We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean. The facilities are varied and of a high quality. The spa was a treat. The staff are knowledgable and friendly. The food was very pleasant at restaurant. Very enjoyable stay overall. Concierge very helpful. Would love to come back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Playa Andaluza for three nights and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. This is not a "luxury" resort in the way one would relate the term "luxury" to the offerings of proper 5 -star hotels. However, the apartments (we had a 2 bedroom one) are very clean and nicely specced from radios with iPod docking stations through to Bosch appliances in the kitchens. And I would say 3 LCD TV's is definitely enough for a 2 bed.
We stayed in a ground floor apartment in Huelva, which is the building right behind the reception building. Given that we were, for once, traveling without children, the location of the apartment was ideal. No activities in the near vicinity, yet only a 2 minute walk to the closest pool. Which was a nice one. The resort is also very quiet at night, so one generally gets a good night sleep. I detected some noise on Saturday night from the restaurant, but am a very light sleeper.
Drawback or not, but as pointed out in other reviews, you really do need a car when staying at the resort. Though there is a small shop on site, you need to get to a proper shop to buy the essentials to benefit from having a kitchen and a dining table. Otherwise, you are stuck with the pricey on site restaurant.
All in all, a very nice almost secluded resort with good pools and a decent (if public) beach. We intend to go back with the children at a later stage, but it does work also without the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

All of the comments about the resort generally are spot-on - this is a very nice resort with lovely grounds and amenities.

We actually own a 3bedroom slot here in peak season, which we use for the kids, the nanny and the grandparents. We deliver them down from London, stay the weekend and then go home to work. This time, we decided to rent a separate room for my husband and I - so we got a "studio". It was pretty pricey, at €229 per night. We were there for two nights.

In contrast to our light and spacious 3 bed apartment, this studio was noisy, cramped and incredibly gloomy. It was a lock off from a 3bed, which means that it shares an entrance hall - with an extremely noisy slamming door - with a two bedroom appt. it did not face the gardens and had we been staying for more than a flying visit, we would have kicked up a real fuss. It was like being in a dungeon. Housekeeping was also next door to add to the noise.

In the bathroom, the shower was not properly attached to the wall.

All very disappointing, especially given how nice we know the rest of the property is. Still, free wifi is good.

IF TAKING A STUDIO DO NOT ACCEPT GROUND FLOOR AND SPECIFICALLY AVOID Huelva 3001.

Room Tip: This resort is not set up for studios. Specifically AVOID the ground floor and especially Huelva 300...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We found this resort excellent. Firstly we are in the Granada building. It is located right by the restaurant and children's pool. You don't have far to walk to get to anywhere around here which when you have 3 young children is definitely a bonus!

The resort is extremely secure, children's pool is accessed by gates where the handles are positioned high so little ones cant reach it.

The beach is a stones throw away with free loungers for Marriott residence.

The apartment is serviced daily and has a washing machine and tumble dryer which is extremely handy.

We cannot fault this hotel and will return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed by the standard of this resort. Stunning apartments with views across the Med. 4 swimming pools and a beach with one giant pool! We came on a 4 day trail and had the sales presentation to join Marriott Vacation Club and decided it was great value for money to join. So after been quoted a crazy amount of money from the Marriott Sales Rep we walked across the road to the Fab Timeshare Resales Office and saved ourselves 70% by taking over an existing membership that the current owner no longer uses. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foxtrotalfabravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Yes, you need a car, but I never travel without one. This is not the nicest Marriott property I have ever visited, but it clearly is Marriott quality. Our 2 br/2ba was, as requested, on a top floor with a view of the main pool and Sea. The beds were comfortable (except for the sleeper sofa) and it was appropriately furnished. There were some signs of wear. The daily tidy service included making beds, trash removal, loading dishwasher and replacing towels if requested. Underground parking was convenient. The pools were nice...possibly a bit more chairs and lounges needed to accommodate everyone. The restaurant was adequate, a bit pricey...but why use the restaurant??? The whole point of a timeshare, for us, is to be able to cook for ourselves. We ate 6 out of 7 days at our apartment and saved an estimated $1300 usd. That money paid for a private 5 hour sail on a 38 foot boat, a trip to Gibraltar with a private tour to the top and sites, a thrill ride on a paratrike (google it!), intro to scuba course for 2, road trip to Rhonda, expensive dinner in Benahavis and some shopping at the street markets in Estepona, San Pedro, Puerta Banus, Marbella. The activities at the resort for teens were weak at best . The Market was adequate and expensive...fresh bread was the bargain and the croissants were very good. Concierge was happy and helpful. All service personnel seemed welcoming and friendly. I read lots of complaints about the beach...it's great! It's a beach on the Mediterranean Sea and it's fine. No, it's not like the white sandy beaches you find in the Caribbean because it's not the Caribbean! The sand is a dirty brown and the shoreline is a bit rough and the shoreline is not perfectly maintained...it's Spain...other lands, other customs! There could be more lounge chairs on the beach. We felt safe in and near the resort...lots of talk of pickpockets...use your common sense and be slightly more alert and you will be fine. The Playa Andaluza met our needs and we would not hesitate to return if staying in that part of Spain again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our room was a double. It was very roomy! The bathroom was also very nice size and loved the little extras and amenities! The swimmingpool bar was a nice little extra! Our room faced the gardens and part sea view so we couldn't ask for anything better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.7 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
795 reviews
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.5 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 34 in Estepona
708 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $135 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing