We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Peace & Calm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are just back from spending a wonderful week at this hotel. It was quite by chance that we opted to stay here - and we will definitely be going back. The service was superb, and the staff very attentive in all departments - right from the moment we arrived at reception! We had booked a Junior Suite and were given a fabulous room with the most amazing balcony on the top floor with an perfect view of the private beach, and in the distance, Gibralter & the mountains of North Africa!. As my husband is disabled, it meant we could sunbathe in the privacy of our own room without him having to negotiate sunbeds round the pool. It was wonderful to wake up every day and listen to the sea lapping on the shore.
The main restaurant is buffet-style, where the food was always well presented, and there was a grill section where you could get fresh fish and meat cooked if you wanted. Brilliant! We ate in the Andalusian restaurant twice - the first meal was excellent, but the second time, the meal was not as enjoyable. However, service was first-class.
The hotel was very quiet - although fairly busy at the weekend - and the whole atmosphere was relaxing. Lovely lobby, nice pool area (with separate children's pool area), pleasant outside eating areas - all beautifully maintained and clean.
The private beach is a huge bonus, and the walkway between the hotel and the beach was well paved so easy for my husband to walk along.
Do not be put off by the dual carriageway that runs behind the hotel - try and book a room with a sea view - worth the extra pennies!
The hotel manages to offer all sorts of different packages successfully, whilst still running a four star hotel.
The hotel is not situated in Estapona town - so you will need to get a taxi if you want to go to the Sunday market or shop in town! It is great though, as it is in a residential area, so nice and quiet, and extremely relaxing.
Came home feeling very chilled and relaxed - brilliant hotel choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest


Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us. Your comments will be passed on to the entire work force, which take great pride in their work and will gain a lot of motivation from your words.

Our staff is always keen on wanting to provide all guests with the best and most memorable vacation possible. It is due to this unique desire to satisfy that such friendliness is perceived by all. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are always striving to achieve it.

We appreciate your words and they will be passed on once again to our whole human team at Elba Hotels.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Estepona to totally relax for the last week in May and chose the Gran Elba. The service was excellent and we couldn't have been better looked after, from the warm welcome on arrival to our departure seven glorious days later. Our suite was huge and very comfortable with a fabulous view of the sea and we happily spent our days by the very well serviced pool (a bit noisy with kids at times but we did choose to go during half-term week). We stayed on an all inclusive basis but paid a small supplement to have dinner in one of the three restaurants 5 out of 7 nights. Since it was not yet peak season, only one of the feature restaurants was open each evening - but there was always two menus on offer (personal favourite was the Asian Fusion menu). We would definitely recommend the Gran Elba.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure for us to find such an enthusiatic comment about our hotel, thanks also for taking time for letting us know your positive impressions about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to find out that you had a wonderful time amound us and that you enjoyed every single aspect of your vacation, particulary the spacious rooms with the fabulous sea view, the pool, as well as the delicious food and all the extra little comforts.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a very good 5 night stay at the Hotel Elba, we had a lovely large double room with sea view. The hotel is very attractive and the staff were very efficient and friendly, all the reception staff we spoke to all spoke good English and the bar staff also spoke it reasonably well, although we do try out our limited Spanish on them too. The hotel wasn't full which made it very tranquil and relaxing and it is on a lovely beach. Don't be put off by the dual carriageway outside when you arrive, as you are not aware of this at all once in the hotel or by the pool/beach. We spent a lovely couple of hours in the spa and didn't mind paying extra for this. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast is the normal buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order if required. One night we had been out walking round town all day, so decided to eat in the hotel at the buffet, which was the only thing I would say was disappointing, the salads were quite good, but there was virtually no choice of main courses apart from pasta, pizza, something in a hot plate which wasn't labelled and we didn't know what it was, the chef was also cooking fish steaks to order, but we thought at 39 euros a head plus drinks, this was a bit excessive considering the quality, therefore we were glad we weren't half board, also the atmosphere of the old town at night was much nicer. The hotel receptionist told us when we arrived that we could eat in any of the other restaurants, but needed to book in advance and we did see people eating in them during our stay, so they were open then.

Outside the hotel: the hotel is a bit out of town, surrounded by mostly apartments, there is a supermarket over the road bridge, then to the left, an easy 10 minute walk, there is also a brand new Aldi which looks like it will be opening imminently, virtually opposite the hotel. There are also 2 restaurants both within an 5-10 minute walk to the right of the hotel, one over the road The Menorah and one on the same side - El Dorado. We ate at El Dorado one night, we had the mixed seafood which was excellent, also the staff were very nice, but we thought it was a bit pricey - 19 euros for 2 tiramisus ! and it also didn't have the atmosphere of the old town, where we ate every other night, the old town is also much cheaper, even taking into account the taxi fair - 7.70 euros weekdays, 9.50 after a certain time in the evening and 9.20 weekend daytime, which if there are 2 + people seemed reasonable to us.
We also walked along the beach on the Sunday morning to the market at the marina, this is a really pleasant walk, with a mixture of promenade at the start , then beach and stony path. It took us less than an hour at a VERY leisurely pace, stopping to admire the view and take photos, you also pass 2 beach bars on the way once you get past the Estepona Palace hotel. After we had been to the market we carried on towards the town, (which is about another 20 minute walk to the old town), but stopped off after 10 minutes at a beach bar called Tropical for the second time during out stay to have lunch, which is really good, my husband had fresh sardines which the chef barbecued on the beach and you can just sit there for ages with a drink watching the world go by one the beach.
Some previous reviewers have said they never left the hotel, which is lovely for a relaxing break, but I really think you miss something special by not going to the old town, walking through it's narrow streets of mostly white houses, all covered in geraniums, then coming across little squares to have coffee or meals.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We pre-booked a deluxe sea view, which was lovely but the hotel gives you the option to upgrade on a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfl9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

Your detailed description of our services , facilites an location surely makes it more easy for other interested travellers to know what to expect when coming to our hotel.

We would be very pleased to have you back on holidays, and we hope you find the opportunity to have a longer break next time!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

stayed in a luxury family sea view room last week. whilst the hotel itself is beatiful and the room was large and comfortable, with direct access to the children's pool, the service was well below the 5star standard. only two of the reception staff could speak English, whilst the rest of them appeared to not understand even the basic words like lemonade! a little bit shocking for such a tourist destination and certainly for a 5star hotel. only one of the three restaurants was open during the day and the hotel is around 10mins drive from Estepona which meant we had no option but to drive every evening in order to get some dinner. On a positive side, the facilities are gorgeous, the outdoor pools are very nice, albeit freezing cold as the weather wasn't that great, but this hotel should be 4stars tops.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room so that you are on the same level as the outdoor pools!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romka1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Client,

First of all a very kind and sunny regards from Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us. We have taken all appropriate measures to address the inconveniences you encountered.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer you better service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friend and I had a week at this hotel and were disappointed by it. It was clearly a 5 star hotel but it didnt reach our expectations at all.
We did get a very nice and large room with lovely bathroom. However our fabulous sea view could only be seen by standing up on the balcony. Sitting down at the table and chairs only gave us a view of the brick wall of the veranda and the plants on top. It felt like being in a cell and so we only used it on the first night.
There were some lovely bars and restaurants in the hotel - but no use to us as they were all closed.
We knew that the hotel was a way out of Estepona but were very disappointed with just how isolated it was. There were no beach bars within walking distance and only one restaurant (which was very nice).
So basically we felt we were stuck in the hotel, the weather was poor for 2 days, the hotel was dark and lonely, there was nothing to do in the hotel and we couldnt even sit on our balcony pleasantly. Thank goodness we had a car or I think we would have been looking for an early flight home.
Finding the hotel was also difficult. Our sat nav didnt pick it up and it was only by asking locals that we were able to find it. We wont be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day.

We are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this, I can assure you that cases like yours are very exceptional and the are very proud about the high satisfaction of our clients.


We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at The Gran Hotel Elba Estepona with my two sisters, we are age 49 - 52. We were on a golfing holiday and had a lovely week. The staff were all excellent and would definitely recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about booking this hotel, as it had mixed reviews, however, we had a wonderful experience, so much so, we stayed on for an extra two nights. We had a wonderful view from our fifth floor bedroom, with a balcony overlooking the pool and beautifully manicured gardens. The room was a deluxe double, quite spacious, with a separate bath and shower, complimentary toiletries, dressing gowns and slippers. The room had a mini bar, although there were no coffee or tea making facilities. All staff were professional, helpful and attentive and readily dealt with all our requests. We reported a problem with the air conditioning and were immediately offered another room. However, we preferred to stay in our original room and requested a fan instead and within a few hours an especially purchased fan was delivered to our room. The hotel is fairly isolated and there are only three buses a day into Estepona. Having said that, taxis are usually readily available at the hotel and it costs about eight euros for a single trip to Estepona Port, where there are some good restaurants and trips to be booked, with the town just a little further on. As with any five star hotel, food and drink is above average [eg cup of coffee costs 3.80 euros]. Breakfast caters for every taste, with juices, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, a variety of bread, cold meats, cheeses, also hot food and even a toaster.

Room Tip: We would recommend hiring a car, if not, it maybe cost effective to book half or full board.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbandtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the brief comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our clients enjoyed their stay as this is our main objective.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff , the room, food and the hotel facilities.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us. Your comments will be passed on to the entire work force, which take great pride in their work and will gain a lot of motivation from your words.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 34 in Estepona
895 reviews
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
746 reviews
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
9.8 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#7 of 34 in Estepona
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#5 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $145 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing