance and had to double back.

Having said that the hotel was fine, and reasonably-priced. There isn't much to do around the local area, and you would probably need a car if you plan to use it as your base.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnFarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Campanile Malaga
#50 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#40 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#29 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing