We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solera Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solera Restaurant”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent an excellent evening in the Solera Restaurant listening to Antony Wolfson singing rock and roll favourites including Elvis and Neil Diamond. Tremendous atmosphere, everyone clapping along and dancing to the music.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    268
    44
    11
    11
See reviews for
501
333
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a beautiful resort in the south of Spain. It says it is in Estepona but it is actually about a 15 minute drive from the town of Estepona. The only reason this resort did not get an excellent rating is the location. To fully appreciate the wonders of the area you really would need a car and that is not ok with everyone. The bus from the airport is a 3 hour trip due to all the stops along the way, by car it is less than an hour. If you are more into relaxing than touring the area this place is ideal. It is possible to stay without a car and take the scheduled tours from the hotel if that is your style.
The resort itself is wonderful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with 2 baths, living/dining room and kitchen, also laundry room with a washer AND dryer. The balcony is wonderful for dining, look left and see the mountains, look right and see the sea. Housekeeping visits everyday to freshen up. The décor is up to date and in good shape. The grounds are well cared for and beautiful, many pools including indoor with 3 indoor hot tubs. On site is a well stocked store with fresh bread and pastries that are perfect for breakfast. Since the unit has a kitchen, you may wish to cook some meals, there are quite a few local grocery stores that can be reached by taxi if you don't have a car.
This is our second stay at this resort and we loved it both times. The staff is friendly, helpful and nice.
It is located on the beach but I would not come here for a beach vacation. The sand is dark more a combination of sand and dirt and the shoreline is very rocky. For Europeans this may be a very nice beach but for North Americans if you want a lovely beach go to Mexico, the Islands or even Florida.
If you don't mind driving in Europe this is a great place to stay. We day tripped by car to Ronda, Sevilla, Gibraltar and Granada as well as more local sites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmericanHomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

You will not be disappointed it delivers everything you would expect from the Marriott Group.

If you get the weather you can't help but enjoy your stay here. The apartments are well stocked with equipment to cook in if you wish to. The room is cleaned everyday. The complex is pristine as are the facilities like the out door pools and indoor pools, gym etc.

The entertainment on Thursday evenings are worth going to. It's a Spanish evening.

The only thing that's been extremely disappointing was nothing to do with this wonderful hotel/apartments but was the local Italian restaurant across the road over the bridge.

The food was tasty enough but tiny portions and they got our order mixed up and gave us the wrong pasta. The service was poor. I sadly would not recommend it. Unless you are extremely patient & on a starvation diet!

Plenty of good restaurants around. Try a great restaurant in Benhavis called Ruffino the French onion soup is good, the salmon in champaign sauce and the shoulder of lamb are delicious. You get complimentary nibbles & drinks.

Have a wonderful holiday where ever you end up going!

Room Tip: Because we don't have kids we would recommend being away from their play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BungleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Our team is thrilled to read your five-star Tripadvisor review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Marriott’s Playa Andaluza on your next trip to Spain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a wonderful resort with apartments so you can take your time in the morning, make coffee and eggs before setting out. Balconies overlook the beach and the Mediterranean. The furnishings are recent and comfortable. The grounds are immaculate. Restaurant is okay - some things better than others. Enjoyed the burgers and pasta the most. A bit out of the way but close the highway to catch buses to Marbella or Estepona. Concierge staff is fabulous. Be sure to ask where to go eat, etc. They are excited to give you their personal preferences. Tommaso was always excited to help out with suggestions, maps and his personal haunts for Tapas, etc. Ornella helped us out with tours that were wonderful. Went to Granada/Alhambra, a not to miss, and to Gibraltar. Weather was moderate, only rained once and lightly at that. They were doing maintenance to the resort but were very conscious of their impact on guests.

Room Tip: All rooms look out to the sea. Don't think there is a bad room to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s Playa Andaluza! We truly value your positive feedback and are glad our team exceeded your expectations on your recent stay. We hope you can visit us again soon on your next trip to Spain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a great stay at the Playa Andaluza and enjoyed the full service from the concierge staff, especially Ornella. She was so pleasant and always smiling, and helped us with all of our needs.
We did a side day trip to Tangier with a tour company that Ornella recommended and it was amazing. Tamara was lovely on the phone and attended to whatever issues we had. Not overly impressed with the restaurant, since my husband had had ordered calamari and it came out cold and partially frozen. The waiter was very gracious and apologetic, however the chef did not seem to want to hear it from the waiter. We felt a little tension seeing the kitchens reaction to our sending the food back. We were informed from our waiter that 95% of the seafood is frozen in most of the local restaurants which I feel is nonsense. We are at the sea, with plenty of fresh fish, so I think that was to pacify us. I do have one suggestion. I feel terrible, and I apologize that I put a laundry tablet into the dishwasher, but since it was under the sink, and nothing else was there to use othere than that, one would think that it goes with the kitchen. I would suggest you put it in the laundry room. The washer and dryer is a plus and great to avoid bringing dirty clothes home, but they not the most user friendly machines. It is printed in english, but still a bit confusing. Outside of equipment, the apartment was wonderful and so comfortable. We have been to other areas of Spain, however, this our first time in the beautiful Costa Del Sol Thank you for a beautiful vacation.

Room Tip: The Cadiz building is wonderful, close to the gym and pool area . Gorgeous ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flybysts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here 2 times now & must say in the area its the best resort by far.

All facilities are extremely well cared for, clean, comfortable & staff is extremely friendly too.

Its right on the beach but also has a great indoor pool & sauna for the chilly days.

Room Tip: Choose room on higher floor to get full sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miguel186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

There are many things to recommend this property - right on the beach, excellent pools including an indoor one (which came in handy in January), excellent staff and probably the best concierge desk we have ever encountered. Tommasso was superbly helpful. Lovely room with a terrace overlooking the Med. Decent gym. Everything very clean. Nice restaurant/bar with pleasant servers. Bella was lovely and made me a great Manhattan even though she said it was the first one she ever made! As others have mentioned, this is also a good base for exploring when it is not beach weather. We went to Ronda (highly recommended), about an hour away. Granada is a 2+ hour drive, but the Alhambra is well worth the trip. Also, don't miss nearby San Pedro de Alcantara for a slice of local life on a much smaller and less touristy scale than Marbella.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Playa Andaluza! We truly appreciate your kind words for the associates who assisted you during your stay. It is also rewarding to know your family loved the many amenities on property and close proximity to the beach. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
770 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
1,265 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing