We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in the heart of malaga”
Review of Hostal Larios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Larios
Ranked #33 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice stay in the heart of malaga”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is truly a wonderful location there are many 5 star hotels around hostel larios. 50 e for one night 2 people. We walked by at 8pm needing a room and it was available. Seperate bathroom but it was very clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algounico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
27
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

It appears my experience with this place was similar to others. We booked online using Lonely Planet and quickly got an e-mail saying that the Hostal Larios was full...but they moved us to their sister hotel (1 star Hotel Castillo Guerrero) for no additional cost. As you might notice in my review on that Hotel's page, it was not a pleasant stay. Seems like this is a common experience. Definitely go to the Picasso Museum, go to BOTH castles, do the 4 hour Bike Tour (malagebiketours.eu), and eat at Tapeo de Cervantes (one of my best meals ever). Great trip, Malaga is great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had a great trip to Malaga and I will not hesitate to recommend that to friends...especially to those who are interested in culture.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigCMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I booked a room at Hostal Larios for two nights through their website and received a confirmation email. Nevertheless, when we turned up at the Hostal they could not 'find' our booking even though I'd printed out the confirmation they had sent me. The guy in the reception blamed it on one of the young guys working in the reception who must have forgotten to make a note of it. They then proceeded to offer us a room at their partner or sister hotel a few streets away, as they were full. The other hotel was not nice, the bathroom smelt and it was definitely not worth the amount we were meant to pay at Hostal Larios and were subsequently paying at the other hotel. So be careful when booking at Hostal Larios, you might not actually end up getting to stay there and it's quite clear they've got some deal going on between the hotels....

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KorvenShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I booked a room for two nights via hostels.com in early April 2010. Hostal Larios subsequently informed me that they did not have availability (blaming a mistake on the hostels.com website) and that they had arranged for a room in a different hotel. As the alternative hotel did not look very nice, I cancelled the booking (by e-mail) with Larios two days before arrival. Hostels.com com has apologised for the error and refunded my booking deposit. Hostal Larios, however, refuses repay the EUR 100+ they charged to my credit card despite various requests - their excuse is that sometimes they don't receive e-mails. If you book here, don't expect Hostal Larios to honour their cancellation policy!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Centrally situated in main pedestrianised street. Rooms basic but clean, including en suite bathroom (though no hot water for 2 and a half days). TV had only Spanish channels. Staff generally helpful, but wouldn't let us use the phone when the flights/vocano crisis arose on our last day. Said phone for guests was not working and directed us to the street cabin outside.

Hostal itself was in a quiet building but problems all night with people in the street coming and going to/from clubs/work etc. On one occasion, having been woken at 3 am by the racket of engines, vehicle 'reversing' alarms and loud voices, I opened the shutters to find 2 blokes on a cherry picker attaching banners (advertising the Malaga film festival!) to our balcony! And we were on the third floor!

Cheap, clean, OK if you sleep in a coma!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Nice and comfortable accommodation in the heart of the historical city centre.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxxXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Alameda Malaga
Hotel Alameda Malaga
#56 of 88 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#27 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#36 of 88 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Victoria Hostal Malaga
Victoria Hostal Malaga
#43 of 145 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#26 of 145 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Debambu Larios
#16 of 145 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Larios

Property: Hostal Larios
Address: Calle Marques de Larios 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Larios 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Larios is located in the very centre of Malaga, where commerce, tourism and trade exist side by side. Visit the centre on foot, without using any means of transport! The rooms have recently been refurbished. They have air conditioning, heating, TV and some have ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Larios Hotel Malaga
Hostal Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing