We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice October in Estephona”
Review of Atalaya Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atalaya Park Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Russia, Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice October in Estephona”
Reviewed November 1, 2007

I have been in this hotel in a business trip, we have a training there. In overall the living conditions in the hotel are very nice, the rooms are big, cleaned every day. The bathroom is also big. The food menu is various and different, but to my disappointment once I saw the cockroach right next to the plates with the food!!!!! That's was really terrible....

The facilities in the hotel are also not bad, there are swimming pools, sport areas. But it can be pretty dull there for the young people in case you do not leave the hotel. Plus the beach area is not very picturesque, except for the splendid sunrise and sunset that you can easily enjoy from your room as well as the marvelous view to the see.... That's was really nice!

I would not recommend this hotel for long vacation stay, but it is very good for business purposes combined with some rest as well as for adult people and families with children.

  • Liked — The view to the sea and the good room
  • Disliked — The
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank almakonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    443
    277
    133
    100
See reviews for
656
231
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

4 stars in 1970

If you like beach, forget. Dirt sand, stones (not available)
The complex must be renewed with urgency

Drink's very expensives

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PortoSeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estepona hotels

london
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2007

On arrival albeit late night there was no one to assist with our luggage and show us to our room. Breakfast finished at 10.30am we arrived at the restaurant at 9.45, there was no member to staff to show you to a table and most of the tables had not yet been cleaned so we had to work everything out for ourselves. Dinner was even worse same situation but with the added bonus of trying to find a clean plate to eat from. The staff spoke very little if any english. The food for the whole week was appalling. The hotel is dated and could do with some serious updating and the beach was even worse. The only good point was the childrens activities, this kept my two boys entertained most of the day (14 & 11 yrs). I so wont be going back.

  • Liked — activities
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shookyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Was reccomended this Hotel by a travel-agent friend of mine-
[--] -and was not dissapointed.the fact that this is an independant Hotel comes accross (rather than a chain)
Its the standard of service from the moment you pull up to the gated car park to be greated by a very efficient and polite (and rather dishy) security guard, and the whole reception experience.. all good!
Rooms are huge- and showing signs of age yes- but I'd rather have the space and the low rise building - with such beautifull landscaped gardens!!
Lovely peaceful place to relax- yet lots to do if you're board (loved the painting!!) also absolutely loved the swimming pools- want to go back now with some girley mates- very relaxing base and much better than being in Estapona itself- loved breakfast overlooking the sea- set me up everyday!¬!

  • Liked — Sheer size of the grounds and gardens etc- plus beautifull sea views
  • Disliked — so big you can get lost in the property!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our family of six (including four sons aged 14 - 21)have just returned from a week at the Atalaya Park Hotel. Having read several reviews before leaving I was a bit apprehensive although had a recommendation from a friend.
We had a great week! Rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. We had a lovely sea view (extra charge but worth it). The food was excellent - buffet style, as much as you like, with great selection for all tastes. We were on half board and bought lunch at snack bar/restaurant by pool. However, if you have late breakfast (up to 11 am) and eat a lot you could get by without lunch probably!!
Sports activities are organised all day by staff for children and adults if you want to join in.
My only slight complaint would be that we expected sports (except golf) to be free after reading hotel website. However, this actually refers to the organised sports activities. If you play crazy golf; tennis or use driving range there is a charge.
All in all a very good holiday hotel and we would definitely consider returning.

  • Liked — sporting activities; sea view; gardens around pool providing shade; food
  • Disliked — unexpected charges for sports such as tennis; mini golf
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tangoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I stayed at the Atalya Park in 2003. It was my second time travelling with a group of singles on a golfing holiday and I had a great time.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. My room was in the adjacent block. A bit of a walk along the joining corridor but no big deal. It was spacious, clean and tidy.
The food was excellent (we ate in the hotel every evening)
The bar was comfy and there was a pianist most evenings. Sitting on the terrace outside the bar after dinner with a drink and my travelling companions was very enjoyable.
The garden area was large and kept tidy, although because of the time of year I didn't use the pool. (another March review complained the pool was chilly - it's March for heaven sake !)
We played golf most days. The Old Course was mostly parkland and much like a UK course, the New Course was hewn out the side of a hill and very tight in places. Both were suitable for all levels.
The same singles company have a trip here again this Christmas / New Year (2007) and I'm giving it some serious consideration based on previous experience. What more can I say

  • Liked — Room size and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

I booked our holiday to this hotel before I had read the reports about it on Trip Advisor ~ after reading through some I did think twice about actually going away. But after returning from a superb week away I do wonder about what people actually want from their holidays - do they write bad reports about the hotels to keep their hotel treasures secret from Joe Public. After all you have to give and take in all walks of life including holiday vacations abroad. Here is my report on the Hotel Atalaya Park.

The transfer from the airport took over an hour and a half as we were the last drop off after touring around all the other hotels along route from Malaga Airport. The hotel is situated in beautifully kept gardens and is set on the beach front if you can call it that. There are a couple of other hotels close-by but otherwise it is surrounded by residential villas. The nearest independent supermarket is situated a ten to fifteen minute walk away. The hotel does have a couple of shops situated within the premises.

The rooms are clean and spacious, the only let down was in the bathroom. There is a handheld shower over the bath, but if you wanted to take a shower because it was situated in the middle of the bath, no handrail or grab rail was provided and you could easily slip and hurt yourself quite badly. But aside from that there were two hand basins and the toilet and bidet were sectioned off by a frosted glass screen within the bathroom. The maid cleaned the room everyday and the towels were changed daily and the linen was changed twice a week. Blue pool towels were provided free of charge. One of our party had a one bedroomed suite and was provided with a nice selection of quality toiletries and towelling dressing gowns were to hand in the bathroom. The balconies were separated by frosted glass.

The food in the dining room was served buffet style. Breakfasts consisted of everything you could think of including a proper orange juice machine where the oranges are tossed in the top and the juice is squeezed out of the bottom. The layout was a bit higgledy piggledy but after a couple of days you got used to it. The same with dinner there were at least two fish dishes in the evening along with meat and poultry dishes and lots of delicious vegetables and salads. The dessert trolley was full to overflowing every night and was replenished with fresh desserts as soon as the last portion was taken. There were also lots of different cheeses and fruit was plentiful.

The hotel had two other restaurants which were open in the evenings and a pool side snack bar which was open during the day. The piano bar served cocktails, coffee, tea and cakes plus the usual array of beer, wines and spirits were also available. Although in the evenings we found it was easier to order from the bar than be waited on by the staff.

The entertainment took place in the Piano Bar. For the time we were there we were entertained with outside entertainers for three nights. A magic show, Argentinian Show of Dance and "Ping Pong Balls" and a show of traditional flamenco dance. The most entertaining show I witnessed was the Argentinian Show.

The hotel has an Animacion Team which is run by Valerio, and they have various things to entertain you if you are on site throughout the day these include Spanish Language for beginners, pistol shooting, rifle shooting, football, dance classes, the list was endless. There is also a Mini-club for the children and a Mini Disco in the evenings.

The staff in the hotel were pleasant and very helpful and they all spoke excellent english.

The beach mainly consists of stones and shingle and although there are sunbeds on the beach, we opted to sit around the pools during the day.

We had a good time. Would we go back - YES!

  • Liked — It made a great getaway and was a great location for getting about to see other places within the area.
  • Disliked — The beach was not as expected.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
2.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
661 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
860 reviews
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diana Park
Diana Park
#17 of 35 in Estepona
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalaya Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalaya Park Hotel

Property: Atalaya Park Hotel
Address: Avda de las Golondrinas, 2, 29688, Estepona, Spain (Formerly Atalaya Park Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atalaya Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atalaya Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atalaya Park Golf Hotel Estepona
Atalaya Park Resort
Atalaya Park Hotel Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing