We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the sound of silence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

. . . . the noise of breaking waves aside. If your idea of a great holiday is to join a gang of power drinking Brits, skulling Stella around a pool in football tops then you should really stay well clear of this place. Many of the staff do not speak English and most of the people that holiday in the hotel are from Spain, or other parts of Europe where they teach their children to behave. The hotel is very isolated and spotlessly clean. The staff are first class. The pool area is great. The rooms are big and the décor is wood and stone and very modern. The food is good, but dinner is not cooked to order - it's a buffet type thing, same as pretty much every other hotel of this kind - you can get a bit of fish or meat fried up, but that's as far as the Hell's Kitchen act goes. the rest of the selection lies under hot lights becoming progressively more lukewarm. We went B&B and the breakfast was the same deal, but it's hard to go wrong with keeping bacon warm. I have no real complaints of any type about this hotel. I would recommend without hesitation. My daughter was instructed to remove a beach ball from the pool - I told her not to take it in and she did anyway when I was reading. I wished the lifeguard had punctured it, but he didn't.
Posh, quiet, understated luxury. 10 gold stars. (but if you're looking for a bit of rave action, or a late night karaoke, Fuengirola is 50 kms up the coast)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 704john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at our Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

It is a pleasure to hear that you are fully satisfied with your stay at our facility. We always try to keep the highest standards regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. Hence we are more than pleased to hear that your expectations were surpassed.

Our staff is always keen on wanting to provide all guests with the best and most memorable vacation possible. It is due to this unique desire to satisfy that such friendliness is perceived by all. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are always striving to achieve it. We appreciate your words and they will be passed on once again to our whole human team at Elba Hotels.

Hoping to be able to thank you in person upon our next stay for such kind words.

My kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Dates of stay: 23/06/13-05/07/13

On arrival at the Gran Elba you enjoy a sense of calm in the well appointed lobby area. Check in was swift, efficient and informative.
We were allocated room 237 which overlooked the gardens and sea. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The design of the rooms placed the main wardrobes in the same area as the dual wash basins which then led to the bathroom/shower/toilet. Having the wardrobes away from the main bedroom made it easier to keep the bedroom tidy and free of clothes. The only slight niggle of the room was the unavailability of a kettles and coffee/tea making facilities. Fortunately we had read this same comment on a previous review and took our own kettle.
The restaurant was very well organised with excellent choices of food both for breakfast and for evening meal. It is true that when staying in a hotel for longer than a week the menu may become repetitive and this was the case during our stay, however I must stress that the quality of food presentation and the ongoing maintenance of buffett dishes were excellent. Also the two male Restaurant Managers were very welcoming and took great pride in the smooth running of their areas.

The pool and garden areas were well maintained and very clean. The beach area although shingly is very clean and enjoyable.

For those using a hire car there is plently of parking space at the hotel and for those wishing to food shop there is an Aldi and other large supermarket just opposite the hotel.

To summerise, this hotel is run extremely efficiently which very helpful staff. We would certainly recommend you to stay here.

Tony Clarke - Newcastle, Staffordshire, England

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment regarding your stay with us here at the Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

It is with great pleasure that I read through your thoughts and realized how much you enjoyed your holidays with us. I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive such positive feedback.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay in our Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again here at our establishment.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice in three years, both times in midsummer. it was surprisingly uncrowded both times. I did breakfast every day, which was royal in the abundance and variety of the buffet. I skipped lunch but alternated for dinner between the three wonderful restaurants that are a stone's throw away. The pool is beautiful (I didn't avail myself of the spa -- the treatments are a little pricey). Every room in the hotel has a view of the Mediterranean. My room had a large balcony, which was a special luxury. The room, classified as a Junior Suite, was spacious, with especially large bathroom. The reception staff went out of its way to be helpful, and were able to answer all my many questions with ease and efficiency. I loved being at the Elba and would recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite -- it's worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RGP1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us here at the Gran Hotel Elba EStepona. I am more than happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us once time again and that you are already thinking of a future stay with us.

Thank you for especially mentioning in reference the food, room, pool area, etc.
All our staff members are always keen on providing first class service and will be glad they have satisfied or even exceeded your expectations.

Once again I would like to thank you for your greatly appreciated comments and hope to welcome you back soon again here at the Elba Estepona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My daughter had been working hard at university and with a project straight after her exams, she needed a break and so I decided to take her to the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona. We were given a warm welcome and shown to our lovely Junior Suite overlooking the sea and the garden. The room was beautiful and spacious with a jacuzzi bath and spa shower. We were on all-inclusive and made straight for the Arena Restaurant for cocktails. The pool area was peaceful and relaxing, plenty of beds around. The food in the buffet was a little.... samey. All variations on a theme but no matter, it was fresh and there was plenty of it. We stuck to the pool area in the morning and went up to a terrace behind the heated pool upstairs in the afternoons because my daughter found the unheated pool a little too chilly. There, we found a heavenly spot with hardly any people and an incredible view of the beach.

There is no entertainment at this hotel, at least at this time of year. This did not matter to us, we just wanted peace and relaxation and this is what we got. Interestingly, we found all our fellow guests to be very nice which has not always been the case at other hotels, including more expensive ones. We used the gym every day (hot - no aircon?) and the spa only once. It was very pleasant, but we just wanted to be outside.

We had a wonderful stay and we only left the hotel to walk along the beach now and again.

The person who complained that the bar staff did not speak much English..... You are in Spain!! You cannot expect everyone to speak your language! We got by very nicely and they were happy to help us with our Spanish when we asked.

Our only complaint is that my daughter got a horrible shock when she turned the jacuzzi bath on, hair and scum came flying out. Lesson learned. Always flush through a jacuzzi bath without getting in!

I would recommend this highly to people who are in need of relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oxfordhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at our Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

It is a pleasure to hear that you are fully satisfied with your stay at our facility. We always believe that the welcoming of a guest is of vital importance due to wanting each and every one to be treated as a star..

We always try to keep the highest standards regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. Hence we are more than pleased to hear that your expectations were surpassed. We also have a team of gardeners and maintenence who all work extremely hard to maintain our outdoor areas and gardens in perfect conditions.

Our staff is always keen on wanting to provide all guests with the best and most memorable vacation possible. It is due to this unique desire to satisfy that such friendliness is perceived by all. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are always striving to achieve it. We appreciate your words and they will be passed on once again to our whole human team at Elba .

Regarding the entertainement, we start to offer every day live music a show´s 3 times a week and special animation programe for children, junior and adult from the 24th of June.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer you better service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are just back from spending a wonderful week at this hotel. It was quite by chance that we opted to stay here - and we will definitely be going back. The service was superb, and the staff very attentive in all departments - right from the moment we arrived at reception! We had booked a Junior Suite and were given a fabulous room with the most amazing balcony on the top floor with an perfect view of the private beach, and in the distance, Gibralter & the mountains of North Africa!. As my husband is disabled, it meant we could sunbathe in the privacy of our own room without him having to negotiate sunbeds round the pool. It was wonderful to wake up every day and listen to the sea lapping on the shore.
The main restaurant is buffet-style, where the food was always well presented, and there was a grill section where you could get fresh fish and meat cooked if you wanted. Brilliant! We ate in the Andalusian restaurant twice - the first meal was excellent, but the second time, the meal was not as enjoyable. However, service was first-class.
The hotel was very quiet - although fairly busy at the weekend - and the whole atmosphere was relaxing. Lovely lobby, nice pool area (with separate children's pool area), pleasant outside eating areas - all beautifully maintained and clean.
The private beach is a huge bonus, and the walkway between the hotel and the beach was well paved so easy for my husband to walk along.
Do not be put off by the dual carriageway that runs behind the hotel - try and book a room with a sea view - worth the extra pennies!
The hotel manages to offer all sorts of different packages successfully, whilst still running a four star hotel.
The hotel is not situated in Estapona town - so you will need to get a taxi if you want to go to the Sunday market or shop in town! It is great though, as it is in a residential area, so nice and quiet, and extremely relaxing.
Came home feeling very chilled and relaxed - brilliant hotel choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest


Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us. Your comments will be passed on to the entire work force, which take great pride in their work and will gain a lot of motivation from your words.

Our staff is always keen on wanting to provide all guests with the best and most memorable vacation possible. It is due to this unique desire to satisfy that such friendliness is perceived by all. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are always striving to achieve it.

We appreciate your words and they will be passed on once again to our whole human team at Elba Hotels.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Estepona to totally relax for the last week in May and chose the Gran Elba. The service was excellent and we couldn't have been better looked after, from the warm welcome on arrival to our departure seven glorious days later. Our suite was huge and very comfortable with a fabulous view of the sea and we happily spent our days by the very well serviced pool (a bit noisy with kids at times but we did choose to go during half-term week). We stayed on an all inclusive basis but paid a small supplement to have dinner in one of the three restaurants 5 out of 7 nights. Since it was not yet peak season, only one of the feature restaurants was open each evening - but there was always two menus on offer (personal favourite was the Asian Fusion menu). We would definitely recommend the Gran Elba.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure for us to find such an enthusiatic comment about our hotel, thanks also for taking time for letting us know your positive impressions about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to find out that you had a wonderful time amound us and that you enjoyed every single aspect of your vacation, particulary the spacious rooms with the fabulous sea view, the pool, as well as the delicious food and all the extra little comforts.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a very good 5 night stay at the Hotel Elba, we had a lovely large double room with sea view. The hotel is very attractive and the staff were very efficient and friendly, all the reception staff we spoke to all spoke good English and the bar staff also spoke it reasonably well, although we do try out our limited Spanish on them too. The hotel wasn't full which made it very tranquil and relaxing and it is on a lovely beach. Don't be put off by the dual carriageway outside when you arrive, as you are not aware of this at all once in the hotel or by the pool/beach. We spent a lovely couple of hours in the spa and didn't mind paying extra for this. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast is the normal buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order if required. One night we had been out walking round town all day, so decided to eat in the hotel at the buffet, which was the only thing I would say was disappointing, the salads were quite good, but there was virtually no choice of main courses apart from pasta, pizza, something in a hot plate which wasn't labelled and we didn't know what it was, the chef was also cooking fish steaks to order, but we thought at 39 euros a head plus drinks, this was a bit excessive considering the quality, therefore we were glad we weren't half board, also the atmosphere of the old town at night was much nicer. The hotel receptionist told us when we arrived that we could eat in any of the other restaurants, but needed to book in advance and we did see people eating in them during our stay, so they were open then.

Outside the hotel: the hotel is a bit out of town, surrounded by mostly apartments, there is a supermarket over the road bridge, then to the left, an easy 10 minute walk, there is also a brand new Aldi which looks like it will be opening imminently, virtually opposite the hotel. There are also 2 restaurants both within an 5-10 minute walk to the right of the hotel, one over the road The Menorah and one on the same side - El Dorado. We ate at El Dorado one night, we had the mixed seafood which was excellent, also the staff were very nice, but we thought it was a bit pricey - 19 euros for 2 tiramisus ! and it also didn't have the atmosphere of the old town, where we ate every other night, the old town is also much cheaper, even taking into account the taxi fair - 7.70 euros weekdays, 9.50 after a certain time in the evening and 9.20 weekend daytime, which if there are 2 + people seemed reasonable to us.
We also walked along the beach on the Sunday morning to the market at the marina, this is a really pleasant walk, with a mixture of promenade at the start , then beach and stony path. It took us less than an hour at a VERY leisurely pace, stopping to admire the view and take photos, you also pass 2 beach bars on the way once you get past the Estepona Palace hotel. After we had been to the market we carried on towards the town, (which is about another 20 minute walk to the old town), but stopped off after 10 minutes at a beach bar called Tropical for the second time during out stay to have lunch, which is really good, my husband had fresh sardines which the chef barbecued on the beach and you can just sit there for ages with a drink watching the world go by one the beach.
Some previous reviewers have said they never left the hotel, which is lovely for a relaxing break, but I really think you miss something special by not going to the old town, walking through it's narrow streets of mostly white houses, all covered in geraniums, then coming across little squares to have coffee or meals.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We pre-booked a deluxe sea view, which was lovely but the hotel gives you the option to upgrade on a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfl9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

Your detailed description of our services , facilites an location surely makes it more easy for other interested travellers to know what to expect when coming to our hotel.

We would be very pleased to have you back on holidays, and we hope you find the opportunity to have a longer break next time!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
893 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 35 in Estepona
1,417 reviews
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
740 reviews
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
9.8 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#7 of 35 in Estepona
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#5 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $143 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing