We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't let the location put you off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mensula

La Mensula
Ranked #364 of 1,894 Restaurants in Malaga
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: La Malagueta
Evrehailles, Belgium
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Don't let the location put you off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although it is a bit off the beaten path on an unattractive side street, the interior is charming, and the food was excellent. We had a large group of about 40, so the service was a bit slow, but all in all they did well handling us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“OK, but go for the tapas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Restaurant / tapas bar near the bullring in Malaga, with large bar area and restaurant beyond. We ate in the restaurant.

Wide choice of food on menu and service was good - as it should be in an empty restaurant!  We were the only diners all evening, although the bar was fairly crowded.

Food quality was reasonable, but prices at the top end for the venue.  Overall, OK, but not special.

Helpful?
1 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wet cold bit of england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great local cooking, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just round corner from bullring we were really glad we'd visited. Excellent local cooking, superb tapas and daily specials with seafood a specialiaty. Staff and menu are resolutely spanish (and all the better for it) and really helpful and enthusiastic about what their menu offers. Excellent and good value wine, beer and sherries. We were in the rear restaurant area. Apart from the baby eels (argulas, much loved locally but a bit perturbing to me, if not my partner) all of the staff recommendations were brilliant. Good sized raciones of mixed seafood included excellent octopus, boquerones for my other half and fried fish. the fried potatoes were a dream, as were the croquettes, prawn chopped salad etc. You could dine reasonably on tapas or push the boat out with a full restaurant blow out. Lovely atmosphere. We left replete, happy and felt it was very good value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hypercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

A stones throw away from the Malaga bullring.
Good friendly atmosphere created with friendly staff and cosy location.
There is a large bar area and small seating area for a drink with tapas or there is a large seated restaurant to the rear of the building.
Good chilled beer on tap, try the Bonito salad and cured cheese to start with. There a great small meat kebabs,the Flaminquin is a must,also fish in a spinach and cream sauce is excellent,if you are still peckish there are great fried fishes and amazing croquettes.The house wines are an easy choice with good boquests with both reds and whites.Every day there is a special dish such as stews,rice dishes etc.
All dishes are good value for money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comida Fantastica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Excellent tapas, fresh fish and the best Rabo de Toro we have had in Spain. The media raccione was plenty to share! Beautiful Andalucian decor and convenitently located in the Urban Central district. Good value!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beardownbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mensula also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Mensula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing