We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, and close to stations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Goartin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Goartin
Ranked #44 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine, and close to stations”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Many hotels are closer to the city centre, but this one is good if you are just staying overnight for a travel transfer - the airport train arrives five minutes walk away at Maria Zambrano station, as is the central coach station. Not an attractive neighbourhood, but no problems and quite a few, good value tapas bars just round the corner. Rooms clean and pleasant, staff efficient. We stayed at both front and back of the hotel, both were fine.

Room Tip: First-floor rear rooms have an external terrace. They are overlooked by the neighbours in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    52
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
46
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is rated as a 2-star hotel but it was one of the cleanest and most comfortable hotels we stayed at in Spain. Our room was a bit small, compared to hotel rooms in North America, but it had everything we needed including wifi, TV, hair dryer, and shampoo/soap.

Everything from the bed to the washroom was in excellent condition and seemed very new. We had booked a double room and a few days prior to arriving, they upgraded us to a room with a lovely terrace!

There were some previous reviews that mentioned a smell of cigarettes - I was pregnant and extremely sensitive to scents - I didn't pick up any cigarette or unpleasant odours in the room or hotel.

The hotel is located a short 5-10 minutes walk from the main train and bus station. It was extremely easy to find. It is, however, located a bit far from the main entertainment/shopping district. You can't really walk to the central district but it was only a 6-euro taxi ride away.

Overall, we booked this trip because of all the previous positive reviews and we sure enough, the reviews were all accurate. It was a GREAT value for 50 euros a night and if we ever went to Malaga again, we'd definitely stay at Hotel Goartin!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antiapluswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

-It is a two star hotel, but it did almost all what i need in my trip.
-It is a 10 minutes by car away from the down town, but in return you have a chance to park you car free. (the hotel has its own paid parking as a backup) it is like a dream to park your car in front of the hotel like i did.
-The room has a terrace (nice style)
-The hotel seems new
-Receptionist is very welcoming
-It is small hotel only 2 floors, but it has a decent level of service and calmness
-Wifi has a weak signal and sometimes no signal :(
-No breakfast (see next bullet)
-Surrounded by group of restaurants and cafes (and motor cycle rentals)
-Not far from bus station

Room Tip: ask for a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramy_Mourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were reluctant to book in a two star hotel but the positive reviews encouraged us. We stayed only one night since we were scheduled to go to Marbella in the next morning. The room was spotless clean and we upgraded for the one with a terrace at an extra 5 Euros which was worth it. The terrace was nice with flower beds. The hot water was available all hours. The coffee machine in the reception offers a variety of snaks. The hotel is very near the train station and you could go walking. It does not offer breakfast so we had ours in the station before we departed. It was really nice and we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deemarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my second visit here. Again, it was for just the one night while passing through Malaga on my way to pastures new (the Cabo de Gata-Nijar Natural Park in this case). The hotel was pretty much as I remembered: it's close to the bus and train stations, it's clean and comfortable, I got a good night's sleep, the reception is friendly, and it only cost 40 euros a night. As before, there was (I think) the very very faintest smell of cigarette smoke in the room, which was a pity. Tip: eating and drinking in the nearby bars in this area of Malaga are very affordable compared with what I found elsewhere in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here two times for one night in December 2012. Near the railway and bus station of Malaga (which was the main reason, that I have stayed here). The area around the hotel is not fancy, but there are supermarkets and some tapa-bars araound. Both rooms I have stayed in were clean and comfy. Reception staff was friendly and helpful. Free WIFI worked well. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This little gem of a hotel started with the receptionist opening the garage door for us and then a lovely welcome. Cakes and sweets on the reception. Quick check in. The room compact, very clean, bathroom spotless. Free wifi. Good price. 20 mins walk to central shops etc, easy walk. Near the British Consulate if you are visiting it for what ever reason as we were so handy when you have a named appt. near bus and railway station. Can park on street. A few little bars nearby. Waved off when we left, great personal touch. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Zeus Hotel Malaga
Zeus Hotel Malaga
#55 of 90 in Malaga
122 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#38 of 90 in Malaga
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Don Paco
#45 of 90 in Malaga
161 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#41 of 90 in Malaga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goartin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goartin

Property: Hotel Goartin
Address: Calle Gerona 32, 29006 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goartin 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Goartin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goartin Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing