We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveler rating
898
321
50
14
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
321
50
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolera restaurantantony wolfsonmarket placemarriott resortvacation clubmini golftypical marriottexcellent resorton site restauranthome resortindoor poolthree bedroomcrazy golftime sharefull kitchenfitness classestwo bedroom apartment
Filter
Updating list...
764 - 769 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my family of 4 in April 2013. The resort is fairly difficult to find the first time and the signs tend to route you towards the Marriott sales center instead of the reception desk. Check-in was very friendly and the front desk agent was efficient and informative. Parking is also great as they have one of the largest and cleanest underground parking garages I've seen anywhere. Our 2 bedroom condo is on par with what you would expect at a traditional Marriott time share with above average finishes and cleanliness. The furniture in the living room is a bit dated and the sofa is fairly uncomfortable but overall the room was on par.

There are two downsides to this property for me that will preclude my return. First, the location is simply awful if you want to go off the resort. Absolutely no shopping or retail anywhere close and you have to drive or take a bus to get to any other tourist type activity. They are hampered by their beach as well as it is ugly, rocky and unkempt. Granted, we've spent quite a bit of time in Hawaii and the Caribbean so we are somewhat spoiled but it was apparent to me nonetheless. The second issue we had was with the food and beverage operation (or lack thereof). They know they have a monopoly over all the guests dining needs and as such, have mediocre food, high prices and an indifferent staff. Not awful mind you, but I would not eat there a second time given another choice. This seems to be a common comment by some of the detractors on this site.

If you are looking for a Spanish Mediterranean Resort then keep looking as you can do much better than this. If you are looking for an American Style all-inclusive type of feel then you will love this place.

In short, nothing awful to say about the place but it also didn't create any memories for our family at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As an owner at this resort we know what to expect when we visit. As part of the Marriott Vacation Club portfolio it is of a higher standard than many of their US counterparts (in my opinion). We visited during the Easter break and were provided with a third floor apartment in the Granada building. The balcony is triangular and had a sea view to one side and a mountain view to the other. Being on the top floor means that there is no-one above. The apartments are tiled throughout which means they can be quite noisy with chairs scraping across floors and heavy footsteps, children running etc.

The apartment was well maintained with daily maid service. Fully equipped with cooking utensils and pots, pans etc. The grounds are immaculately maintained and the staff were excellent.

There are two downsides to this resort. The restaurant, Solero, serves mediocre food at expensive prices. It abuses it's monopoly and is best avoided despite being convenient. There are better restaurants within walking distance.

The second downside are the outdoor pools. There are three of them and none are heated. Even the outdoor 'hottub' was not heated! According to the manager, Spanish law prohibits outdoor pools being heated with anything other than solar power. Unfortunately it would appear, so I'm told, that there is no space within the resort to install panels to provide the heating. Consequently you have a ridiculous situation where it is warm enough to sunbathe but no-one can stand the pool, therefore if you want to swim and particularly if you have kids, then you have to use the indoor pool. This becomes incredibly overcrowded and is not enjoyable.

This is the major downfall with this resort and if you want to visit and be able to sunbathe whilst your kids play in the pool do not consider this place unless it is during the months of July, August and September.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. The higher the better and if you're top floor then there's less noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PompeyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent a week at this Marriott at the end of March. The resort is lovely, the condos are well equipped, the beds are wonderfully comfortable but most of all the staff is unbelievable. Roberto checked us in and gave us a wealth of information at that time and through out our stay. Ornello and Tomaso at the concierge desk were the best I have ever worked with - their recommendations and directions were spot on. I felt as if I had my own tourist office working just for me! It was worth staying at the resort just for their expertise. The negatives - the resort feels more American than Spanish, no heated outdoor hot tub and no shops and restaurants within walking distance. It is a great base for doing day trips to old town Marbella and Malaga and to the white villages.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the Cadiz building overlooking the sea with an east facing balcony for the morning sun. This building overlooks the pool which we loved.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Marriott´s Playa Andaluza is a stunning oceanfront resort near the “Millionaire´s Paradise” of Puerto Banús. The elegantly appointed and spacious apartments accommodate up to 6 or 8 guests. The resort offers an array of amenities on-site inluding fine dining, a prestine beach, relaxing pools, a great fitness center and nearby golf courses.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneworld2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for five nights with my husband and our three teenagers. The check-in was efficient and friendly. Our request for an upper floor apartment with sea view was granted without the slightest of hassle . The apartment was luxurious and equipped with all the necessities and more e.g tea pot and juice squeezers! Even the pullout sofa bed was to an exemplary standard of comfort to the delight of my son. The sports facilities were easily accessible and there was a wide variety of actIvities catering for all ages and interests. Rental car would be recommended as very little shops and restaurant within walking distance. The Italian across the footbridge was pricey compared to surrounding towns such as Benahavis where good food was well priced such as Amigos and Lascalara. Golf galore nearby however do homework on prices and course difficulty before booking

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMAST5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews