We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel experience, but closest to Malaga airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rooms clean and fine, friendly service upon check-in and check-out, but apart from this you will not find any thrills at this airport hotel. The reason you book here is to be close to the airport - thats it. For an airport hotel in Spain I find their price somewhat in the high end...

Room Tip: When ordered a taxi make sure you in the lobby when it arrives, otherwise the meter keeps running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Based on our favorable experience with the HIE in Geneva, we booked this hotel near the Malaga airport. The fiasco started right there, when we realised there is no shuttle service to the hotel. Thus we took a cab. We were charged 19.50 euros for the 5 minute drive, since the usher conveniently denied the existence of any other means of transportation. Turns out there are buses( cost -2 Euros) which stop in front of the hotel. The hotel itself is on a busy highway, and we were bitten by mosquitos. The rooms are pretty standard, and not bad, but the hallway is smelling of mildew and the carpets look and smell terrible; WiFi for 24 hours costs 11 Euros, and to print out the boarding tickets also costs extra. Sunday breakfast was pretty stale. I am afraid this was our first and last visit at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poisonpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear poisonpen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate you letting us know about your concerns as this helps us understand areas we can improve upon. I am deeply sorry if your stay was negatively affected by the cleanliness of our carpets. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly. As for the shuttle, our hotel does not offer an airport shuttle service but there is a regular bus service that would drop you right to our gates and you can present your bus tickets to our front desk staff for bus fare reimbursement. This information together with other fees like internet fee is in our website or you can inquire about it through the 1-800-HOLIDAY number.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel on your next visit to Spain.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The address on their website is not accurate and GPS does not recognize it. On dirt road off main road which cannot be seen and nobody in area knows it is there. Staff knows of this problem for at least 5 years with no management help. No cart or baggage help. 4 euro per hour for WiFi which is free in all the other lobbies. Staff, if you could find them, was pleasant. One woman was very nice. Was close to airport. Room OK. But worth to stay further and spend a few more dollars to find a hotel rather than driving in circles for hours. Truth not on website.

Room Tip: Not near elevator. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollywood-solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I wrote a review (dated Jun 27, 2012) when I stayed here this summer for one night, and gave it four stars. My husband and I recently stayed here again, since we needed to be at the airport very early. Compared to the experience this summer, this visit was definitely a downgrade. We were on the ground floor, and the hallway carpet was in terrible shape; looked like it had extensive water damage. They had already turned off the air conditioning and turned on the heat, although it was still warm outside. So the room was very stuffy. We attempted to open the window a crack (that's all it would do, since it was ground floor), but that didn't work either because all the flies that were in the bushes outside the window came swarming in. Bed was much more uncomfortable than in prior visit. Still haven't tried breakfast buffet, since we had to leave too early. An update to the bus situation: Bus #19 does not run any longer; your only option is the Airport Express (2 euros). Bus stop is a short walk away, in front of the Makro. Another reviewer said you have to go back to the airport to get into the city center -- this is not true. You walk across the blue pedestrian bridge to get on the other side of the highway, and pick up the Airport Express bus going into the city center (also 2 euros).

I'm certain I will stay here again, since it's really the only game in town if you need to be by the airport. Hopefully the next experience will be more like my first one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A good value, clean modern rooms, and very helpful staff. An adequate, but not lavish complimentary breakfast. But without a car, you are stuck in a warehouse district without options for eating elsewhere. Since you cannot walk the 2 km to the airport, the public buses to the airport run every 15-20 minutes - if you can manage your own luggage. At the airport, you can transfer to a train to downtown Malaga, but plan on approximately an hour for the total trip.

Room Tip: The best surprise is no surprise...the rooms are predictable, contemporary and newly-furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kab0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pros:
The Airport was clean, break fast was decent and was included and even though its not super luxurious, the rooms were comfortable. The hair dryer did not work and somebody came and fixed it within a few mins. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was included so that saved us another 20 to 30 euros and the hassle of finding a decent spot each night night.

Cons:
It was far from the city. So we had to drive a long way to get to the attractions. The Entrance to the property was at the tricky position that we missed it the 1st time.

The pros definitely out weighs the cons. We'd return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErangiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely helpful friendly staff! Beautifully clean room and comfy bed! A few minutes from the airport and like a sanctuary surrounded by motorways! Safe and quiet and nice atmosphere. Dinner inexpensive and rather good! Breakfast was more than you could eat!

Possibly one of the best hotels. I have stayed in for years and such a good price. Perfect for a break before a flight the next day or after flying and before another journey.

A gem that leaves a very nice memory and I shall most definitely return.

Room Tip: I had Room 116..beside the motorway but still so peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.8 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#56 of 89 in Malaga
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#45 of 89 in Malaga
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#20 of 89 in Malaga
306 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Humaina
Hotel Humaina
#66 of 89 in Malaga
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: $59 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing