We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveler rating
594
606
291
110
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
606
291
110
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege package privilege lounge chill out bar sea view lovely hotel pool area lobby bar half board balcony door show cooking reception staff sun loungers town centre private beach family room room safe waiter service
Filter
Updating list...
795 - 800 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked a holiday at the Estepona Palace for my daughter and I as it was a special birthday and although I had good expectations of this hotel found it wanting in many areas. It is further away from Estepona than I expected it to be but that would have been fine had there been a bus service running between through the area but the only way was to either get a taxi (or ofcourse if you drive it would be fine. A courtesy but ran but not until 7.30pm which if you are booked in half board clashes with meal times or if you wanted to visit in the day it was not available. I have stayed in the Costa Del Sol many times and especially around Estepona but never felt quiite so isolated. No shops in the area or even a cafe or bar , nothing except to go into Estepona town. The food was the same every night and the bread that was in the restaurant was so stale I would have just thrown it away had I been at home. When I have stayed in other hotels they have had to keep replacing bread baskets, they didn't need to here as no-one ate it. The pool area was nice and the pools themselves warm enough to swim in. The staff though are surly and miserable, no smiles or greetings except thelady we saw on reception, the men when they were on duty were awful. There are not enough in the restaurant as tables were not cleared often enough and most days or nights sat with all dirty dishes left on the table until the end of the meals. Brought to mind an old saying my Mom would have used 'All lace curtains and no K*******' sad really. It's clean and comfortable enough but not enough good points to make me stay there ever again. Does anyone know how I can book the Andalucia Princess, that one is lovely.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems this is not the hotel for you too many stairs
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just come back from a weeks all inclusive at the Estepona Palace. Really liked the hotel but first choice were rubbish! The only glimpse of a rep was when we all got on the coach and she checked everyone was there, then after telling us the journey to the hotel was about an hour and a half she left. Nearly two and a half hours later we arrived! Having booked it as a premier hotel, they say you get priority drop off and this certainly wasn't priority! We endured the same coach journey on the way back to Malaga where they were clearly trying to make as many stops and cram as many people on as possible. There was no rep at the hotel all week to book excursions, and the information file was never updated so we ended up having to call the 24/7 holiday line just to establish what time we were being picked up to go home and even then it was a uk number which we had to hold for 15 mins or so before getting a response!

Despite first choice's bad planning, we had a lovely time. Reception arranged a car for us for a few days and we did our own trips out to Gibraltar, Ronda, Puerto Banus and Selwo Safari Park which are all worth visits. The walk to Estepona town took about half an hour and a 5-6 euro taxi ride back.

Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful and there was always plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Worth paying for a sea view room, we booked fairly last minute and had a room that looked out the back of the hotel over trees. Nice and peaceful but didn't spend a lot of time in the room so no big thing. Pools were clean but a bit chilly and always managed to get a sunbed when we wanted them.

Would definitely return to this hotel, but not through first choice and would hire a car from the airport to avoid transfers!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ecr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The breakfast and dinner buffets are a pleasure for everyone. There is a virtually endless variety of foods, the quality is excellent, everything is fresh and tasty. Some food -such as omelet in the morning and grilled fish and meet for dinner- is cooked in front of the the tourists. Only slight minus is that the restaurant is too large, so it becomes too noisy and agitated at "rush" hours. For the next renovation, I suggest dividing the large room into smaller ones, for more quietness and privacy.
On arrival at the hotel, champagne is offered; apples are on offer at any time at the reception.
The hotel is quite agreable, with a big plus for the services and a little minus for the decoration. The stripped, blue-white carpet floor looks quite nice and must have been expensive, but now is stained and needs to be replaced.
The garden and pool area is of average size, but very well maintained, extremely clean and pleasant. There is a gate leading directly from the garden to the beach. On the beach there are some chaiselongues that belong to the hotel and are free to be used by anyone. Unfortunately, the wellknown habit of reserving them all day long by leaving a towel behind will not die soon. For this reason, it is impossible to get a sit there during the day.
A car is needed for better mobility, because Estepona is a long walk away and buses are rare. Except for a gas station, there is no place to buy food or water near by.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea. I believe some rooms are smaller, judging by the size of their balconies. We were lucky to get a family room, very large and with a well sized balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ausZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Am staying here right now with my wife on our second visit to the H10, the first time we stayed I booked the pay in advance ( cheapest) option as I had no idea if the hotel would be good or bad. Our room that time was spacious with a good bed good bathroom and a mini bar/fridge, but it was on the first floor, with a balcony which was about 1.5 meters deep and right beside the bar where each night from 8-12 PM some tuneless toneless and charisma-less warbler would belt out tunes with no thought for the local wildlife.
This time I booked a privilege package which was not hugely more expensive, and its worth it, 6th floor room huge balcony with amazing views room cleaned twice a day and free use of lounge free newspapers, assigned tables in restaurants. Go on spoil yourself. Your'e worth it. By the way there are full/half board options available if you really are lazy, but with excellent restaurants and the port a 10 minute safe walk away, why bother.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package holiday booked via Thomas Cook.
As you drive up to the hotel it looks impressive, Reception is very large and bright with seating and free WiFi.

1) Location
If you are on a package holiday be aware of the transfer. Our transfer was over 3 hours from Malaga airport. Malaga airport is about an hour away from the hotel but the coach visited so many hotels transfer was a nightmare. We demanded a taxi transfer on return trip.

The hotel is about a mile outside the resort to the west. Outside the hotel there are no bars, restaurants or other entrainment in the local area. It's about a 15 minute walk to bars etc. There is a petrol station near the hotel where we could get snacks and drinks etc.

2) Reception
Reception were generally helpful. Service could be slow at times .

3) Bar/Service
What a nightmare, this hotel wins my award for the worse bar service ever. There were never enough staff on duty and you would have a major wait at peak times. There are several bars in the hotel. The chill-out bar was nice but again service was really bad. We gave up waiting for a waiter one night and went to the bar to get drinks, at the bar we were told to return to our table and wait for the waiter. I felt the bar prices were rather expensive especially given the service. There are no local alternatives so i guess the hotel takes advantage of this.

We did go to bars in the Estepona marina a few times. We walked to the marina (15 mins) and got a cab back (4 - 6 euro). Nice atmosphere but nothing really starts until quite late.

4) Restaurant
Generally restaurant buffet was good. Choice of food was good, some evenings better than others but that may be down to personal taste. Sea food evening was nice with fresh fish and Sushi.

Hotel has some outside tables but very limited and seemed to be reserved for hotel priority program guests.

5) Room
Room was very basic for a four star hotel. Beds were very hard and the worst pillow i've ever had in a hotel. We considered going out and buying our own pillows as the hotel pillows were that bad. You get better bedding in a budget hotel.

Bathroom was fresh and clean with a basic selection a toiletries.

Room had a balcony, we paid extra for a sea view. The fact the hotel doesn't seem to have any non-sea view rooms I'm really not sure what i paid for.

Hotel room is tiled but corridors are carpeted. Carpets were light in colour and rather stained which didn't look that good.

6) Pool
Very nice pools. Hotel has a number of pools linked by bridges. You can swim between the pools under the bridges. The pools also have two water falls which the kids liked.

Like most holiday hotels you'll be playing Sun Bed Wars at this hotel. We watched people getting up before 7am to put towels on beds.

Drinks in Pool bar were very expensive and service could be slow.

7) Hotel Beach
Beach not that clean with rather a lot of broken glass in the sand. Sea has number of rocks just in the water and a few people cut themselves on the rocks. Hotel had some sun beds on the beach but you need to be up very early to reserve on of these. Better beaches are within walking distance.

Entertainment,
Hotel had dance troops a few times a week. Limited seating for shows.

In summary i have trouble saying this was a four star hotel. The hotel should be a four star but the bar service and bedding lets it down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GotaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews