We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More friendly staff would help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this 5* hotel as part of a party of 20 ages ranging from baby, small children up to 60ish. I have to say that the Hotel was smart and the rooms I saw were excellent. The spa area was good as was the indoor pool. The time of year and weather made the outdoor pool impossible, but looked ok. The breakfast was very good every morning.
What has let them down apart from one or two helpful reception staff, was the sheer miserable faces of the rest of the staff and at times completely off hand. They were not helpful at all, paricularl;y the lobby bar staff, one of which on two occasions asked why we couldn't use the restaurant instead of what I assumed, was too much bother for him to order any meals for us. Even though it wasn't busy at times it would take 10 to mins to be served. Another issue is it is about 4.5 kms south of Estepona, which is a perfectly easy walk, except when you try you find you run out of pavements on unlessyou want to walk along the side of a fast dual carriageway you are stuck with having to get a taxi. You are able to walk along the beach but this is impossible if pushing baby buggies..If only they could sort the staff and service this Hotel would have had 4+ / 5 stars

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passport0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day.

We are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this.

We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Firstly i am an elba card holder, and for that, they looked after me better than any other hotel ive ever visited , and ive been going abroad since 1968 (i was very young)
i was allowed to check in early, i was upgraded to a suite which floor space was almost as big as my house, the suite reminded me of an early 1980s las vegas hotel suite, grand and large with possibly the best bathroom ive seen, it really was a 5 star bathroom,
TV bbc1 , sky news cnn news, pay per view movies, big beds very comfortable , sofa and comfy chairs, big balcony and 2 fullsize recliners , i was more than happy with my room,
my only gripe and its a common one, no real soundproofing, check in staff very pleasant , long walk to room , view was sea view although for first 2 days it was sea fog, only affected coast, inland was fine and sunny,
breakfast was fine, lots to eat i thought reasonably good quality, i also liked the evening meal,
with the hotel classed as a 5 star i always think its a rod for its own back,
top 5 star hotels vary depending on country, this hotel in my opinion should be classed as a very good 4 star, its probably the best hotel priced under a £100 per night that i have stopped in although being in a suite obviously helped, but in the 40 or so visits to the costa del sol , i would say this was the best, it does have a couple of problems, one of them is not the hotels fault, there was a couple of 3 year old children , maybe some aged a little older running around the dining room, now i`m not anti kid, but it shows a complete lack of respect for not only the hotel but for the other guests, thankfully not english but from another part of western europe,
If you cant control your children in a nice hotels dining room then you should stay somewhere else this is just my opinion of course,
food was very nice and tasty, the chefs were top class not just in cooking but in attitude as well,
the spa was not my scene at all, but i was a good quality spa, big jaccuzzi, steam rooms, cold showers which i didnt try!!, sauna, and water jets a very good spa if you like that sort of thing,
free internet at reception, free safe in room, free parking,
i had a look at a standard room and it looked very nice, big bed, , reasonable balcony, nice bathroom, good standard,
pool was reasonable, but i could imagine being tight in summer holidays,
the adult pool was very nice and chilled
the area i know quite well, its ok, but thats about it, narrow beach,
naturist just around the rocks
view of gibralter, from room,and the sunrises priceless once the fog went,
and to top it off
i was given a late check out on a spanish bank holiday weekend,
the service i got was 5 star, from the staff to the room,
the hotel itself is nearer a 4,
so to end
and recap
early check in, upgrade, free spa, and late check out,
thats very impressive service as i do not believe they could have done more,
i`m glad i joined the elba group.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exglobalagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with all the Trip Advisor Community. It is a great pleasure to receive such a motivating and positive feedback as yours.

Your comments help us to improve in our service and standars.

Looking forward to welcoming you at the Gran Hotel Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

For my birthday my husband and I decided to go to the Elba for a relaxing treat at the spa, we have both been and stayed at this hotel hotel before , I would say it was about 3 years ago, and I must say that the customer service received was shocking ! But neverthe less I decided to go back as the spa was excellent.
I prebooked my spa and the treatments beforehand on the phone, to avoid any disapointments, when I got there , the treatments were not booked,and the info I had received regarding spa entry times was all wrong!, I was made to feel as if it was my fault and as if I had talked to a phantom member of staff , the staff were unhelpful and arrogant plus the spa was not up to its usual standard, treatment showers Broken the salt in the water was so high that eyes and nose were painful!!!will never go back so many more quality spas to chose from up the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Tosca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit in our SPA at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day.

We are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this.

We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My Husband, 16 month old Son and I stayed at the Gran Hotel Elba in Estepona for 7 nights last week. Unfortunately this hotel was extremely disappointing. It states that it is 5*, the food is more like 3* if they are lucky. It was the same choices each day. The baby pool is so shallow, even a toddler cant swim in it! The hotel offers no entertainment or any kind of atmosphere. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was a lovely spacious room and balcony. The air con smelt of sewage which was not pleasant. There was no where to walk from the Hotel apart from 2 supermarkets, the whole area surrounding the hotel seemed derelict. To actually get into Estepona centre was 10 euros in a taxi each way. All in all it was an expensive holiday which we did not enjoy. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.

We value each and every comment from our guest and we are sorry to learn that some of our services did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the head staff members and will be used to guide our ongoing efforts at improvement.

We wish to provide clarification on your comment regarding the food in the Hotel : we have a strict HACCP plan managed by an external company together with our Executive Chef and . Regarding our purchasing policy, we would like to mention that, since our opening, we are orientated to buy the most high quality products as our goal is to provide our guest the best gastronomic experience.

Thank you again for your value feedback and we do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel belongs to the small luxury hotels collection, but it's far away from being so. It should not even have the rating of a 5 star.
If you wish to spend a nice holiday find some other hotel in that area where you get the value of the money you are paying. The Elba needs a total make over from the parking lots it has (very small for the amount of guests they accomodate) to the maintenance of the walls, the lights, the bathrooms ( the water comes out of the shower plate from one side into the wc side), etc.
The private beach which the presume they have is no longer than 2km with a hard and full of stones sand. The spa is not as big as they claim to be, the jacuzzi will fit marely 3 people inside at a time.
The swimming pool is much smaller than what it appears on the website and the children are running around and using the big pool instead of the children's pool.
The positive note is a hats off to the chef of the pool restaurant where you also have your breakfast. He took very good care of both of us being extrictly vegans.
I hope this reviews helps those of you who are looking for a hotel down in Estepona.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorpsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Client

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. We are really sorry to know that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We take all feedback seriously and we can assure that your comments and impressions will be carefully analyzed. Our client’s opinion is really important as it helps us to improve and provide the best service.
.
Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value give our location and extensive facilities. However, in your case, it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that, we are really sorry

We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel and have the oportunity to meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

No air con in any public areas - poor air con in room - had to queue for the cooked food - ciggy stubs around pool area - noisey until late - yet forced to wear long trousers for dinner ! Why it wasnt that good ! Left early n got stiffed on cancellation - was worth it just to leave ! Would never go back ! Plus point v close to 'jellyfish' beach - pool good temp

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notsramdamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

In reference to some of your comments, we would like to inform you that:

* The only places where we have not A/C are the hotel corridors to the rooms
* The Live Music in our Piano Bar finish at 24.00
* To wear long trousers for dinner is a standart in 5 Star Hotels in Spain, as well in many 4 star hotel
* All the beaches in south Spain have suffered a plague of jellyfish due to the hot temperatures

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions and to give us the opportunity to answer you .

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel is very luxurious and the Spa is absolutely marvellous. I particularly appreciated the adults only pool and terrace which is a lovely environment. The only area I'd criticise is the standard of the food which is quite poor but not untypical of spanish hotels. If the food was improved I'd have happily awarded 5 stars.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Highlander1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
9.8 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 34 in Estepona
711 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $144 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing