We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT food, waiter gave us amazing recommendations”

restaurante Al-yamal
Ranked #57 of 2,087 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $41
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT food, waiter gave us amazing recommendations”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We LOVED this restaurant! The waiter (maybe owner?) was very knowledgeable about the history and culture behind the food and took the time to share his recommendations. This place is definitely worth visiting, we would go back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lsr1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    106
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

For a really good couscous, this is the place to go. It had been highly recommended by friends, so we booked to try it on the opening night of Málaga feria. What a brilliant start to our evening! Although a couple of dishes had already been suggested by our friends, we decided to let the restaurant decide what would be best - and we weren't disappointed. Effectively, we got a 5-course meal! Hummous and pitta bread to begin, then a starter of keftas (meat patties) with a little salad, followed by lamb pinchitos. The main was a mixed tagine of lamb, beef, chicken and vegetables with couscous and a delicious gravy. We were pretty full up after all that, so asked for a bit of a break before finishing with a tray of extraordinary mint tea with little arabian sweet cakes. Five courses plus drinks, yet the bill was only €26 each. We will DEFINITELY return, and although it is tempting to order the beef in plums that our friends recommended ...... it is also tempting just to let them bring us whatever they feel like again! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TamaraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent arabian restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent arabian restaurant.As I have seen the exterior I was a bit scared,but when I came in,I was from the start nicely surprised.The restaurant inside is nice and cozy.The staff/owner is very pleasent.The meal was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We eat here in early July 2013. The food is excellent, and the service equal to that. I highly recommend to visit this restaurant when you're in Malaga city center. It is on a walking distance from Calle Larios and other turist locations in Malaga.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Petri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food, very tourist-oriented”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Subpar service sometimes, good food, very tourist-oriented. The decor is just for show. They have high prices. Not the best moroccan cuisine found in Spain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurentiu_v23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restaurante Al-yamal also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to restaurante Al-yamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing