We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Near the Makro"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
2 reviews
“"Near the Makro"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having had the day from hell yesterday in the worst weather Malaga has seen for a while, and having driven for 6 hours from Portugal only to have the rental car blow up just 30 kms from Malaga, the day only got worse when, in a new rental car, it took me at least an hour to find the hotel. If the directions I was given by Avis had said that I should look out for Toys R Us and the Makro it would have helped enormously. As it was, the Holiday Inn Express illuminated sign on the building was not working (due to the rain they told me!) and I did in fact drive past the building (which is set quite well back off the main road in a commercial area) at least 4 times before stopping at a Repsol petrol station and asking for help. Taxi drivers were on strike yesterday, by the way. Once in the hotel the service was very good and this morning it took me 2 minutes to drive to the Airport Terminal. There is no noise of planes landing once inside the hotel so sleep is not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JELK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear JELK39,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are truly sorry to hear of your difficulties driving to the hotel. We are delighted to read that after this initial issue, it was soon sorted and allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    422
    392
    107
    60
See reviews for
310
430
70
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is not the place you would like to spend two weeks of holiday, but it is clean, efficient, very friendly personnel, nice breakfast, very close to the airport (walking distance, actually, if you can find your way, and it will save you the price of a taxi, a whopping 15 euros).
If you rent a car from the neighbour, http://www.delpasocarhire.com, there is a free shuttle to and from the airport

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesperbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We drove 1and a half hours from Cordoba to Malaga. . . easy. . . then 1 hour in Malaga looking for the hotel. In and out of the Malaga airport three times, into Malaga, along the main street, Avenida de Velasquez. The trick is to head along this main road towards the airport on your right hand side and turn into what looks like a used car sale yard BEFORE the overhead bridge and BEFORE the airport. It is very close to the airport but if you are coming fromthe airport you must go away from the hotel area and then do a u-turn to come back, go trough the roundabout and head back towards the airport. It is nowhere near the high rise glitch and glamour of the seafront at Malaga. You don't book here for the view! A very quiet location despite being near the airport. The staff at Reception were extremely apologetic about the difficulty of finding the hotel, something to do with the fact that there could be no high signs because of the airport. . . but signs at street level along the Avenida would certainly be a great help to tired travellers driving themselves. Despite the hassle involved in finding the hotel it was very comfortable and not overly expensive. Once you know exactly where you are the drive into Malaga itself is not far.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LITTLEWHISKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel has a warm and welcoming feel to it when you walk in. The attendants at the front desk are helpful and friendly, and although the breakfast was simple, the cuisants were fresh. We appreciated that there was a breakfast provided for very early morning travelers. On the negative side - our non-smoking room smelled of smoke, the place was quite difficult to find since the outside signs were faded, and as many reviewers have pointed out, it is difficult to get to the airport unless you have a car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear 100Paige,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback about your stay. I truly regret that the room you were given was not completely at par with your liking. I appreciate you letting us know about this as this is our best means of improving what we can offer. Despite this, it is good to know that you found our staff to be friendly.

Again, we thank you for your review and apologize for any shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We used this hotel for the one night after arriving at Malaga Airport in the evening. It turned out to be the best location for us as our car hire company, Delpaso, were located right next door. Room was as expected for airport hotel, small and compact, but clean and beds comfy. Staff on reception both on arrival and check out were polite and efficient. Breakfast was ok. No real reason to complain. Can understand previous comments about how difficult it was to find although close to airport. We were lucky in being driven there by the car hire shuttle bus and the driver used the short cut off the roundabout to into the area for the hotel car hire office. Otherwise you have to drive up the dual carriageway and back down to access hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear laura1503,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your recent stay. It is nice to know that overall you had a commendable stay and you found our rooms to be comfortable and staff accommodating.

Please see us soon if your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 nights after a late evening flight from the UK. Difficult to find if driving yourself as you have to go into Malaga before doing U turn and then back towards the airport. Rooms were good , nice bed and bathroom. Breakfast was free for all, given that we arrived at the same time as a coach party were having there breakfast prior to their departure. Overall , value for money and a good nights sleep in a basic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to find the hotel.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We are pleased you did find your room and bed commendable.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Located just 20 minutes from the city and very close to bus stop. you can reach the hotel easily in less than 10 minutes, ifyou alight from airport, through airport shuttle -line A. Dont forget to reimburse the ticket amount of 3 euro by exchanging the ticket in the front office.
Positives -Hotel is very good, neatly maintained, very comfortable for the couple and family. Has all the qualities and trademark of Holiday inn. Decent breakfast. Warm reception. Decent bedding. considering the cost of stay with free breakfast, i am sure this is best bet.
Negatives - No cooler or Air conditioner in the room. Though i noticed few have commented about this already, looks like hotel management intentionally dont want to spend money in this. Wondering the stay will be horrible in summer, if AC doesnt work. i was expecting some more items in breakfast. coffee was horrible.
I have been in holiday inn in other countries -US and singapore. i am usually amazed by the breakfast items, bedding, toilet items provided, quality of the reception. holiday inn-malaga falls short when i compare with other holiday inns. But i should be reasonable in my comment- holiday inn-malaga is the cheapest. i can tick this hotel for all the basic comfort - they cannot run business if they provide all the luxury i mentioned above for this cost.
Overall, i am happy with the stay!!. would recommend for everyone

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyaChinnasamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Campanile Malaga
#51 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#40 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#25 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing