We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money, clean and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We used this hotel as a base to visit Andalucia, staying eight nights. It is easy to find by bus.Number 19 and number A drop off and pick up at the airport . There are stops either side of the motorway and the service is at least every 30 minutes.
The hotel is clean and suprisingly quiet considering the proximity of the airport. The staff were both professional and friendly.All our requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently. I am baffled by comments regarding communication problems in English, as the receptionists had a greater command than many native speakers I have encountered.
Breakfasts are buffet style and plentiful. The hotel does not serve any other meals over the weekend period. However Malaga is full of good restaurants and tapas bars.
The only caution I would add is that with the open plan style of the bar and breakfast area it is wise to keep an eye handbags etc as you would in similar circumstances in other public places.
My only gripe is that wifi is charged at 10 Euros for 24 hours, which seems an anachronism when many hotels include this gratis.

Room Tip: Ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nigelsuenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    432
    399
    108
    61
See reviews for
319
441
70
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel has the problem that doesn't have signalling to reach the hotel. By bus is impossible (dangerous surroundings) Motorways and manufactures all around so no people in the street.
By car you need a GPS and luck. I spent a few minutes around to find the entrance. They are changing the routes around the hotel so even the GPS doesn't give you the exact way to go.
They pay the taxi from the airport to the hotel in some cases.
Room is very nice, but the shape was not very well designed (is narrow).
Breakfast has the cheapest bread and ham in Spain and it doesn't have enough space for all the people that stay in.
Doesn't have enough parking space, I left the car outside and nothing happened. However is a bit dark so they should put more lighting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diealvarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I've read some bad reviews about finding this place but the writer who said to go through the gas station hit the nail on the head. Our taxi driver found it in minutes and we were very happy we had decided to stay there.

Although it was only for one night en route to our condo, I found the place to be extremely clean, staff were fantastic and very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. Will stay again when visiting Spain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmr12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Just finished a stay here, and was impressed with the overall cleanliness of the property. It's new and the rooms are nice for a HI express. The lobby area is clean, and there is a nice little bar in the front with reasonably priced beers. I was a little frustrated that there's no shuttle to the airport, and you're required to take a bus. The bus was easy to figure out, but if you're planning a weekend stay be aware that the bus doesn't run as frequently and that it's hard to get a taxi to the airport since it's so close. Overall, I'll give it a good recommendation, but 70 euros seems a bit too steep of a price for me in comparison with the other prices for Madrid hotels....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyonnaisdecoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straffan, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Forfited our last night in Jerez to shorten our journey for our 12pm flight. Stayed in Holiday Inn, a basic, basic, basic Hotel!! Receptionist helpful, as we had difficulty in finding hotel - we could see it, but could not see how to get to it (not listed on GPS) had to phone hotel to get co-ordinates, finally arrived. No restaurant, but could order out Chinese or Italian, for delivery - did not. Bed on hard side, but choice of pillows - hard/soft. Bathroom had Dove soap and Palmolive shower gel/shampoo (good). However in order to take bath, you need to get plug from Receptionist yourself, as there is no room service. Did not like 'smell' in bathroom (toilet smell)
Breakfast did not serve Spanish omelette - as advertised. Poor breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigaleCoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a trip to Malaga. I had read in the reviews how difficult it is to find it so I double checked the location before leaving, looked at the hotel on Google streetview, triple checked various maps and used a GPS AND printed itinerary just to be sure. The result? My GPS couldn't locate the exact address ( not the best Garmin GPS but brand new ) I had to pass by the hotel 3 times I think before I finally saw where the access is and it is absolutely impossible to find it without having been warned more or less what to look for. I had to ask a taxi driver who gave me the trick and on my following trip back after stepping out for dinner I managed to miss the access once again although I knew where it was. For future travelers, I'll attempt to make it simple for you... When driving on av. Velazquez from Malaga, after a Burger King on your right, you will see ( might see actually ) a small postsign that says petrol station ( gas station ) at 1000m, then 750m, right after an overpass you will see another sign that says petrol station entrance, and you may get a quick glance of a TOYSRUS right there on your right, take that petrol station entrance although you will have no sight of the Holiday Inn at that point and go towards the petrol station called TAMOIL despite the fact that it looks like you're offroading by then and keep going straight you will see behing the station the Holiday Inn, be careful not to stay too far to your left or it'll bring you back on the main road. Seriously, I have never seen such a poorly indicated Holiday Inn hotel. I would think that a serious company such as Holiday Inn could invest a few bucks on a sign by the road and on a little asphalt for the service road that brings you to the hotel.
Once you finally get to the hotel, it's pretty good. The position of the TV in the room is very wierd indeed as you can't move it. The room is decent size for Spain and the bathroom is nice. The free breakfast is the standard free breakfast you usually find at Holiday Inn Express, nothing fancy but good basic food to get the day started. I must say we had an issue with a couple of receptionists who seemed to forget what we asked for and then lie about it, but I don't think I should put all the staff there in the same basket as the once I dealt with during those 3 days were very nice and helpful.
Over all, very convenient hotel for the airport surprisingly quiet for a hotel adjacent to the airport, otherwise pretty far from everything and until the good folks of Holiday Inn decide to invest in a postsign that indicates the access I think most reviews here will continue mentioning how impossible it is to find.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark1977Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Some of the hotel staff at the reception don't really speak English, which is strange since it's in walking distance from the airport. If there is a problem with your room, it's hard to communicate about it (since my level of Spanish doesn't cover that sort of conversation).

The air conditioning doesn't work in this hotel when it's not summer in Spain which is pretty bad if you are on the south side of the hotel: the sun shines on your room and window all day. There are no rolling shutters so the room heats up in no time, even when it's February. You can't cool it down.

When checking in, you get the choice for a smoking room or a non smoking room. What they don't tell you, is that this is apparently also the choice between a double bed or twin beds. A smoking room has a double bed and the non smoking room has twin beds. When booking online, you can choose between either a double bed or a twin bed but it all comes into their system as 'two people in one room', so never mind what you click when you book, but think carefully before you say you want a smoking or a non smoking room.

As for the location: it's easy to find if you take bus 19. In fact, the bus driver even gave us directions to the hotel from the bus stop, although it's really easy! Then at 4 AM we walked to the airport for our flight. It was an easy walk and I think everyone can do this in ten to fifteen minutes at most when you carry some luggage. The staff could tell us how to walk and it's easy: just go straight ahead, then turn left after you've passed the bridge and when you run out of place to walk there's a gangway that leads you up to the airport. Couldn't be easier. I read in other reviews how scary it is and how far away this is or that it's even not possible to walk there but I definitely don't agree with this, it's like we're talking about different hotels!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SexyUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Campanile Malaga
#50 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#41 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#27 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing