We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the worst run Holiday Inn in the world?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst run Holiday Inn in the world?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have to be fair here, most of the hotel is good. The problem is that they include breakfast with the room rates, but only have enough seating / plates / cutlery for about 30 people. Consequently, when the hotel is busy, breakfast is like a scene from a Hollywood disaster movie. After a few failed attempts to get something to eat or drink, we gave up and decided to check out. Trying to check out at breakfast time is difficult because all the poor staff seem dedicated to trying to feed 200 people with facilities for a fraction of that number. They could easily solve the problem by not promising breakfast to everyone. The rates were reasonable, and I'd have been happy to pay the same amount for room only. Why promise things you can't possibly deliver?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Dan O,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.


Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    422
    393
    107
    60
See reviews for
310
431
70
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The rooms were basic and clean. The location leaves a lot to be desired, it is on the side of a motorway. From the airport my boyfriend and I took a taxi to the hotel and due to the location on the side of the motorway it is awkward to get to. We got charged €20 for a 5minute journey. Be careful when picking up taxis from the airport and agree a price before! Another way of getting there is by taking a bus from the airport to the coach station and staying on it whilst it makes it's way back to the hotel as it passes it on the way. Beware though it is very hard to spot so ask the driver to let you know when to get off.
The breakfast was ok at the hotel. It is certainly only a place to stay for one night for it's location near to the airport. Other than that it is very expensive for what it is and awkward to travel around from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear MeltemT557,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding rates and taxi services. We will look into this. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nothing exceptional about the hotel. We and our 3 yrs old son used it for one night.
Comfortable and clean but anonymous "general" hotel.

We staid in room 333. Good standard room.

For our experience the only less positive side was the breakfast area which is too small and get crowded easily. Normal continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everywhere_everyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We flew into Malaga Airport to start our vacation. We arrived late at night and decided that the best course of action was to stay at the Holiday Inn at the Airport. The price we were qouted on line was 54 Euros, which was an outstanding deal. Upon arrival it is best to take a taxi to the hotel. As matter of fact you should not try to find it yourself. The cost of a taxi into Malaga is fixed at 19 Euros. Our drive was only five minutes, but without it we would never have found the Holiday Inn. The moral of the story is absolutely take the taxi, unless you want to get lost. The good news is that a bus to the airport stops near the hotel in the morning and it only costs 3 Euros. Breakfast was good, but not outstanding. All in all I would stay there again.
The hotel was very clean, the rooms nice and the staff were very helpful giving us advice to get to Marbella. The bus leaves from the Airport (check times) . You can buy a ticket on the bus. The cost is 8 Euros and the trip takes less than 1 Hour. We took a taxi from the bus station to our Hotel downtown. The cost was around 8 Euros as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was close to the airport with free parking which were it's best features.
It took forever to find as the GPS thinks its on the opposite side of a divided road. A service station attendant finally drew us a map to find it and hour later than it should have taken. The rooms were basic. Clean, good bedding, hot shower. The breakfast included was awful. Canteen atmosphere and canteen food. We drove on and found food elsewhere. As an airport hotel for one night... it was fine.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tuttsy,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our property and the free parking. My apologies for your disappointment with the breakfast and service you received. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was my second stay at this hotel so I knew what to expect and especially how to get there since it's still not very well indicated. Two years after my first trip there my GPS still couldn't find it, but now I knew where to look so no problem but I was curious to see if it was better indicated... well, it wasn't at all; still no sign for the Holiday Inn, their sign on the building isn't very visible from the main road, so I think people may still have problems reaching it. The great improvement was that they asphalted the entryway between the hotel and the gas station next door, so it's a little easier to see how to get to the hotel once you have it in sight. For people arriving from Malaga, after the Burger King on your right, go under the overpass, there will be a sign for a gas station on the right, follow that sign, right after the ToysRUs exit towards the gas station and stay to the right without accessing the station and continue straight, you will then get to the hotel right after the gas station (beware of cars leaving the station). Btw, you can only access the hotel from this direction on av. Velazquez, if you arrive from the airport you will have to do a little detour towards Malaga to change directions first.
The hotel is very convenient to the airport, but a good 15-20 minute drive to downtown Malaga, but if exploring the area by car, it's an ok place to stay since it's near the main highways.
The check-in process is efficient and the staff is good (although I was under the impression that with my platinum membership I'm entitled to a room upgrade but they never mentioned that). The halls seem a little worn-out since my last stay with dirty or damp looking carpets all over the floor. The room was rather large for Spanish standards and quite comfortable (I just wish there were minifridges in the rooms), great bed. I was hoping that in the last 2 years they would have found a way to change the orientation of the tv which doesn't face the bed so a little uncomfortable to watch. Also the 7 or 8 local channels that they offer is a little limited considering I had just stayed at a Tryp hotel in Cordoba for less money and they had 30 channels in 4 languages so it can't be that expensive for them to add a few more. The bathroom was very good as it usually is in Holiday Inn Expresses. The room was very quiet for a hotel adjacent to the airport. The breakfast was very good for your typical free breakfast, especially the croissants and juice. And the breakfast staff was very efficient at making sure there wasn't anything missing.
Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel, but I think a few details could be easily arranged to make this hotel a much better choice for the area. A post sign for the hotel, change the positioning of the TVs and add a few more channels and a fridge at least for some categories of guests. If they made these few improvements I wouldn't hesitate to go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark1977Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear mark1977Montreal,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location. But as they don't have any clue how to reach there, it was a bit hard to find the hotel. After getting there, we had a good possibility to relax and enjoy our stay before leaving the nice city, Malaga. The room, bathroom, was generally fine. So if you have a flight and if you need to stay in a hotel which is near to the airport, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaseminAlioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Campanile Malaga
#50 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#40 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#25 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing