We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
newmarket
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely week”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have visited this resort and I think it was even better this time! Arrived mid afternoon Sunday and was promptly checked in. Apartment was two bed and extremely clean with everything you expect from a Marriott. Unfortunately we had rain for most of the week so didn't get to experience the outdoor pools, the main one was being repaired. It was great to have the gym and indoor pool and again these were very clean. We didn't use the onsite spa as we thought it was a bit pricey. Staff were extremely friendly in the bar and restaurant and the food served was lovely, the Flamenco evening made a nice change. I would agree with others that eating places within walking distance are in short supply, however if you are prepared to drive then there are some great places around. All in all a great week away and look forward to returning, hopefully when the sun is shining!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackoNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    277
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
514
342
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We has just had a very wet but lovely week here.Having stayed at many Marriott places before we always expect great service but I felt this place deserved a special mention. The staff were wonderful all so pleasant and helpful.Our apartment was immaculate, the grounds were really well maintained.The food in the restaurant was absolutely superb and the service was excellent.Keep up the great work Playa Andaluza!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Marriot resort is about 45 minutes drive from Malaga Airport down the A7 Motorway, it is easy to find and the directions we were given were clear with good checkpoints, however be warned that Spanish Motorways have less warning of junctions and turn offs than UK /Dutch/German M Ways. Also stay off the AP-7 which I believe is a toll road.

The resort is 5 star, it is an impressive location, and the apartment we had was two bedrooms for my wife and I , our two year old, and my mother in law. The apartment has a lounge and kitchen diner, utility room, and two bedrooms and two bathrooms , ours had a huge bath, and shower, the other one was a bath & shower as well. The standard of furnishing and décor is very high, all rooms had TV,s and we had a DVD player as well, with international as well as Spanish channels. The kitchen was super equipped with cookers, dishwasher, fridge freezer, utensils., glasses, cook ware, microwave, and more, so you can easily cook, and buy your own food. We were first floor, and the buildings have basement parking which there are lifts down to, very convenient for large amounts of luggage we were carrying. Check in was a delight , quick, convenient, prepared, no form filling etc. There is a convenient little supermarket on site you can juts bill what you but to your room. There is a very plush indoor heated pool, with multiple Jacuzzis , kids pool, and very modern gym and saunas all to a very high standard of equipment.

There is a dining area (casual) and bar with some nice staff , who are polite,efficient, and well trained , the food is very good there and well priced , again you can charge direct to your room.
I ordered flowers as a mothers day gift from my son to my wife , the staff organised this without any issues at all.

There are two kids areas with ball pools, and toys etc which were well equipped, safe, and very clean, in terms of facilities, its hard to fault the place, there are also tennis courts, ping pong tables, giant chess and draughts boards, outdoor pools and outdoor kids pools, and so on .

Externally it is very Spanish in style (nice) and the gardens and layout of the buildings is very impressive, and absolutely immaculate.

My minor issues are the following, the beach fronting it was stony , gravelly, and not all that attractive, there were a few niggles at night with the power turning off at night, also there was some work going on during our visit , we went to sit outside for a drink, at that point the refurbishment of the outside pool started , and drills , hammers, etc all banging away, i know work has to be done , however it was unfortunate timing. We also had a crew cutting trees on a Sunday ,morning at around 10.30 right outside the window, again work has to be done , but timing was poor.

Check out was fine, although we literally had a maid knocking at the door the second the clock struck the hour, which was a little too efficient. It is very near Puerto Banus , 16 euro in a cab, but is kind of out of a town , Marbella centre is about a 25 minute drive, parking quite easy there. You are going to need a car basically if you have children, if you do have children note the hire car companies have child seats , but do NOT fit them , you need to do that at the pick up. Unless you stay at the resort the whole of your time and you easily could , you will need a car.

I enjoyed it, it was relaxing , great place to stay, and very high standard of accommodation, immaculately kept, however slightly removed from any nearby towns, and you will need a car in my opinion.

Room Tip: You will need to ask to get a view of the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnyboy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a week here and traveled the south of Spain. You can not go wrong with this property. The lights went out periodically when it rained but other than that the trip was perfect and everything about this place was great.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house but the garden view was best for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBS911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a week here at the end of February.

Total Marriott experience. Love these places.

Great facilities and rooms. Lovely, friendly people. Beautifully maintained grounds.

The worst and most over-priced restaurants and marketplaces ever!

Same as every Marriott resort I have ever stayed at. So why do I stay here? Because they are beautiful, efficient, and centrally located to great sights and restaurants.

Hence - 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bantling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here in November for a week in a 2-Bedroom Condo. Although the condo did not face the water, it did overlook the pool area and we were quite impressed with the level and quality and comfort of furnishings. The staff was very friendly and could speak English very well. The beach area was rocky and too cold for swimming, but you could see the mountains from Morocco across the sea, which was exciting. There is a very good restaurant on site, that we ate at one evening, an indoor pool and workout facility, a snack bar by the pool, a gift shop, and a grocery store onsite. The grocery store had delicious chocolate croissants each morning. The only thing i wish was better was if their concierge would come in earlier. Often we would already be out enjoying the sights by the time they would show up. The lady at the sales office kept calling asking us to tour the facility, but we just disconnected the phone and that took care of that!
You do need a car if you visit, as things are all within driving distance (restaurants, grocery stores, Mirabella downtown, etc). once you get use to the expressway system in the area, then you are fine. One more hint, watch the speed limit on the toll roads. They have photo radars in place everywhere and you dont want to be like me and get suprise tickets in the mail a month later from the Spanish government.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wyoming
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

If u have been to Hawaii don't waste your time in this destination . This is an European attempt at making a beach destination, well this is a 3 day weekend at best. Yes it's sea front , yes it is Marriott quality , but this resort is short staffed and the majority of the staff that are at the record are very complacent . Very un eager to deliver. Most of the staff are just lazy , that I encountered. The resort is Extremely hard to find and the staffs directions to destinations is completely ridiculas . I spent every day trip lost. The rental car companies did not have a GPS for use. The main pool was under major construction and very , very noisy with hammering ect. Really it's to bad this could be a better experience if the staff was more eager and the resort is extremely stingy. It is impossible to get an extra bar of soap ect . I was frustrated with this stay at this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imc410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
543 reviews
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
805 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,325 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing