We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, pity about the food”
Review of Diana Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diana Park
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Spotless functional room with excellent air conditioning.
Room did not come equipped with a fridge, but we followed the advice given on this site, requested one, and a large fridge appeared in our room later that day.
Staff friendly
Pool fine, but not much else to do at the hotel except a couple of pool tables.
Hotel right on major road, so travelling about is easy
Own transport needed, as apart from a parade of about 20 shop including bars, restaurant and supermarket, there is little worth visiting in the vicinity that could be reached on foot.
Within the parade of shops there is a very good Chinese restaurant called Guang Dong, who served us food at midnight following our late arrival at the hotel.
Even using SatNav the hotel was difficult to find in the dark on our first night, as a couple of miles before you reach the hotel there are major roadworks which take you off the SatNav route.
Only complaint was the food, there wasn't much choice, just one meat, one fish and one veg dish each evening, but as this is a small hotel you expect that, but we didn't find it very appertizing. Plentiful salads though
Breakfasts rotate every three days, each day there is one egg option, one meat option and beans.
However, overall good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

We booked this hotel on the last minute and travelled with our 12 year old son, afetr having a nightmare with our car hire we started to wonder what the hotel was going to be like. We arrived to a wonderful little hotel with a ver inviting pool. Our check in was effortless and the room was nice with air con included which was a god send as the weather was touching 40 every day. I have a bit of a gripe about bathrooms but no need with the bathroos at this hotel, clean and modern and the maids came every morning cleaned our room, made our beds and gave us clean towels. The food was what i would expect but if you didnt want what was offered in the hot plates you can have salad and pasta and soup, the desserts were the same each evening but you did have a choice of around 5 or 6 different things.
The hotel is situated off the duel carridgeway and is very easy to find, they offer free secure parking, the staff are very happy to help with any questions, the beach is i would say at least 30 mins walk away and is very stoney you will find nicer if you travel a little further out. I would reccomend car hire but you can still catch the bus 5min way from the hotel to Benavista, Puerto Banus and Marbella.
The hotel is widely used by the Spanish but we didnt find this a problem.
We had a lovely 10 days here and were very happy with the hotel in its entirety.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyanneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel is little expensive during peak tourist time.Rooms are clean and good to sleep.
Please carry your own toiletieries as except for hand wash soap nothing else is provided.
Breakfast is not much to talk about.
Wifi is free and spead is good.
Enough parking space for cars.
Good view of swimming pool for almost all the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We read the good and the bad reviews for this hotel and decided to give it a try. The location isn't too difficult to find despite what some people have said, it's the exit immediately after Benahavis (169 on the A7) and there are signs up to Diana Park from thereon. The hotel was very clean, the staff were polite and friendly and very helpful at all times and even though we struggled with the Spanish, they were more than happy to speak in English and to teach us a few words or two. The decor is a little dated but it didn't cause any issues. It was clean and roomy and that's all we bothered about. We went half board and both the breakfast and evening meals were plentiful and very tasty - there was something for everyone. fresh fruit juices, cereals, pastries, English breakfasts and for evening they had chicken, fish, pasta, chips, mash, salads and we sampled everything! The pool was maintained every week and despite all the sunbeds being around it, they were rarely all full. The hotel was busy but there was no pushing or rowdiness. There was a good mix of people, families, business people (who quite happily worked on their laptops in the reception area on the free wifi available). Our rooms were cleaned every day, bedding changed, fresh towels etc. We had the use of a free safe in our wardrobe and we had soap/shampoo provided complimentary. Each room benefits from air-conditioning which can be a bit loud but it's a noise you get used to and it really makes a difference! You need a car to be able to get around and the use of the free car park at Diana makes it even more attractive. Security gates protect your vehicles with CCTV and an intercom system means the kids can't just wander off. We traveled as two sets of, two adults and a child (four adults, two children (aged 10 and 11) - in two rooms). Around the corner from the hotel is a supermarket, pharmacy, gift shop, restaurants and pubs (English and Irish), there is a bank and cashpoint within walking distance. The beach was 20 mins walk away but was gravelly. The more 'sandy' beaches were towards Estepona or Benalmedina. We visited beaches, docks, shopping centres, theme parks, safari parks, zoo's, crossed the border to Gibraltar, went into the mountains to Ronda, admired the multi-million pound yachts at Puerto Banus - the A7 is a great coast road to get to everywhere you need to go - just be careful of other drivers as they really don't care if they cut you up or run you off the road. Saying that, we all had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirk7428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

just returned here again for 17 days in june - half board.Myself,my wife and my 18 year old daughter in her own room.Worked out about 17 pounds each night.Booked with LASTCHECK.CO.UK.You cant beat this for value with the meals thrown in.No other hotels in the area can match this price.This hotel really has to be used as a base to visit nearby san pedro,marbella,puerto banus and estepona- all a few minutes away.It is best to have a car to get around however the buses stop right outside the hotel and are so regular and cheap its a dodle to get around.Ther is not really much in the viccinity of the hotel except for a few small restaurants,an irish bar (very good quality) and a supermarket.The beach is about 10 to 15 minutes away - so dont expect this area to be the lively majorca/benidorm type.It is a very quiet hotel and great for relaxing.Many spanish families use it at weekends and the bar is shut at midnight.All nice people here andno yobbish types.Great staff.Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed.Sheets twice a week.Teenagers will find this hotel boring with not much to do or in the hotel surrounds.However my daughter loved the shopping in the towns and at the markets and was glad to come back to the hotel for a rest and swim after marathon shopping trips!!So if you like a quiet relaxing holiday,with no anti social behaviour,and prepared to get out and about,and having good attentive staff at an unbeatable price then this is the place for you.I am returning again in october and cant wait.Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desmondoSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed in Diana Park for two weeks, we chose the hotel due to it's location (close to Marbella and within easy reach of Gibraltar).

The room was very clean, it had two twin beds and was made up every day. We were on the second floor up in the Granada block. The balcony looked out onto the swimming pool. The style of the hotel is quite dated, it reminds you of the 70's. There was a strange looking air con in the room, with hot and cold settings despite being old, it did work suprisingly well.

There was a TV, quite old looking and had mainly Spanish channels apart from American CNN. The bathroom was nice, the shower was good and the water was very hot. The only complaint we had with it was the smell, every now and then it didn't smell the best, seems like it must have been something to do with the pipes. We bought a bottle of bleach for 30 cents from the local supermarket and this seemed to help.

Fresh towels were provided every day and there was also a safe within the room.
There were a few drawers but not much wardrobe space.

We had free breakfast included in our stay however we were not impressed by it.
The cereal was a bit stale. The only good thing to get at breakfast was toast and the orange juice. Croissants and yoghurts were also available as well as coffee and tea but they were not the best.

As the hotel is not in a main tourist area you do need to hire a car to get around, we hired a car from the airport - malagacar.es.

It is okay for value and good for getting around the costa del sol, we went in February which is obviously not a typical time of year to go.

I would not recommend it for a holiday as the hotel does not have many amenities, however it may be better in the summer when the weather is far better.

Overall we would give the hotel a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Diana Park is a good all round hotel and offered us excellent value for money - it certainly justifies it's 3-star rating and I would put it at the higher end of that category. I guess it was built in the 70's and most of it has not been refurbished but this is simply a comment, not a criticism.

The room was basic but spotlessly clean and the decor was reasonably fresh. There was air-con, hairdryer, TV and a safe in the room (which was free to use), but no fridge or kettle. We were upstairs, on the side nearest the main road and were not disturbed at all by traffic. It would be worth asking for downstairs as your patio door would lead directly to the pool. The pool again was spotlessly clean and the surrounding tiled area and gardens were well kept. It was mainly families when we were there, quite a few Spanish. There was absolutely no rowdiness of any sort.

The food was the usual Spanish hotel buffet style but as this is a fairly small hotel the choice was not as large. Breakfast comprised cereal, cold meat/cheese, fruit, sausage or bacon (generally not both the same day), eggs, plus croissants etc. Evening meal comprised soup, usual salad bar and cold meat, choice of 3 main courses ie fish/meat/vegetarian, with fruit and ice-cream to follow. All drinks in the evening had to be paid for including bottled water, but were reasonably priced. One slight peculiarity was that you were not allowed to leave a half-consumed bottle of wine for the next night, never encountered this before. Food was good quality and well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful.

There are a couple of restauants and bars in the adjacent area and a good SuperMercado.

This is a hotel for travellers with a car. There is not a lot within walking distance and I don't think the local bus is very frequent. But with the car it's a good base for some days out. It's about 50 mins from Malaga Airport. Follow the A7 / AP7(E15). The AP7 is the toll (Peaje) version of the A7. Sometimes the A7 and AP7 are in fact the same road and there is no toll. At other points they are distinct so unless you are in a tearing hurry follow the A7, it's a good dual carriageway and will only add 5-10 mins to your journey but will save quite a few Euros over the toll road. Heading west on the A7 just past Puerto Banus watch for the exit for Benahavis and take the unmarked exit about 300 yards further onto a service road which runs parallel. You will see the Diana Park on your right after about another 3-400 yards. If you're still on the dual-carriageway when you see it, bad luck, you would need to go a further 2 kilometres until you see "Cambio de Sentido" (change direction) at a junction then double back. Approaching from the East (Estepona, Gibraltar, etc) on the A7 watch for the hotel on your left then take the Benahavis exit, go under the dual carriageway then join it again heading west before coming off onto the service road as above. To leave the hotel and head west is easy, there is a slip on to to the dual carriageway just past the hotel. To head east is slightly more difficult, you can either join the dual carriageway heading west for 2 kilometres (as above) and then double back. Alternatively you can turn right out of the car park, right again past the hotel's front door, keep on past the shops to the T-junction then turn left (away from the dual carriageway) and follow that road as it curves through a housing estate, you will come to a T-junction on the Benahavis road, turn right to reach the Benahavis junction on the dual carriageway, go under it and take the sliproad on (direction Malaga). This is more complicated first time but much quicker than 2km in the "wrong" direction and 2km back.

Recommended visit is Gibraltar, drive west down the A7 (again it's a good road, no need to use the AP7), takes about 45mins. Follow signs Algeciras and then La Linea, then join the queue to cross the border, you could wait up to an hour. If your hire company allows, take the car into Gibraltar, we've always found parking readily available and inexpensive. Genuine duty-free tobacco, etc is available as Gib is not in the EU.

Puerto Banus, Estepona and Marbella are all near at hand, enjoy the evening atmosphere of the waterfront in Banus and marvel at the yachts. The ancient town of Ronda is inland about 45mins and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0LIDAYMAKERSC0TLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
1.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 34 in Estepona
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#16 of 34 in Estepona
55 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,452 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Park

Address: Calle Nueva Atalaya 16, 29688, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Estepona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: $53 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diana Park 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Diana Park is 12 minutes walk from the beach. Diana Park is set on the Costa del Sol, surrounded by golf courses and close to the beach. This hotel offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a private terrace. All modern rooms at Diana Park are comfortable and feature plenty of natural light. Each room comes with TV, private bathroom and safe at an extra charge. The hotel has a bar and a restaurant. Other facilities include a 24-hour front desk and bike and car rental services. Free WiFi is also available in public areas. You can drive to Estepona and Marbella in approximately 20 minutes. Málaga and Gibraltar Airports are 40 minutes’ drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diana Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Park Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol
Diana Park Hotel Estepona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing