We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation and beautful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Marriott Playa Anadaluza is a beautiful beachfront resort in Estepona on the Costa del Sol. It is an excellent resort to explore Costa del Sol.

The accomodation itself is excellent - spacious, clean rooms, great facilties / amenities and fantastic view from the rooms. There are shops and restaurants nearby where you can either eat out or buy groceries to cook yourself.

Resort has great facilities - nice restaurant & bar, good onsire mini store, leisure facilities.

Will stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Playa Andaluza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

I had a great time at playa. Take a trip to the surrounding towns, its worth it - especially Rhonda.

The beach is good (they've obviously done a lot of work to it, reading previous reviews) but its not located on pristine sand. When you take a walk up and down the beach, you'll realize the best sand in the area is at playa. If the wind picks up you can get ripped to shreds by the sand, in which case you can head back in to the resort and relax pool side. There's a 'hut' on the beach where you can grab a bite to eat/drink.

If you're into scuba diving, I suggest you leave your equipment at home (especially if you're an experienced diver). If you go into a dive shop they'll tell you of all the amazing wonders to see once you get under the water. I dove there for the 2nd time and on both ocassions it was extremely dissapointing.

Many things broke down in the room: remote control, dryer etc but they were fixed reletively soon. I jsut got tired of always having to complain about broken items. One of the DVDs I rented didn't work and they allowed me to take another movie not charging me for the original rental.

My only complaint was the friendliness of the staff. Most managers I spoke with were great and delivered when requiered but their subordinates were difficult to deal with (maybe I got a bad crop as I can see other people's reaction to the staff have been different). Regardless it was consistent through out the restaurant.

All in all, I will go back as I had a great time overall.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyingquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed here on a three day Marriott timeshare offer and then added night sto make up the week. If you get an offer to go take it up it is good value.
We didn'y buy into location as too expensive for us and we have Disney timeshare so no need.
The resort is out of town and you do really need a car. You can walk to some local restaurants but the main two lane carriageway splices right past the local amenity. Even with a car you have to get on and off by going to and frow the exit junctions in/out.
Quick to get to Marbella, P Banus, Duguesa or a good base for travelling to Seville, Grenada, Mijas etc.

Excellent rooms with top notch american style living. Proper Marriott style and total american condo resort even with the market place. If you've done Disney it's the same here. x 3 TV's with all main UK channels.

Four pools to choose from , one inside, the only one slightly heated. All others too cold for children to fully enjoy.
Good childrens programm not so good for teens. Basket ball court, tennis, shuffle board,teen club room.
Charge system was good to allow teens freedom to charge stuff like on a cruise.

Gardens and environment very good.

If nervous at night in the car, take the small 20km a side road to the left of property past taxi rank and you can get right along past to the pedestraen bridge to enable access over the duel carriageway. This means you can get to numerous restaurants on this side(good ones we tried ware Lebanese, exceptional service/value and the Steak.rib shack excellent steak a bit traditional in style) or cross over to Japanese buffet and many others.

Not so postives :-
No real bar in the evening. The bar is also the food outlet are so smells of burgers and chips and the outside sofas often wet after the days use.

Breakfast is very good but at 15e a head for 6 of us just was too expensive with the current exchange rates.

No room service but fast food able to take out from onsite restaurant

Most general areas were not cleared away enough. There was always stuff to clear or clean wherever we sat.

Beach not good for swimming but an okay spot for sunbathing

Main pools too cold , so children dominated the spa indoor pool and jacuzzi's, which meant the relax spa option was taken away.

If you get offered the timeshare deal the Crowne Plaza next door is also an option which gives a hotel luxury feel without all the children

We would go back as it is a relaxing, clean, wholsome environment, but with some proviso..must have a car..plan some days offsite to see the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coppya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The facilities are very nice, except the spas are not eated. The pools and beach are beautiful. The restaurant service and food were average. We were led to believe that Marriott is an non smoking facility and we found out after one night that we were in a building full of smokers. The building was very far from the pool and beach. They could not change our unit. They came whenever we called to spray deoderizer to mask the smell of smoke that seeped into our unit all day and night. We couldn't sit out on our balcony because of the smoke.
We used the resort as a base to sightsee from. We travelled to Gibralta, Ronda, and many of the small towns around Marbella. There are many restaurants of all types within a walk or short drive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vegaslady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We really enjoyed the Marriott. Very easy to find, easily accessible to Marbella and puerto banus and lots of lovely little villages such as Rhonda and Mijas. Beautiful apartment, very easy parking (you definitely need a car!), lovely pools, indoor pool is heated. lovely croissants in the mornings. Very very nice. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmcmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Another high quality Marriott Timeshare resort, this time the accommodation are fully featured apartments.

Great facilities, indoor pool great for kids, didn't try outdoor pools in February, but kids pool looked good.

Good mix of facilities, free Crazy Golf for kids went down well, also a decent kids room with pool tables & air hockey.

Really enjoyed our spring break here for week in February.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank willmoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This holiday was one of our best holidays as we had a lovely sea view room which was upgraded by the hotel staff as it was our anniversary. The appartment grounds was very well kept and could not be faulted. The complex could do with a bar seperate from the dining area which could be used by people who want to watch TV and socialize with other appartment members. The lack of wireless in the rooms was a small disappointment but not enough to spoil our stay, some poeple want to leave technology behind when they go on holiday but with everyone having iphones nowadays wireless seems to now be a standard. There were no lack of places to eat, the chinese which is in walking distance is absolutely wonderful and you wont be dissapointed its fabulous value for money. We hired a car and took a trip up into the mountains to Ronda its a must to see some history quite a lovely drive up into the mountains. A must if you like seafood is to go into Marbella and visit the seafood resturant you wont be dissappointed if you like fish and lobster. If you fancy cooking then go to the supermarket you cant go wrong. Two tips for this appartment stay, go and buy the fresh bread baked in the appartment shop in the mornings and check out the fresh large prawns from the supermarket.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biggyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
745 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 34 in Estepona
895 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.5 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#7 of 34 in Estepona
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $150 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing