We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa del Sol Princess
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Holiday !”
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We have just returned from our holiday, there were a total of 5 in our party ages ranging from 9 to 54 !. We all had a great time weather was fantastic, hotel was lovely and clean in all area's. The food was good choice sometimes was a little restricted but there was always plenty, bar food was nearly always the same. Hotel was out in the middle of nowhere but we knew that before we went. There were free bus's to go to Estepona or for 11 euro's you can go in a Taxi. Would recomend going to Gibraltar if you want to do a bit of shopping !!!. Bar service was great never waited for more than a couple of minutes to be served. Getting round the pool was never a problem even at 2pm all 5 of us could get sunbeds together. If you are a smoker make sure that you get yourself a lighter at the airport because when you get to the hotel they do not sell them and the nearest place to buy them is 30 min walk away that's if they have any left, we were lucky enough to be given one by a guy who had brought a couple extra with him. i would reccomend this hotel and we would all go back without a problem. Beware though don't expect too much from the evening entertainment !!! Well that is the duo that sing the same songs every night !!

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashton's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Have just returned from a Thomson Pricebreaker all-inclusive hotel at the Costa Del Sol Princess, and what a great time we had.
Initial thoughts were that the hotel was somewhat isolated and geared more for the "older generation".
The Thomson rep, Danni, was fabulous - a great laugh - and spent quality time with her guests. She was determined that everybody would enjoy their holiday.
The bar staff, reception, and most of the restaurant staff were very friendly. The food was good but did get a little monotonous after a while. take time to visit the A La Carte restaurant to which you are entitled one visit per week - well worth it.
On the down side, despite the hotel being directly on the beach there were no watersport activities, i.e. pedalos etc. The evening entertainment varied consierably in quality. There tended to be a dance or magic on first - these were ok on the whole, however, 6 evenings out of 7 there followed a duo Bohemia who can only be described as a cross between Rene and renato, and Peters and Lee. They sang exactly the same songs each night, were aloof, and quite frankly awful - you have been warned !!
The hotel offers free shuttle buses to Estepona and to Puerto Banus. A trip to Gibralter is well worth it - if only for the duty free !!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Repetitive food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We stayed for a week at this hotel over the bank holiday, we cant fault it in any way apart from the lack of evening entertainment, we was aware of this before going so it was not a problem for us.
The hotel was spotless as were the rooms and the pool areas which are great, plenty of sun beds at anytime. The beach was a stones throw away nice but with peebles at the sea edge. The staff very nice laid back but that is the way of life in spain no rushing, food very nice always hot and great variety. A bit remote but again we knew this, buses at the top of the road takes you to Estepona, Marbella and Puerto Banus which is a must to people watch and see the yatchs.
Cost of bus only 1.56 euro each. Danni the rep very helpful and the day time entertainment team funny and good. Me and my boyfriend went for a relaxing holiday and this is what we got, would recommend to friends. Bars great never waited very long and drinks in glasses at nite which was nice, could take food and drink up to your room also which was a bonus. Pools towels given each morning and changed every nite, cant see how people have given this hotel bad reviews in the past.
If you are leaving the hotel after the midday check out it is best to ttry and book the room for a couple of extra hours to shower, a nice couple let us use their room for this.
Great hotel great time great weather.

  • Liked — Clean, staff helpful, pool and food great.
  • Disliked — Twin beds.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the buses very reliable and cheap and the drivers will tell you when to get off.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cindyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Stayed at the Costa Princess on All Inclusive from 9th to 20th July..
Flight out was good and our coach transfer was easy to find and efficient.. we arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm, checking in was straightforward and although we weren't shown to our rooms, it wasn't rocket science to follow signs.
Staff at the reception are fab, brilliant english and very helpful, although the staff who tend to the C.D.S Princess bars can barely understand a word, which is acceptable to a point as you are in spain but its almost as though they lose patience trying to understand you, the paying guest! I found it particularly annoying as there was a very large (15+) family of Spaniards staying at the same time, and they were often favouritised at the bar and the staff and spanish guests would often have very long detailed coversations leaving you just stood there!
The restaraunt times are very flexible, open for 2-3 hours at every sitting; this ensured that you were never packed in like sardines and didnt wait very long for drinks to be brought over. Food was plentiful, and varied, with a salad bar, cold meats and pasta and selection of hot foods which changed every night. A dessert table and also a table of different types of bread meant there was something for everyone.. The chef round the corner serves up different things if you dont fancy whats on the main tables, and the pool bar, open from 10 til 6, served burgers, hotdogs, chips, salad etc all day which meant we never went hungry!!!
The drinks are nice [very strong!!!!], with cocktails inc in all inc. and we never waited more than 5 minutes to be served.
For the first week we never bothered with the entertainment, preferred to chill in the lounge (which is massive) but when we did go in it was average, but what you would expect from hotel entertainment!
Sunbeds were plentiful and many attendants walked around all day cleaning up litter and making sure things were tidy.. Full respect for the pool and lounger attendant as they worked their bums off cleaning the hotel pool EVERYDAY, as by the morning a lot of debris and palm tree leaves etc had found their way in.. i would go down to the longers quite early (around 10) and they would already be out cleaning it.. it was a really well maintained hotel!

The lifts are to be avoided at all costs! if you do need to use them i suggest that you use the one closest to the bar (the one on the left) as i got stuck in the right hand one several times! :S

the rooms are cleaned immaculately everyday (even sunday) and towels replaced daily too. also we recieved a free large bottle of water to the room everyday, which we kept in the fridge in the room (switched on-no extra charge)

You can book free tickets for the buses to Estepona and Puerto Banus which leave from the sister hotel the Andalucia everyday, and pick you up from the same place.. The Puerto Banus bus leaves at 10 and returns at 16.30, with the Estepona bus leaving at 11 and returning at 17.30. You book them at the CDS Princess reception the day before you wish to go.. Puerto Banus was gorgeous and the bus was very comfortable and punctual (make sure you're there- it leaves on the dot!!)
However my boyfriend and i found Estepona very boring and got a taxi back after a couple of hours.. cost us 11.50.
The hotel is right on the beach, however it is very dark and pebbly, definitely wear something on your feet for going down to the sea! Regardless of the beach however, it was nice to be so close to the med! :)
Overall I boked this holiday in the knowledge that it was a fair distance from any other resort or complex so we were prepared for the isolated feeling. I adored my time at the CDS Princess as it allowed for sheer relaxation and indulgence.. but I'd warn anybody who likes to be on the go constantly that this hotel is not for them!
If I could move the hotel to a more central location I'd go back in a shot, unfortuanately it was too far out to go every year without it becoming repetitive.
An absolute bargain for an all inclusive 11 night stay,and from the negative reviews it would seem that some people expect too much for their money..a pleasant surprise and a must for those seeking the sun and cocktails, but little else.

  • Liked — The spacious, clean environment
  • Disliked — The staff's lack of patience
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lauren_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Arrived at 1130 pm, to be advised there was a cold meal awaiting us in the dining room - a very nice touch, even if the food may not be to everyone's taste. Bottled water in the room each day was much appreciated, as was the fridge.

Very nice room, excellent view of the sea and the pools. High standard of furniture in our room, and throughout the whole hotel.
Excellent buffet selection, minor niggle is that the labelling could have been better, (or present!), especially for special dietary needs, preferences, etc.

Heated pools were great, could use the facilities of the Andalucia Princess next door, however, could not take all inclusive drinks next door - very petty, especially as the childrens pools and the majority of the sunshades/trees were there. Beautiful location, right on the beach, perfect for a quiet, family holiday, however courtesy buses run to Estepona and Puerto Banus daily for shopping and sightseeing.
Estepona market day was worth a trip, however, be aware that the shops close for siesta. Trip to Gibraltar via the Thomson Rep was great - WWII tunnels visit very informative, good shopping, not much time to shop though, if you add the dolphin trip too.

Overall, a lovely hotel, nice gardens, pool, views, and interiors, entertainment not brilliant, but was available. Some staff not as friendly as we'd like, but they were efficient if not chatty.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank SJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2006

oVERALL, the costa del sol princess was a very pleasent experiece. However, my family felt that there were a few unpleasent situations.

we arrived at the hotel at 11:00pm. this is when are dreamholiday started to show its true colours, when we asked the reception where our rooms where they gave us the CAN'T BE BOTHERED attitude, we mannaged to control our feelings and search for our room. After what seemed like an eternity we found our room. The hotel staff had saved us some dinner, we were pleased until we found out that they had left us carrot food. personally i didn't like the food and left. at 12:20 we went to the bar for two pina colarda and a orange juice all calm and relaxed when they gave us the drinks and we walked away they shouted after us and told us to pay, we explaind to them we were all inclusive but they said your only all inclusive until 12:00 pm.

There are three pool bars spaced out around the complex. however, only one is for the all inclusive guests. this is some what annoying when you are seated around one of the other pools. furthermore, if you purchased a drink from the all inclusive bar you were unable to take it back to your lounger as it had to be consumed around the all in bar-WHY! can understand it if you had a tray full could be giving them away to the other guests but when you are only carrying one.

furthermore, the standard of service in and ot of the hotel could have been improved if they listened to their customers when they have a quiery or enquiry.

contact firm_but_fair@hotmail.co.uk for any questions

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank bailysforsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estepona hotels

Midlands - UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2006

I can not believe anyone can write a negative review on this hotel and as it is all inclusive some of the negatives must be for another hotel.

We arrived late receptions were friendly and the security man showed us to our rooms in block 5, with a view over the pool ans sea. The hotel had then laid on cold plates so we could get something to eat as we were long past the closing time of the restaurant. The room was spacious and very clean no marks on the walls oh and free bottled water in the fridge with a new one delivered each day.

All the meals were excellent and put out in small serving vessels so always hot and not messed about with, the show cooking also did pasta to order which suited the son. The staff were friendly your drinks came quickly and the plates were also cleared efficiently (I hate it when the dirty plates mount up).

Pool bar and main bar never had any queues even at night you could get your drinks in minutes as many as you wanted and teh all inclusive range was great. The pool bar also did tubs of walls ice cream and hot and cold snacks you definitely could not go hungry. Occassions people tried to sneek down from the andulician princess to use the restauarant and the bars but they were spotted and charged.

There are smoking areas but as none smokers we found the fact that you could not smoke in doors very much to our liking. We got sunbeds every day without a problem and clean pool towels the pool is great and if you want to use the pools at the sister hotel you can.

Entertainment was not to our taste so we just enjoyed drinks in teh bar at night the hotel is out of the way but the brochure makes that clear, the local bus is only 1.46 euro to estapona which is lovely around the marina. The Thomson rep Danni was always available and helpful and gave us help on were to go when we hired the car. We also did the tript to Gibralter.

A wonderful hotel very well run and a great place to recharge your batteries.

  • Liked — The quiet out of the way location
  • Disliked — Coming home
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanttogoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estepona hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Beach Apartments
Hacienda Beach Apartments
#24 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#17 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.1 mi away
Hostal La Malaguena
Hostal La Malaguena
#3 of 13 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol Princess

Property: Costa del Sol Princess
Address: Crta N-340 Cadiz-Malaga, Km 164, 29689, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa del Sol Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa del Sol Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Princess Hotel Estepona
Costa Del Sol Princess Estepona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing