We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
chester & houston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Annual family holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Yet again fully satisfied the needs of our family group of 12, with a mixed age range from 6mths - 62yrs - been coming for 9 years now and we seldom leave the resort during the day. This year the apartment had been freshly decorated and it showed. Did however notice that you had reduced the size of the towels :-(. As always rooms are well maintained, extremely well equipped and with a first class housekeeping service. The gardens are beautiful and they have a hard working team continually keeping it that way.
One of the things I like most is that although the Marriott may not get it right all the time they do seem to listen if customers take the time to point out issues - this year, improved breakfast in restaurant, better service at the pool bar, more upright chairs around the pool area and generally a livelier night time feel, we especially like the Caribbean night. Other than one breakfast at the restaurant - pretty standard buffet for a five star resort, did not eat there this holiday since it had been so bad in previous years, they will have to go some way to get us to eat there again. The poolside food was good though, we liked the extended menu especially the salads except for blinis - inedible, they went straight in the bin. The shop, though expensive is well stocked and worth every bit for the fresh bread and croissants. Now if they could just get rid of the flys.

Room Tip: The rooms are so similar it come down to stating what you want (yes, you generally get asked) - morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    279
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
520
342
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The interior of the rooms at this Vacation Club Property are almost high end in comparison to other vacation clubs. We were pleasantly surprised by this in-edition to the quality bedding. The pools were great and the property was very clean. The front desk were fabulous-helpful & accommodating. The area surrounding the hotel is a bit lackluster thus a car came in handy to see the real treasures outside the main tourist areas. Also, if you prefer to recycle garbage the program is not obvious and oddly inconvenient unlike the towel reuse program....

Room Tip: If you are an light sleeper request a room far from the BBQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waveblanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (two adults, two children – age 6 and 8) for two weeks in July/August 2013. We would agree with other reviews that the resort is clean, well maintained and generally of a good standard, although perhaps not quite in the “luxurious” category. There were plenty of facilities available (swimming pools, football goals, crazy golf, table tennis, etc) to keep us occupied, while the restaurant and shop in the resort were useful if somewhat expensive. However, the beach on which the hotel is situated is a little stony and as such we preferred going down the coast to Estepona. A hire car is essential given the resort location, but allowed for good day trips to a number of places including Gibraltar, Granada, Ronda and Marbella. We paid full price for the booking (i.e. there were no requirements to attend timeshare/sales presentations); however this did not stop the hotel manager from repeatedly pressuring us to attend such presentations despite our consistent “no”. This was a shame since we felt unnecessarily under pressure and had to avoid all contact with the person involved, including not answering repeated phone calls. In general though, the resort is highly recommended and will make for a great family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Amazing resort , we had a fanatstic time with the family here, spotless accomodation and all areas around just beautiful and defenitely will come back. The restaurant was pricy, but you have a fully equiped kitchen and can avoid going there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good:
- very nice modern vacation club, better than most (we've staid at several others before)
- a true island of beautiful architecture and calm surrounded by eyesores and a very busy over built area
- large rooms
- easy and free parking
- nice pools and don't feel too crowded even in August
- very international crowd, lots of kids aged 0-12 (didn't see a lot of teens)
- lots of things to do for little kids (ours is 6 years old), great pools
- very clean, very good beds and pillows
- lots of sports activities and ok fitness club
- the BBQ grills, also great to meet others
- the store has everything and only slightly overpriced

Bad:
- the location, this was our first time at the Costa del Sol and certainly last. We went exploring all around the resort but were massively disappointed. Marbella and Puerto Banus are simply forgettable and the area around the resort is very built up. The bad rep of the Costa del Sol is well deserved and this resort unfortunately is right in the middle of it.
- the beach: too rocky and not clean, not good for kids
- the restaurant, but you already assumed that anyway, ok for an emergency
-lots of shopping around the resort so you can get anything but of course that means you have to brave the eyesore that the Costa del Sol is

Tips:
- beat grocery store: El Corte Ingles Hipermercado in Puerto Banus, has everything and very high quality, fresh local and Spanish goods, parking is expensive though
- closer grocery store is the Mercadona about 2 Kms across the very busy highway (plus turnaround)
- next to the Mercadona is an Asian Bazaar which has everything you need for a beach vacation and is very cheap!
- before you drive to the resort, make sure you have good directions, it is not easy to find the exit and to get to the resort, much of the Costa del Sol has confusing roads, road names and intersections can be deadly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalPolyglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean. The facilities are varied and of a high quality. The spa was a treat. The staff are knowledgable and friendly. The food was very pleasant at restaurant. Very enjoyable stay overall. Concierge very helpful. Would love to come back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Playa Andaluza for three nights and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. This is not a "luxury" resort in the way one would relate the term "luxury" to the offerings of proper 5 -star hotels. However, the apartments (we had a 2 bedroom one) are very clean and nicely specced from radios with iPod docking stations through to Bosch appliances in the kitchens. And I would say 3 LCD TV's is definitely enough for a 2 bed.
We stayed in a ground floor apartment in Huelva, which is the building right behind the reception building. Given that we were, for once, traveling without children, the location of the apartment was ideal. No activities in the near vicinity, yet only a 2 minute walk to the closest pool. Which was a nice one. The resort is also very quiet at night, so one generally gets a good night sleep. I detected some noise on Saturday night from the restaurant, but am a very light sleeper.
Drawback or not, but as pointed out in other reviews, you really do need a car when staying at the resort. Though there is a small shop on site, you need to get to a proper shop to buy the essentials to benefit from having a kitchen and a dining table. Otherwise, you are stuck with the pricey on site restaurant.
All in all, a very nice almost secluded resort with good pools and a decent (if public) beach. We intend to go back with the children at a later stage, but it does work also without the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
597 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
831 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 35 in Estepona
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing