We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Tourist Another Day”

Restaurante Strachan
Ranked #232 of 2,047 Restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $17 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another Tourist Another Day”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This restaurant is very typical of the poorer type in Spain where they rely on tourists rather than build a loyal clientele. The food was average as was the service. Its only attraction being al fresco on a warm evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeyb186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    101
    50
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Perfect food, reasonable prices, friendly but very slow service”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stopped at this place by sheer chance - spotted the menu for kids posted on the wall and, since we had our 2-years-old son with us... After the first try we came back two more times, each time the same experience: delicious food, very big portions (each time we took out plenty of food which we could not finish), quite reasonable prices (we never paid more than 50 Euros for three of us), service very friendly but... VERY slow. Which is a pity, since we finally had to change this place for another - just because we could not afford spending so much time at the restaurant, in the middle of the day, while our little one has to get his daytime sleep.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great food, very good prices, clean, and accommodating to any requests regarding food and it's preparation.
Like many other reviewers before me, I was impressed with this restaurant, and will keep it noted for future trips to Malaga.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank no818528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Give this place a chance and make up your own mind”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by another couple we met in a bar and although we didn't plan to eat there we passed the door and decided to give it a try. I'm so pleased we hadn't read the hostile reviews because we would have missed an excellent meal. Yes they do charge for the bread but it's only 1.50, and the practice is common. We found the staff extremely friendly, although they didn't speak much English so we had to busk a bit. The grilled prawns were delicious and sweet, I had a dish of braised pigs cheek which was truly delicious. the wine was good and cheap, and they weren't fazed when we ordered another dish from the tapas menu as well as a delicious rice pudding flavoured with cinnamon. Even the coffee was reasonable. Sure the local dishes in this part of Spain can be a bit challenging, and a vegetarian would die of starvation but it's good, earthy, local and filling. If you want MacSpanish eat across the street at Gorkeys.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Intimate”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Intimate venue with fantastic food. Made a change from the many brilliant tapas bars around.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shiner6787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Strachan also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Strachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing