We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveler rating
585
602
286
109
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
602
286
109
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege packageprivilege loungechill out barsea viewlovely hotelpool areahalf boardlobby barbalcony doorreception staffshow cookingsun loungerstown centreprivate beachfamily roomroom safebuffet food
Filter
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband, cousin and I have just returned from H10 Estepona Palace Hotel, Estepona. It is one of the nicest hotel I have stayed. The room was spacious and spotless, the food, well were do I begin!. It had everything you want. meat and fish dishes was cooked to order. The choice was unbelievable. Breakfast was just as good. So much choice even ham on the bone. If you went hungry then you have only yourself to blame. I had read reports food was cold, you must remember you are in air conditioned restaurant which doesn't help, but when collected from the cooking areas, the food was hot.The swimming pool was cleaned everyday as was surrounding gardens. If you put a towel on a sunbed just to save and you don't use it within the hour, you loose the sun bed. The hotel is directly on the beach, but it is dark shale not golden sands. There are three bars all well served as well as the pool bar which also serves food during the day. The nearest place to walk is approx 1mile, which is the marina. Estepona town we took a taxi as this is not in walking distance, but you can walk to Estepona town from the marina via the promenade, this is scenic, but a long way. the walk from the hotel to the Marina is via footpath on the main road. Bus do run but approx every hour. The staff are so friendly they cannot do enough for you. Bedlinen is changed every other day, towels and toiletries every day. I cannot wait to go back again. The onlything, drinks are expensive, but this seems to be the norm in this area. The place is quiet and peaceful. You don't even hear people in the next rooms, or we didn't and the hotel was very full. If you want to visit other areas, I would recommend hiring a car. You can park outside if you are lucky, there is also a large underground carpark at the hotel which they charge 7 euros a day. A fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanpedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

what a horrible experience !! from the moment you arrive the reception staff are at best indifferent (if you are english ) and at worst hostile not to mention unhelpfull and pretty useless !! let me say at this point i love the spanish and have always had good times when staying in spain, to add to that the staff cleaning the rooms, painting the hotel and cooking the breakfast were very nice !but the people running the place are from a different planet !! i do not pretend to be the most patient or perhaps the most gentile person in the world but this lot would have a sanit reaching for there throats within seconds !
do not go to this hotel if you expect any sort of service above that of a third world jail !
if you do go i hope for your sake you dont have any reason to complain or even question the regime as you will quickly discover they dont care dont have a clue and are so indifferent it makes you wonder if they have been getting ther cutomer service skills from watching episodes of little britain and falwty towers !
the hotel was full, but does not have the facilities to cope with being full its that simple !
you wont get a sunbed by the pool, you wont get one on the beach,you will however get to lay on the beach but then only if you pay 15 euro for a towel which you can only change during two one hour slots during the day.
the pool side bar/cafe was dreadfull and the staff equally so !
you will que up for at least 10 to 15 minutes to get a table at breakfast !
ther is a lovly safe in the room but you wont get the key unless you pay a deposit and a further 2 or 3 euros hire charge per day !
if you take or hire a car you can look forward to paying a fee of 6.5 euro per day for the privelige of parking at the hotel
i paid 210 euro per night per rstndard room, yet they stii want to shaft you for 3 euros just to use the safe in your room !
i have stayed at better run pleasenter 2 star hotelsand i have stayed at many 5 str hotels this one for some reason does neither job !!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We recently returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel.

The good was the seaview room, the choice of food breakfast & dinner, the pools and the 14 days of sunshine!

Check in was fine except we arrived at noon and had to wait 'til 2pm however the very friendly Carlos from reception kept us topped up with the chilled Cava....

He is a friendly young man and a great ambassador for the hotel.

The room was fine and adequate for our stay albeit the Air Con just about kept the room at the right temp for 24 hours as we kept 1 of our keys in the power supply 24-7!

The bad is the beach which is very dark sand and the rocks at the waters edge is not pleasant for persons who are looking to spend time in the sea and on the beach.

We ensured we were in breakfast before rush hour at 9.30 and dinner which can get hectic from 9pm...

Plenty of choice but don't expect 4 star service, it is typical buffet style but suggest you take your time.

The entertainment is only 3 nights a week and whilst it seemed ok the piano bar where the shows are on are very hot....we preferred chilling out at the relaxing Mediterannian Bar.

For young children it is ideal with the mini club,disco etc but little for teenagers and adults on an evening....

The ugly is the sunbed situation and the main reason we will never return.

Approx 200 beds with approx 600 residents when hotel full!!!

14 days of getting up to reserve a sunbed at no later than 8pm!

The hotel has its Life Guards on patrol from approx 11am and if people coming out of the hotel have not got beds they look at beds without antbody on them and post a 30 min warning e.g use them or lose them which is fair enough but for the fact that if you fancy a walk on the beach, a coffee in the pool bar or get involved in the activities these take over 30 mins so beware!!

We saw a very nasty incident when a couple returned to their sunbeds from lunch only to find the life guards had moved their towels and other people were on the beds.
Suddenly towels, phones, personal belongings were up in the air... blows etc etc...

The hotel management are aware of the problem but have introduced this use it or use it policy as a compromise but it is not the answer...they need more beds either poolside or on the beach, simple as that. The management state that they are only allowed x number of beds per square metre of poolside or the beach is public is a poor excuse.

In summary, we did enjoy the holiday however the location of the hotel requires you to have a car unless you are wanting a resort holiday.

David,Elaine our 2 teenagers and elderly parents

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-D-UNITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

After an enjoyable weeks break I really don't know what i really think of this hotel.
There were some real plus points, the food was really good, we were half board and enjoyed every meal, we ften get bored of hotel buffets but this was great.
Our room was spacious and light with good aircon.
The reception staff and evening waiting staff were pleasant and helpful.
The views across the see were fantasic and Estapona itself was a really lovely resort with plenty of places to eat and shop and banksto change money, the exchange rate in the hotel was terrible they were even embarrassed about it. we walked up there every day.
Now the downside, the beach was poor, but we were aware of that before we went and if you walk to the left there is a nicer bit with toilets a nd places to eat and drink.
the walk into to was quite a trek but we found it to be an enjoyable walk. If you just want to stock up on water etc turn left outside the front of the hotel and just up the road is a garage.
As I have mentioned the evening restaurant staff were really nice but the same could't be said for the breakfast staff, they were slow sitting people,Fri to Mon mornings there were queues of about 30 or more people queuing for breakfast, although this was after 9 we went down at 8.45 and walked straight in.
The staff were very poor at relaying tables and we were often sat on half made up tables and being served coffee with no cups.
The standard of cleaning in the rooms was also poor on our second morning I dropped something on the floor and as I put my hand under the bed I discovered a pair of ladies knickers that were not mine.(and my husband hadn't been out of my sight in that time ha ha)
I am not sure whether it is always the case at weekends or just because it was a holiday weekend but the hotel was very busy for the weekend so much so it was impossible to get a lounger near the pool, not that it bothered us as we don't sit by the pool, which was lovely to swim in and has lifeguards all day.
As I said at the beginning I really don't know how I feel, because despite the negative points I really enjoyed our stay.
One point however that did annoy me was the first choice rep, We asked him on Friday morning where to change money and he told us there were banks in town, what he didn't tell us was it was a holiday so all banks close very early and remained that way until I think it was the monday, if not Tuesday, so by the time we got to town everywhere had closed, not a great issue in itself but in addition to this he informed us that the only way to get to gibralter was on a first choice trip as all bus routes had been stopped, we didn't believe him as we had read otherwise on the forums so we went to tourist information, who were very helpful and spoke excellant English, and we were given a bus time table and on it were numerous buses to La Linea which to those of you who don't know is the town at the border crossing and the bus stop is hardly more than 5 mins away. We saved a lot of Euros doing it this way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Selected this hotel as a much needed break away from kids for a few days, thought a spa hotel with direct beach access would tick all our boxes. We had travelled from Seville after seeing the bruce Springsteen concert and the drop in temp once we hit the coast was welcome, even though the weather was still in the 30+ degrees. Check in was superb with friendly helpful staff who gave us maps and a welcome glass of chilled cava. Our room was not ready for about an hour but we took the chance to look around and have a drink in one of the poolside bars. The pool area and beach sun loungers were all full at midday but there seemed plenty of them. We were delighted to see our room was a corner one overlooking the sea with a large balcony sufficient for a dozen people to sunbathe - just as well because despite a warning notice from the hotel that sun loungers could not be reserved you did not stand a chance of getting one by the pool or on the beach if you did not reserve one before 8 a.m. Needless to say we spent the days on our balcony, only coming down for breakfast which meant queueing for some time to wait to be seated. The food overall was very good and plenty of fresh choice at breakfast and lunch. The poolside tropical bar for lunch was poor and overpriced with little or no service unless you were spanish. We opted to try the meditteranean chill out bar in the eve for a reported quiet drink lounging on sofas overlooking a moonlit sea, they forgot to mention kids were allowed in, jumping on the cushions, running around, crying for their beds whilst their parents chatted.
We had a car which presented a nightmare when trying to park at the hotel but you do need transport as the town is a fair distance, quaint town but little to do, very few shops, bars or restaurants. All in all very disapponting, not the relaxing break we expected this is a very very busy hotel with lots of families and children, very noisy and not for couples at all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews