We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaky start but surpassed itself tenfold!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Barceló for 5 nights. On arrival we were allocated rooms on ground floor but at the back of the hotel...discovered our view was a brick wall! Room was super hot and items in minibar were hot too. Immediately went to front desk and requested that our friends and I be moved. The receptionist was extremely apologetic and seemed to expect this request however the hotel was apparently full and said she couldn't move us until the next day.
After an extremely hot night in the room we spoke to reception in the morning and were asked to return at lunchtime. When we returned we were met by another very helpful lady on reception who then took the time to take us to a few rooms that had become vacant and asked us for our preference. We moved to two beautiful rooms, still on the ground floor, but with a lovely pool view!
Rooms were very comfortable, bed was amazingly comfy. Air Con is not able to be set below 19.5c, I personally find this too high and wished we had been able to set a little lower.
Bathrooms and décor was immaculate.
Facilities around the pool area were really really nice. Pool was beautiful and stunningly clean! Sunbeds were mega comfy. Pool towels are provided from reception.
The pool bar was a great little set up, bar staff were super friendly and helpful.
The absence of screaming children around a pool was noticeably welcome...it was luxury!
Spa area looked stunning although we never used it.
Only fault we would flag up is the underground car park....at 12.50 euros a day it is a dungeon you couldn't swing a cat in!
All in all we had a brilliant holiday at the Barceló, top class service and staff!(Apart from one exception, the young small girl at the pool bar who with the attitude she had, should really not be in the service industry!)

Room Tip: Request a room with pool or sea view, even if it cost a few euros more it is worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annietface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 885 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at The Barcelo for 9 nights. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was a lovely surprise when we got there. Very spacious room with an enormous outside area, including a jacuzzi, dining table, loungers and sitting area. Lovely bathroom with good shower and sliding door to the toilet to seperate from the bathroom, which is a great idea.
It is a modern hotel with young, local staff, which was helpful with travelling, taxis's, buses etc. It is just off the A7, so easy to find, but not a pleasent walk anywhere as it is surrounded by either very busy roads or wasteland. You can get to the beach via a bridge but it is a good 20 min walk that way, if you cross the roads it cuts down to about 12 min, but very dangerous. There is a supermarket on the way to the bridge for any essentials and restaurants further along but we didn't try any of these.
Lovely pool, although you do need to get there early as it gets busy, but very relaxing once you're settled.
Breakfast, plentful and added bonus of lovely outside area to eat in, downside is that it is the same every day, and the cooked breakfast isn't great.
Poolside bar is nice and you can get snacks throughout the day. At nighttime it is the only bar open, although it states that the hotel has 2 bars! only this one is open and the service is very slow you can wait up to forty minutes to get a drink! this is not down to the barman (who makes amazing cocktails) but to the management for lack of staff. In the evening there was only the buffet resturant open or poolside snacks,the a la carte resturant never opened, room service choice was good though. On a Saturday night they do a bbq which is lovely, but you do need to book.
Overall a lovely hotel but it is a shame that the management chose not to staff it properly the staff there were overworked, which sometimes came across , spoiling the atmosphere.
It could really do with a another bar open with a bit of life, not the same tape played over and over again!, by the plloside bar, breakfast...! and not original artists to boot!! maybe a little live music or entertainment and this hotel would be a brilliant place to stay it has really missed out on a ideal opportunity to keep guests at the Barcelo as it is dead at night time and the only real alternative is to get a cab into town about 18-20 euro's each way. We would of easily spent far more money in the hotel if it had some life!!
Last bad point no tea and coffee faciliteis in room, I asked if we could, offering to pay for the service but still not avalible, not good for us Brits who love a cup of tea first thing.
Good hotel if you want to get away from everything, but please, please, give it a little life Barcelo!

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor upwards are a better choice, ground and first floors are very close to poo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent a week on this hotel in connection with a golf competition. At arrival I was assigned a room with a bit obstructed view from the balcony. Questioned the front desk if it was possible to change to a better one. I met a very positive attitude and was told it was possible if I was prepared to wait for another room to be cleaned. The room was spacy and so was the attached bathroom even though the bathtub was quite slippery if taking a shower and should have some antislip mat. The room was well made up and cleaned every day. Free internet with good and fast connection. The pool area was nice. To get to the beach you had around 12 min walk. The spa with indoor pool with heated seawater and other facilities cost extra. A free and well equipped gym. The breakfast was superb with everything you could want. The price of the single room with breakfast which actually was a double for single use was giving good value for money.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms have a view over the pool and from floor 2 and up you also have free sight of the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

ROOM
An impressive room with a comfortable kingsize bed, giant comfy pillows to match - great sleep. Decorated and furnitured to a very high standard. The bathroom is very modern, two sinks, a large bath and the toilet area is seperated by a frosted-glass panel. The only downside is the bath takes a very long time to fill up as the tap is slow running and quite tricky to working out how to use! The room also has a chargable mini-bar and a TV with one English speaking channel (Sky News). Lovely balcony area too.

POOL, ETC
Nice pool area with comfortable loungers for sunbathing. The waitress is around the pool area to take any drink/food orders. If there is no-one to serve you, there is a telephone for you to call and someone comes right away. The hotel also has a Spa which we didnt use.

INTERNET
Wifi free of charge for your ipad/laptop throughout the whole hotel.

FOOD
Our board basis was bed and breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet service which had a good choice of cereals, pastries, fruit, fried eggs, sausages, bacon, etc... these were set-out/ cooked nicely. My only negative is, I did order a caesar salad during my stay which was a little 'soggy' and the dressing didn't taste too great - that said, my friends ordered different dishes and enjoyed them.

LOCATION
Situated in a remote area near the motorway, there are only one or two bars/restaurants within walking distance. It is a taxi ride into Estepona town or Port which is around €18 one way - expensive round trip each day/night. There are some nice restaurants and bars in Estepona port. I personally wasn't that fussed on Estapona town itself, it was very quiet although a good traditional Spainish experience. I would definately recommend visitng Puerto Banus which is a €20 one way taxi ride. A gorgeous port where some of the rich and famous moor their yachts. Stylish bars and restaurants serving beautiful food plus a long list of designer shops (ie. Dolce & Gabanna, Cartier, etc...).

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank davidrhysmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights half board at the hotel for a quick get away, we were not disappointed. We had a fabulous break - service was faultless and friendly, the food was delicious and plentiful and our room was clean and well cared for. The walk to the beach is not scenic - you have to cross the dual carriageway via a footbridge but the walk is worth it as we found the beach to be quiet and clean. There were 2 beach restaurants to choose from both of which were fine. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChaznSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this Hotel because of the rave reviews on its' Spa facilities. We were not disappointed. Great facilities and services in well-maintained and modern spa. The rest of the Hotel is very good value for money.Rooms are spacious with large bed and very good bathroom. Location is on the outskirts of Estepona, but car or taxi is required to get to town centre.Some excellent restaurants nearby.We tried the "Carnicero" ( about 500 metres from the Hotel), and "Playa-Bella" a ten-minute drive away.Big outdoor pool for warmer months. Will definitely return and can thoroughly recommend, but beware this is an adult only Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a pool-side view room if you can, but any room will be O.K. The Hotel is situated far enough fro...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham15354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

All round good one. Fab relaxing spa. Big comfy bed with loads of pillows. Piping hot power shower and bath. All clean and spacious. Polite, helpful and smiley staff. We took advantage of a special offer and were not disappointed at all. The value for money exceeded our expectations. Happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors, you might just get a sea view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandyra Cecilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
744 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
9.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 34 in Estepona
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#7 of 34 in Estepona
682 reviews
5.1 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,281 reviews
7.7 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa

Address: A-7 Autovia del Mediterraneo, Km. 165, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#6 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#9 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $89 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only**** Hotel (belonging to the Barceló Hotel Group and formerly Barceló Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only) is a modern hotel recommended for adults (from 16 years old), located on the Costa del Sol, on the new golden mile between Estepona and Puerto Banús, just 600 m from the beach and surrounded by the best golf courses in the area. It is perfectly connected to Marbella (15 minutes away), and Malaga Airport, just 40 minutes along the motorway. The 93 rooms at the hotel have large terraces, some have an area of 70 m² and include their own hydromassage bath. There is also a deluxe apartment with a total surface area of 200 m², capacity for up to 5 people and a 110 m² terrace with hot tub. All the rooms are fully equipped for your convenience and stand out for their comfort and luminosity. Its U-Spa, with an area of 2,000 m², is the best Thalasso centre in Andalusia, with water extracted directly from the Mediterranean, making our Marine Therapeutic Circuit unique. It has more than 35 treatment cabins and offers the most innovative health and beauty services. The hotel also features a Lobby Bar and a Pool Bar, in addition to the Aguamar Restaurant, where you can enjoy a culinary offer that includes the innovative Healthy Gourmet concept. It also features meeting rooms boasting natural light and the latest technology. Enjoy a relaxing holiday only at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only****. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selenza Estepona Thalasso And Spa
Selenza Estepona Thalasso & Spa Hotel Estepona
Selenza Estepona Thalasso Hotel
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing