We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveler rating
898
321
50
14
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
321
50
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolera restaurantantony wolfsonmarket placemarriott resortvacation clubmini golftypical marriottexcellent resortconcierge deskon site restaurantindoor poolhome resortthree bedroomcrazy golftime sharefull kitchenfitness classes
Filter
Updating list...
1,020 - 1,025 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We have just returned from an excellent stay at the Marriot Andaluza and had a great time. The hotel is part of the Marriot vacation club so all rooms are ethier 2 or 3 bedrooms. I do think they have a few lockout units but I have read from other tripadvisors that they are very small. We stayed in the two bedroom. The condo was great. Everything you need is there encluding a glass pitcher to make Sangera (which we did everynight). The bathrooms are large. They are doing construction on there last aset of rooms but it is all inside decorating so you do not hear a thing. All the pools are great. They have a great pool for the kids and a very relaxing pool for Adults. If you are looking to find a great beach this is not the place for you. Although they had nice lounge chairs, the sand is a bit rocky. The do have a greatplace to dine and also a market.
I suggest renting a car. It is quiet far from nightlife and sightseeing. Driving inthe area is not bad at all. At first its hard to get used to the around abouts. After a few drives you will be fine. Thdy do have alot of excursions and tours but we did it on our own. Ask at the desk and they will give you great directions for any where you want to go. Make sure to go there when it is not raining. Not much to do there when the weather is bad(our first two days we had down pours of rain).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbernie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We visited this beautiful resort on the Mediterranean Sea during "off season" and got a wonderful rate through Interval International. Our unit was spacious, clean, and well laid out for two couples. The appliances, kitchen, and baths were high-end and we definitely enjoyed our terrace overlooking the pool area, palm trees and the Mediterranean.

There are two outdoor pools (too cool for us to take advantage of during this visit) and an indoor pool, which we didn't use because we were busy sight-seeing. The on-site restaurant is very good and quite reasonable. The concierge and in fact all the staff were extremely helpful in answering questions and helping us to book sight-seeing trips.

This hotel doesn't lack for "do it yourself" activities. There's a pool table, ping pong table, outdoor chess, shuffle board, mini-golf, small video game room and computer area. Also a small convenience store on-site. There are organized activities, which we didn't take advantage of. The beach area is on the small side, and is a little rocky, but Downtown Estepona, about 6 miles away, has a miles-long promenade on the beach. We would return to this resort in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kayladog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

I go here twice a year and cannot recommend it highly enough, never overcrowded, great staff, gorgeous roms and great amenities including gym, shop and restaurants. definitley worth its 5* rating!! Good luck getting booked in though!

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank HolidaygoerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We visited Marriott Playa Andaluza as part of a 'cheapie' preview package organised by American Airlines. It is a lovely resort with excellent facilities and beautifully furnished and luxurious apartments. My only criticism would be that the outdoor pool was closed for the winter even though the temperature was about 20 degrees. There is a nice indoor pool but the water is so warm it's like getting into somebody else's bath water.

The resort is in a really terrible area, surrounded by tacky golf and retirement complexes and huge numbers of dusty construction projects. The inhabitants of this coast seem to be aging British lager louts who spend most of their time shouting into their mobile phones. There are no decent restaurants or bars within walking distance.

We attended the vacation club sales presentation and, unlike one previous contributer, I did find this rather aggressive and unpleasant although there was no real pressure put on you to buy. One thing that did strike me as odd is that the vacation club seems to be run by a company called Interval Travel and not Marriott which was not made clear at the beginning.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We traded to go this Marriott through Interval - we've stayed at many of the MVC resorts and are used to their high level of standards. We have also stayed at the Marbella vacation club - and of the two this is the nicer resort. The beach area and amenities are nicer here than in Marbella. Our biggest complaint with the Playa Andaluza is the size of the studio unit. We have stayed in several studio units, since it is just myself and my husband, but this is by the far the smallest - smaller than most hotel rooms we've stayed in. There was only room for the bed, a small table and two chairs, and some built in storage. There is a small refrigerator, sink, and microwave.

We enjoy the Costa del Sol for its proximity to other sites in southern Spain and this resort makes it easy to get to Ronda, Cadiz, Granada or Seville easily within a day. This was our first time trying the golf courses and enjoyed LaDuqesa - the resort had a good deal which combined green fees and cart rental.

Overall we enjoyed our time here, but would use the extra points to get at least a one bedroom in future visits.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mariruthl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews