We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely nights stay, shame about the taxi rip-off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely nights stay, shame about the taxi rip-off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

first the gripe, you will have to pay 19€ for a two minute ride from the airport, You could walk or take a bus but at 10:30 pm we just wanted to get in, eat and relax.
Checked in quickly and our room was comfy and beds were good.
Food served until midnight, usual fare, chicken, burgers, salad etc. Did the job and not too pricy.
Breakfast was a bit manic, self service continental, and a queue for the toaster.
Overall would recommend for a stopover and was pleasantly surprised after reading previous reviews.
Pity about the taxi sham.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SandybabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    422
    394
    107
    60
See reviews for
310
431
70
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hard to find, is on the same side of the airport on avenida velazquez,.More difficult at night.
But Breakfast is good , and the internet is free if you are reward member, so be free reward member before you check in , you can do online on hotel page .if not you should pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear gabriel b,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you liked our breakfast options. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel was difficult to find and for the inconvenience this cause you. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Family room shoe box. Mini double bed and fold down mini couch.
Family of five from hotel to airport early morning ryan air flight. Taxi company used would not take more than 4 people so our journey of five mins using 2 taxis cost us 19 euros per taxi.
Total 38 euros
Hotel quoted 15 euros
Cheaper to book into a 5 star and get complimentary taxis OR book more accessible flights. DONT get caught like we did
Rip off malaga
Never again those people kill tourism

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank dcn29986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear dcn29986,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We're sorry to hear you were not well satisfied with your over-all stay with us. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional information. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have stayed there a few times when arriving on late flight. Though slightly tricky first time you can easily walk from the airport (about 15 min, though consider your luggage). There is a shortcut walk from under the bridge, which your expensive taxi will also take. It is safe as long as you take some basic care. From the airport terminal, walk towards the Avenida velasques (bear right all the way, basically).
As you hit the main road, cross to the far far end side, near the roundabout, and there will be a parallell road which is where all car hire shops are (this is not the main avenue, so I find easier to cross then Oxford Street or Champs Elysees, although these have traffic lights). Just walk right all the way, (make sure the car hire shops are on your left and San Miguel factory is on your right, accross the road, and you're on the right track), turning left as the road turns. The road will end and to the right you will see a path going under the bridge. Take this (very short) path, crossing under and the hotel is immediatelly to your left.
The hotel is pretty basic, the breakfast is pretty average, but, if you want a good night sleep & stress free transfer, then it does the job. Its clean and surprisingly quiet. This is why I have happily returned. If however you expect to have a nice holiday there, then you're mad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnjAng715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear AnjAng715,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased to note that you found the beds to be comfortable.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the challenges you have encountered. We deeply regret that this aspect have negatively impacted your overall impression of our hotel, nevertheless, I am glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration for future improvements where possible. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived late at Malaga airport and thought we stay close to the airport so we can just go to bed, get up early and start our holiday in good spirits. Well I rather would have slept on the beach. The hotel was stuffy, smelly and the beds awfully cheap and uncomfortable. They really take advantage of the people arriving at the airport late or needing to leave early and needing a place to stay. It was also loud with the planes....and it took a "long" taxi drive to get there! There are way better places to stay at, cheaper and as close and beautifully located like the Zen hotel in Torremolinos and the ranchos des Ingles....really nice! All and all I say: find something nice to start your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Rose T,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Malaga.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have chosen this hotel because of our very early morning flight home. The hotel is very modern, brandly new, nice. We came by taxi from the city center here - only 10 EUR fee and cca 15-20 min drive. How surprising was the taxi fee from the hotel to the airport terminal - 18 EUR and only 2 min drive.... I suggest not to take this hotel before your flight, it is more expensive than the hotels in city center and the taxi fee is terrible. And there is no opportunity to walk to the terminal, as the hotel is situated at the highway....We also have asked in written and some weeks before our stay for the early breakfast, but the answer at our arrival was that they don t provide it, although we could smell the nice fresh pastries before leaving the hotel, so it should have been prepared somewhere close to the reception. Strange strict hotel policy....
I will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear AndySo,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived into malaga airport at ten so had booked a room a few weeks before.
The hotel is fine in fact for the money it's great and breakfast was fine also.
My only complaint is the lack of airport shuttle buses to and from the hotel this is a disgrace.
It must be something to do with the taxi service who's minimum price is €18 for a 800 mt cab ride.
It's like some Mafia organisation stopping all hotels from running a shuttle service.
I would expect this type of rip off in an underdeveloped country where you are on the look out the second you set foot off the plane but not in spain for God sake. There is nothing more infuriating the getting ripped off and the powers that be turn a blind eye.
If I'm wrong I would love somebody to correct me a explain why no hotels run shuttle buses to and from hotels in malaga city or near the airport anyway.

Room Tip: Save the twenty euro cab fare for the don't blink or you will miss it ride and I mean RIDE becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Campanile Malaga
#51 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#40 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#27 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing