We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stop before a 6am flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Last night of vacation and an early wake up to the flight ? This could be the best choice. Staff is friendly and the taxi is there in five minutes from their call. Taxi to airport (three pieces of luggage and night rate) is 18€ but still better than walking.
If just a half day to spend before flight I recommend taxi to Plaza Mayor (or train if in airport already) rather than busy centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jokumatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel itself served the purpose well. I made the reservation couple of months before and everything worked smoothly. Personally spoke spanish but the staff speaks good english also. There is a restaurant in the lobby that was still serving food when we arrived approx. 10p.m. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a highway quite close but it did not disturb us.
The hotel is quite close to the airport, but it is difficult to find the way there. Even the local taxidriver drove the wrong way first. It is only couple of minutes drive from airport, but it is quite expensive because the starting fee is 19 euros from the airport. The driver charged only this 19 euros for the whole trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We arrived in Malaga quite late, and this was one of the only places we could get to. However, it was immensely difficult trying to walk there. It was literally impossible, so we, and another couple, walked back to the airport to get a taxi which cost €18 for a journey of around 2 minutes. Once there, we were quickly checked in, but when we tried to order food, we were rudely told the service was closed. The room and facilities, however, were good, and breakfast wasn't too terrible. I would avoid staying here next time though, unless I really had to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Henry L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted to know that you liked our facility especially our rooms. However, it is regrettable to learn about your experience with getting to our hotel and with the level of service you received from our hotel staff. Rest assured that your comments have been taken into serious account as we continue to find ways on how we can provide great services to our valued guests.

While I understand that your recent stay was not 100% satisfactory, I hope you give us another chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

this was a great place to stop for flights, but the prices have gone up to much now and the food quality has come down....the ibis 2 mins away is serving a better deal and service, come on holiday inn pull your finger out your loosing customers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear t w,

Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay with us. As hospitality professionals, it is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We always make sure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area.

We do appreciate your comments as this helps us identify areas which can continually be improved. We hope you would consider staying with us again for a completely satisfying hotel stay experience.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

No service, paid wifi, expensive rooms and even if you are at 1km to airport you have to pay 15euros fixed price for a taxi.
Take an hotel a bit further, check with them the cab price but at 4 km away from airport it seems to be 10 euros.
Don t pick this one if you re looking for a good mood hotel, they are helpless and they are careless too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear davasq,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you have encountered, particularly with the level of service you received. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

At £50 for the room and breakfast, its a bargain. It's a basic, functional hotel with clean, quiet and fairly comfortable rooms, great for a nights stay whilst travelling but don't expect 5* luxury. Continental breakfast was OK, if a little busy. Staff were friendly and helpful.

It might be the closest to the airport but its not close enough...walking from the airport would be a pain, the bus drops you on the other side of a motorway with a bit of a trek in the wrong direction to cross via a bridge, and the taxi costs 20 Euros to cover a couple of kms-when you've been travelling and all you want to do is get there this hotel disappoints (we paid for a taxi). That said, it was very handy for the car hire offices of which there are many close by, and at £50 a night, the price made up for its failings.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Shaun D,

Thank you for your feedback. It makes us happy to know we were able to provide clean, comfortable, and friendly service during your stay here. On the other hand, it seems that the location of our hotel was a let down in relation to its distance from the airport. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here as a reasonable price. No wifi which was disappointing. Very clean and fresh inside. Nice bedrooms. Food terrible and breakfast can only be described as a disaster. They do serve the biggest gin and tonics ever however. I'd stay there again just for those!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jackovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Jackovsky,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While I am pleased that you liked your room accommodation, it is regrettable that the breakfast we served did not live up to your expectations. Your satisfaction is of utmost concern to us as we always strive to make your experience a great one. I have noted your feedback and taken them into account towards the improvement of our services.

While I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, I hope you give us another chance to give you the best hotel experience that we could give.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.8 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#56 of 89 in Malaga
423 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#45 of 89 in Malaga
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#20 of 89 in Malaga
293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#52 of 89 in Malaga
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: $64 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing