We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived in the sea fog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
carlisle England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Arrived in the sea fog”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Firstly i am an elba card holder, and for that, they looked after me better than any other hotel ive ever visited , and ive been going abroad since 1968 (i was very young)
i was allowed to check in early, i was upgraded to a suite which floor space was almost as big as my house, the suite reminded me of an early 1980s las vegas hotel suite, grand and large with possibly the best bathroom ive seen, it really was a 5 star bathroom,
TV bbc1 , sky news cnn news, pay per view movies, big beds very comfortable , sofa and comfy chairs, big balcony and 2 fullsize recliners , i was more than happy with my room,
my only gripe and its a common one, no real soundproofing, check in staff very pleasant , long walk to room , view was sea view although for first 2 days it was sea fog, only affected coast, inland was fine and sunny,
breakfast was fine, lots to eat i thought reasonably good quality, i also liked the evening meal,
with the hotel classed as a 5 star i always think its a rod for its own back,
top 5 star hotels vary depending on country, this hotel in my opinion should be classed as a very good 4 star, its probably the best hotel priced under a £100 per night that i have stopped in although being in a suite obviously helped, but in the 40 or so visits to the costa del sol , i would say this was the best, it does have a couple of problems, one of them is not the hotels fault, there was a couple of 3 year old children , maybe some aged a little older running around the dining room, now i`m not anti kid, but it shows a complete lack of respect for not only the hotel but for the other guests, thankfully not english but from another part of western europe,
If you cant control your children in a nice hotels dining room then you should stay somewhere else this is just my opinion of course,
food was very nice and tasty, the chefs were top class not just in cooking but in attitude as well,
the spa was not my scene at all, but i was a good quality spa, big jaccuzzi, steam rooms, cold showers which i didnt try!!, sauna, and water jets a very good spa if you like that sort of thing,
free internet at reception, free safe in room, free parking,
i had a look at a standard room and it looked very nice, big bed, , reasonable balcony, nice bathroom, good standard,
pool was reasonable, but i could imagine being tight in summer holidays,
the adult pool was very nice and chilled
the area i know quite well, its ok, but thats about it, narrow beach,
naturist just around the rocks
view of gibralter, from room,and the sunrises priceless once the fog went,
and to top it off
i was given a late check out on a spanish bank holiday weekend,
the service i got was 5 star, from the staff to the room,
the hotel itself is nearer a 4,
so to end
and recap
early check in, upgrade, free spa, and late check out,
thats very impressive service as i do not believe they could have done more,
i`m glad i joined the elba group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exglobalagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with all the Trip Advisor Community. It is a great pleasure to receive such a motivating and positive feedback as yours.

Your comments help us to improve in our service and standars.

Looking forward to welcoming you at the Gran Hotel Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    445
    194
    83
    49
See reviews for
628
657
42
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

For my birthday my husband and I decided to go to the Elba for a relaxing treat at the spa, we have both been and stayed at this hotel hotel before , I would say it was about 3 years ago, and I must say that the customer service received was shocking ! But neverthe less I decided to go back as the spa was excellent.
I prebooked my spa and the treatments beforehand on the phone, to avoid any disapointments, when I got there , the treatments were not booked,and the info I had received regarding spa entry times was all wrong!, I was made to feel as if it was my fault and as if I had talked to a phantom member of staff , the staff were unhelpful and arrogant plus the spa was not up to its usual standard, treatment showers Broken the salt in the water was so high that eyes and nose were painful!!!will never go back so many more quality spas to chose from up the coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tosca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit in our SPA at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day.

We are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this.

We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My Husband, 16 month old Son and I stayed at the Gran Hotel Elba in Estepona for 7 nights last week. Unfortunately this hotel was extremely disappointing. It states that it is 5*, the food is more like 3* if they are lucky. It was the same choices each day. The baby pool is so shallow, even a toddler cant swim in it! The hotel offers no entertainment or any kind of atmosphere. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was a lovely spacious room and balcony. The air con smelt of sewage which was not pleasant. There was no where to walk from the Hotel apart from 2 supermarkets, the whole area surrounding the hotel seemed derelict. To actually get into Estepona centre was 10 euros in a taxi each way. All in all it was an expensive holiday which we did not enjoy. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.

We value each and every comment from our guest and we are sorry to learn that some of our services did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the head staff members and will be used to guide our ongoing efforts at improvement.

We wish to provide clarification on your comment regarding the food in the Hotel : we have a strict HACCP plan managed by an external company together with our Executive Chef and . Regarding our purchasing policy, we would like to mention that, since our opening, we are orientated to buy the most high quality products as our goal is to provide our guest the best gastronomic experience.

Thank you again for your value feedback and we do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel belongs to the small luxury hotels collection, but it's far away from being so. It should not even have the rating of a 5 star.
If you wish to spend a nice holiday find some other hotel in that area where you get the value of the money you are paying. The Elba needs a total make over from the parking lots it has (very small for the amount of guests they accomodate) to the maintenance of the walls, the lights, the bathrooms ( the water comes out of the shower plate from one side into the wc side), etc.
The private beach which the presume they have is no longer than 2km with a hard and full of stones sand. The spa is not as big as they claim to be, the jacuzzi will fit marely 3 people inside at a time.
The swimming pool is much smaller than what it appears on the website and the children are running around and using the big pool instead of the children's pool.
The positive note is a hats off to the chef of the pool restaurant where you also have your breakfast. He took very good care of both of us being extrictly vegans.
I hope this reviews helps those of you who are looking for a hotel down in Estepona.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Client

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. We are really sorry to know that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We take all feedback seriously and we can assure that your comments and impressions will be carefully analyzed. Our client’s opinion is really important as it helps us to improve and provide the best service.
.
Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value give our location and extensive facilities. However, in your case, it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that, we are really sorry

We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel and have the oportunity to meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

No air con in any public areas - poor air con in room - had to queue for the cooked food - ciggy stubs around pool area - noisey until late - yet forced to wear long trousers for dinner ! Why it wasnt that good ! Left early n got stiffed on cancellation - was worth it just to leave ! Would never go back ! Plus point v close to 'jellyfish' beach - pool good temp

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notsramdamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

In reference to some of your comments, we would like to inform you that:

* The only places where we have not A/C are the hotel corridors to the rooms
* The Live Music in our Piano Bar finish at 24.00
* To wear long trousers for dinner is a standart in 5 Star Hotels in Spain, as well in many 4 star hotel
* All the beaches in south Spain have suffered a plague of jellyfish due to the hot temperatures

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions and to give us the opportunity to answer you .

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel is very luxurious and the Spa is absolutely marvellous. I particularly appreciated the adults only pool and terrace which is a lovely environment. The only area I'd criticise is the standard of the food which is quite poor but not untypical of spanish hotels. If the food was improved I'd have happily awarded 5 stars.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Highlander1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just back from a week at the Gran hotel Elba arrived on Thursday 12th july first off it is close to a main road but you hear no noise anywhere at the hotel.Parked at front door but no one came out to help us with our bags check in was quick and pleasent.Our room was 544 about as far as you can get from the reception as possible a really good walk the lifts are great press the button and they are there.Lighting in the passage ways was a bit iffy the first 2 nights but they sorted it out .The room was big nice balcony, lovely bathroom, bed are very hard but you tend to get use to them beds was changed when you put your card on the beds first let down no turn down service or chocolate on pillow 5 star touches.air conditioning very good .Breakfast is very good plenty of fruit, pasteries and fried food i had a lovely omlette every morning eveing meal different but you would not starve but not up to 5 star stanard.pool area very good more than enough sun bed we went to the adult pool area very quite just as we like it. the thing that made us laugh the most was the best Wi-fi was in our bathroom or at the pool side on the balcony we could only get the hotel next door . To round it off the hotel is about a 4 1/2 star with very good staff all very helpful big clean rooms and lovely grounds may be a tad to pricey but we enjoyed our week there

Room Tip: You need to be on a high floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

We are sorry to hear about the small inconvenience during your stay

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us. We have taken all appropriate measures to address the inconveniences you encountered.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer you better service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
862 reviews
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
9.8 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 35 in Estepona
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Property: Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#5 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing