We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveler rating
594
606
291
110
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
606
291
110
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege package privilege lounge chill out bar sea view lovely hotel pool area lobby bar half board balcony door show cooking reception staff sun loungers town centre private beach family room room safe waiter service
Filter
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hotel is quite big and modern, The pool area is lovely with ample sunbathing room and the bathrooms are large and bedrooms very comfortable. Food was great with a very large variety.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The three of us arrived for our all-inclusive holiday and were warmly greeted by the hotel receptionist and were offered a glass of cava, good start. Our rooms were allocated on the 5th floor our room again nice room with a sea view excellent, my sister-in-law had a side sea view with what looked like old gardening equipment lying abandoned a quick visit to reception and she was moved the next day to a similar room as ours again excellent. After we unpacked and had a quick tour of the hotel and grounds we then made our first visit to the restaurant to have lunch.
The fun begins, no tables cleared for those arriving for lunch although still over an hour remaining for those who wished to eat, they all seemed too busy getting the tables set for evening sitting (this theme continued at all meal times throughout our stay) and although rather a large room there only appeared to be around five staff in total, all working flat out but really getting anywhere no direction from the restaurant manager, or indeed any training from the hotel it would seem. To be fair though as soon as we asked they had a table ready in a few minutes, drinks were ordered and brought very quickly and I can add the food available at all meal times was excellent, especially breakfast.
A drink from the Lobby Bar is my next chapter although there were an extensive premier drinks package available for the all-inclusive guest the only wine available were the house wines, you’d think in Spain can’t go wrong there…..unfortunately the only white wine available was vile, no other word can describe it, the rose and red were passable but the white ugh! My sister-in-law had an audience with the PR girl at reception and both visited the bar where it was confirmed these were the only wines available to all-inclusive guest, but you can get all the cava you want.
Cocktails were the next challenge out of the twelve or so available you had the choice of any of the top five only, when asked the reason for this the answer was it takes longer to mix the others? To follow on it also depended on who was on bar service when you asked for a cocktail as on numerous occasions, especially at the lobby bar you would have the waitress from the restaurant obviously working extra shifts who didn’t have clue in how to make the drink other than refer to the drinks list then she would throw various mixtures into a long glass and then serve, on more than one occasion you would have been a brave man to attempt to drink them, indeed twice I had to ask for vodka to be added to my Bloody Mary. The pool bar on the other hand seemed to work well, pleasant staff that knew how to work as a team and smiled to brighten your day. Can’t comment on the infamous Chill out Bar as by the time we had arrived a notice was on display informing the clientele that due to the poor weather the previous few days the bar was closed for the season?
Now this might seem like a big moan but employing the right staff, giving proper training and asking for a smile now and again can make your holiday working really hard without direction is a bore for everyone.
To sum up, it could be so perfect we all had a really nice relaxing holiday but with a little more thought and consideration it would have been so much better. It’s a really nice hotel, in a beautiful location with nice rooms, excellent food and although employing hard working staff most needs are some direction and some people friendly skills.
Would I go again only if they could sort out the minor but really important failings?

Room Tip: Pay for sea view try the 5th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Markkillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night b&b stay at this hotel. The purpose of our trip was to scatter my father's ashes in the sea off Estepona where he lived later in life. So we wanted a nice relaxing place to stay which was not likely to give us problems. The hotel certainly met this criteria and I don't think they knew the purpose of the trip. I had emailed in advance to the concierge in case they could help us with boat charter. I received a prompt and polite reply but they do not have a boat and could not find a better arrangement than I had found elsewhere (contact me for details as it was very good). So if this enquiry had been added to our booking info then maybe they did know...

On arrival we needed a double and a twin instead of the 2 doubles we had booked as my teenage nephew came with the three of us as a late addition. At first they said they were fully booked and therefore there would be no twin room available but when pressed, the receptionist found a family room on the same floor as our room (the 6th floor which as she said contains lovely superior rooms). We were offered a glass of sparkly each and orange juice for my nephew. We thought that despite the 'problem' of the rooms, check in was efficient but then realised that we hadn't been told a number of things e.g. about the safe in room, pool towels etc. this info was however in the brochure in the room.
We were able to set up the safe in our room without paying as it did not need a key. We paid €15 deposit for a pool towel but my brother and nephew got them free which was confusing - they weren't told they were in Privelge group. One or two of the more senior members of reception were extremely helpful, helping us with a restaurant booking (in the town) and enabling us to keep one of the rooms until 2pm on our last day when previously we had been told that we could not extend check out.

Our booking (with Expedia) stated a sea view room which we certainly had and an entry into the spa (one per person per stay). My nephew was not allowed in the spa as minimum age is 16. We were advised to book a slot at the spa. This was a two hour slot and enabled us to do the 'circuit' of hydrotherapy features - essential oil showers, jacuzzis and other water massage features, steam room, sauna, pool. There was a small gym too but we didn't use it or have any treatments. The spa was very good and although we don't usually go into a spa if it's hot and sunny outside we were glad we did as it was lovely and relaxing. Flip flops are compulsory and can be hired for €2 and they give you a swimming cap which must be worn. A towel and a locker which doesnt need a coin is also provided.

Breakfast was very good with lots of selection. But as others have said, the staff were very busy and it was quite difficult to order tea or coffee on one of the days. I was very pleased to find a filter coffee machine which did decaffeinated coffee! After checking out on Sunday we paid for the buffet lunch, €22 and less (€11?) for my nephew. This was good value and a nice way to have a good meal before our journey home.

We were pleased that we'd chosen this hotel for our trip and would return again another time. The location was excellent for us and it was especially nice to be so near the beach. The rooms we had were spacious and bright, beds very firm.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the nicer the view, especially sea facing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WirralBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Estepona palace. We stayed bed and breakfast and had 3 full days there. Overall we had a great time away. The hotel was very nice, big and airy. The rooms were a good size for 3 of us sharing, clean but the balcony a little small and we only had 2 chairs. The pool and surrounding were lovely, very pleasing to the eye and although we did not make use of the loungers on the beach it was lovely to hear the waves rolling in as we lay by the pool. Would recommend putting towels down early as everybody else seems to do this. The breakfast was vast, plenty for all tastes....would definitely recommend the omelets to order.

On the negative side we all felt that customer service is where this hotel lets you down. The majority (not all) of the staff at the front desk seemed less than enthusiastic about helping us with any issues or requests during our stay. It was particularly disappointing that the public relations manager on duty during our stay was possibly the least attentive.

We had a poor experience in the hotel spa. My friends and I all booked in for a manicure while we were there. We all went one after the other and individually felt that the manicure was painful when she was using the cuticle stick. Additionally the same stick seemed to be used for each of us, we should have said something at the time but we are not normally people to complain and it was only when the third one of us had her finger cut with the stick that afterwards we felt we should mention this to the hotel desk. We were then made to feel bad for complaining. My understanding of public relations is that they are supposed to help you. After being informed that manicures do sometimes hurt and that this is the way they do them here finally they gave my friend a 50% refund for her experience (10% was the first offer). For anyone tempted to a manicure take note that a coat of nail polish is extra. Perhaps if we had paid out the extra euros for the Privilege Service we might have been treated differently.

Additionally there are no irons in this hotel as we discovered just before an evening out. A pay laundry service is available instead, with notice.

So in summary, it is a lovely looking hotel, perfect for a weekend of relaxation as long as you don't come across any issues then its just down to who is manning the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hutchyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just arrived back from a week at The H10 Estapona Palace and had a lovely week. We booked our holiday with Monarch Holidays and got a great deal....bed, breakfast and evening meal and although we were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews, all in all our experience was a good one. On arrival we were greeted with a smile and offered a glass of sparkling wine....good start! Our room was on the 5th floor and had plenty of space, the bathroom was quite large and the shower was brilliant......the view however was dire! We could see the sea ok but also a view of the waste ground which resembled a tip with an abandoned vehicle and what looked like farm machinery, I hasten to add we didn't sit out on the balcony the whole holiday! The hotel in general was clean and spacious, ok maybe in some areas it required a little TLC but it's near the end of the season and needing a spot of paint here and there wasn't going to spoil our holiday. The pool area was lovely with plenty of sun beds to go around but the pools weren't heated and the water was very cold, the beach isn't the best (shingle not sand) but the sun loungers were comfortable. The food was very good, lots of choice and certain foods were cooked to order, we couldn't fault the food at all and there was something to suit all tastes. We found the dining area hadn't enough staff though, the staff that worked in there were run off their feet and on two occasions we cleared our table ourselves in order to eat our next course also getting served tea/coffee at breakfast was a nightmare. The hotel have a Privilege Service for an extra cost of course, this entitles you to lots of extras.....pool towels, dressing gowns, express service in the dining room, special lounge area etc etc. We didn't pay for this service so can't comment on it's value for money but we did think there was a 'them and us' feel about the place. The staff overall were very pleasant and the reception staff couldn't be more helpful. A walk into the Marina takes about 20 mins and can be reached via the beach or the road......Estapona Centre takes about 50 mins but is a lovely stroll along the Promenade. Over all our stay at The H10 was a good one and we would recommend it to friends. For information only......it cost €2 a day plus €10 deposit for a key to the in room safe (never had to pay for a safe before), taxi from Malaga Airport was €85, Estapona Centre and The Marina €6, Pool towels aren't included so you will need to take your own unless you go Privilege. Irons aren't available but the Hotel do have a laundry service and any garments requiring ironing can be handed to reception in the morning and will be returned later same day. Hope this helps :0)

Room Tip: Room 573 had a dreadful view......ask to change if the view is important to you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bethany56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews